We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food. Service on the slow side”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #124 of 243 Restaurants in Kingsport
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
345 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very average food. Service on the slow side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

A friend and I visited this Applebee's and ordered the Bourbon steak meal. The steaks were tough with no taste. The service was on the slow side and the place was not that busy. Our table sticky like it had some on it. The waiter wiped it down for us but it still was sticky. My napkin stuck to the surface of the table.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Ribs were cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my wife live in the area and Applebee's is one of our favorite places to eat but today I sat down at a disgusting table that had been half assed cleaned and when we got out food my wife's ribs were ice cold

  • Visited February 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danbyington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Salty mushy steaks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had a gift certificate to Applebee's so we thought we'd try it. Ordered the 2 for $20. Artichoke spinach dip wasn't bad except artichoke was whole and it had obviously been microwaved. Chips were greasy. Steaks were probably the worst I've ever had. Could only taste salt and they had a strange mushy texture. The medium was cooked to medium but the medium rare didn't look like steak when it was cut. It was the first time my husband has ever not finished his steak - usually he finishes his and then mine. Potato was undercooked and vegetables were extremely crunchy. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cs9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's an Applebee's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Applebee's is like McDonalds, you always know what you're getting. Everything is reasonable, food is average, sometimes above.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinner out while on the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose Applebees for dinner in Kingsport, TN. The staff was pleasant, the restaurant was clean, but the food left a little to be desired. We ordered the 2 for $20. I ordered the 7 oz. sirloin and my wife ordered the weight watchers Chicken creamy parmesan. My steak was extremely salty. The vegetables were overcooked. The Chicken, too, was salty. We both ordered coffee and that was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing