We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to have a walk or take a run”

Warriors' Path State Park
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Kingsport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a walk or take a run”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The three areas I like to quickly go to for a walk or a run around Kingsport are the riverside area near the Netherland Inn, the greenbelt area near Olive Garden and Warriors' Path State Park.
The latter probably being the quieter option and nice to watch people fishing or renting a rowing boat. Worth the drive over to either take a leisurely stroll or a run.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Bours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    68
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“park was nice , campground is the worst”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The park area is great , but dont waste your money on camping , the bathrooms are very dirty and dated , campsites are poorly maintained , they seem to to spend there money on the golf course and do nothing for the campground.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank phillip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst camping experience ever”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The sights are nothing like they look like on the website.They are super small and no privacy. They were also dirty with trash and cigarette butts everywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank morningstar311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Tennessee
Level Contributor
855 reviews
552 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with so much to do”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I live in Tennessee and I camp at every Tennessee state park I can get to. Tennessee has exceptional state parks with great campsites and beautiful scenery. This one is no exception. At first glance it seems and odd place for a state park. You drive into Kingsport and then follow a windy road until you get to the entrance. The first thing you see is a huge very clean swimming pool. The road splits. If you go left you find equestrian activities and an 18 hole golf course. Straight ahead you come to the campground with campsites for tents and RV's of all types. I drive a 36' motorhome and had no trouble finding a large campsite. Tennessee has a great reservation system on line and they allow all campsites to be reserved, so if you are going to camp, reserve in advance. If you continue down the road you will come across the lake recreation area were you can launch your own boat, rent kayaks, paddle boards and paddle boats. It is a beautiful area for fishing, swimming, playing and for a picnic. Around the next corner is one of the most insane disc golf courses I've ever seen. 27 holes that are laid out all over the mountain side. The one very special part of this park is the playground that was built so that children of all physical abilities could play. It is a terrific little playground with a trail that tells the story of Narnia, a large treehouse (think adult size), and activities for all children. This state park is only about ten minutes drive from I-81 and is a great base camp for visiting the tri-cities area including Bristol Speedway, Kingsport and Johnson City. It is an easy drive to Roan Mountain, Elizabethton and Jonesboro, Tennessee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for free fun!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very enjoyable area. We found the park clean and had lots to do. We grilled out several times, on the hillside overlooking the lake. They have a wonderful playground for children. We look forward to coming back and exploring things we missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RCDial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warriors' Path State Park also viewed

 

Been to Warriors' Path State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing