We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool laid back bar & restaurant”

The Crown and Goose
Ranked #130 of 1,186 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, British, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Willow Street
Transit: We are just a few blocks walking distance from downtown Knoxville and Market Square.
Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool laid back bar & restaurant”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great place to go have a beer, anti-pasta and some Irish food. Has a nice outdoor space. Is definitely a place you have to try if in Knoxville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    37
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not sure what happened”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Crown and Goose has long been one of my go-to places in Knoxville, but things went downhill so horribly at my last visit that it will be a while before I go back (if ever). After talking the place up forever, I went with three of my colleagues this weekend. It took 45 minutes to get seated, which I understand completely, but then once we were seated we were largely ignored. All we needed was one simple thing: silverware. The server brought our appetizers, and we asked for silverware. Never got any. We sat there waiting, and waiting, and asking, and asking, and it was never brought. Then our entrees were brought, except for one of my colleagues, who had to sit there with no food. Again, we asked for silverware. None. I actually go up to another server and ask for silverware. None. Meanwhile my colleague is sitting there, still, with no food, and we are sitting there with our food but no way to eat it. Another random server actually comes up to me and tries to take my entree away, when I hadn't even touched it. This would have been comical if not for the fact that this is an expensive place and we were starving. This was a three-hour ordeal, and I was embarrassed to have taken my friends here. Even the food that we did get was not as good as it normally is. The shepherd's pie was mediocre (the lamb was almost wholly fat), the dessert was slapped together, the cocktail wasn't made correctly, and I only got the beer I asked for after requesting it, no joke, three times. If someone had come to our table afterwards and apologized or even offered to take the meal off the bill of my friend who had to wait an eternity, that would have been appreciated, but we were left totally shunned and baffled. As much as it pains me to say it, I will be taking my money elsewhere from now on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HwaetWeGardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Knoxville landmark worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Dinner at the C&G was the culmination of an evening pub crawl. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and menu (old standards plus some interesting change-ups). Lots of outdoor seating but be sure to get a table under the lights once the sun sets.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun pub scene”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Finally came around to eating here. The waitresses are very nice, and the food was pretty good. Nice alcohol selection, and the outdoor seating is cute.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BGfalcon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

e decided to try this place for a quiet couples night out.

Having been to London and eaten in many English restaurants, the atmosphere was VERY authentic, and you really feel like you are in an English restaurant/pub.

The menu and the drink selections were good, not fabulous, and the food wasn't outstanding, but the overall experience was nice. We ordered the Bangers and Mash and the.Fish & Chips, and while they were good, we both were a bit disappointed.

This is one of those places that is warm, inviting, quiet (at least the night we were there), the service was good, the food was adequate and pricing was fair, but not sure we will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown and Goose also viewed

 

Been to The Crown and Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing