We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umm...okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Needed a place to get some sleep while traveling through Knoxville and found this using hotelcoupons.com. Was a pretty good deal on the room, but I wouldn't have paid any more for it. The room was relatively clean but dated. The shower head looked a little grimey and the hair dryer had grease and hair on it. There was a moldy smell when my friend and I first entered the room, but when we turned the air conditioner on it cooled the room down and helped the smell for the most part. The bed was surprisingly comfortable though and the pillows were nice and soft. A pretty good place to stop for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMBtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, General Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Im so glad you liked the beds!! They are pretty comfortable. I have passed along your concerns to our housekeeping department so we can improve for your return visit!

Cameron Juroff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here 2 different times in two different rooms in the same week. Both rooms smelt musty upon entering. The mattresses were pilling on both sides of mattress and were very very soft ... clearly old mattresses. Both rooms had a chair with ottaman that we're heavily stained ... so much so we were afraid to sit in them. Checked under the chair cushion in one room and had a bottle cap and lots of crumbs. I pulled the bedside stand away from wall to get to outlet ... it appears they haven't vacuumed there in years. Little spots of mold were growing on the ceiling in the bathroom and corners on the floor were grimy. AC worked fine. Housekeeping wanted to clean our room on the day of checkout at 9am even though checkout was at 11am. Check in and out was fine. Convenient location to interstate. Didn't have a chance to check out the pool or breakfast. Would suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wongs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, General Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Hi there Wongs,
Im very sorry that you had such a bad experience here at the Quality Inn. Please contact me directly and i will see what we can do to make things right for you. Our new furniture should be delivered within a few weeks. Give us another shot and you will see what strides we are making to improve guests experiences.

Sincerely
Cameron Juroff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hotel was very nice and clean. We were pleased with our room which looks like it had been recently updated (new paint, carpet, fridge, tv) and it was very clean. Beds were comfy. AC was cold. Pool was clean but we did not use. Free breakfast was nice since we have 2 kids it saved us a few bucks. Front desk staff was nice. Kids loved the fishtank behind the front counter which was very clean and pretty. Staff were friendly. Lots of places to eat nearby and a Starbucks. :) Right off of 75 and close to 40.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraBullington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, General Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Tara
Thanks so much for your kind words! We are always striving to keep things clean and up to date here at the Quality Inn so its always a good thing to hear from our pleased guests!
Thanks a Million
Cameron Juroff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have stayed at this inn at least 5 times, and have been pleased with every stay. The price is right. This building, which is obviously an old Hampton Inn that has changed hands, is well maintained and the rooms are always clean. The breakfasts are consistently good--waffles and scrambled eggs, usually, along with the usual cold items. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. The best feature is the price!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, General Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Michael
I am sorry that you had a bad stay here at the Quality Inn. Unfortunately our room size is something that i cannot really do much about.. If i am informed correctly, my staff did offer to move you to a different room to deal with some of the problems you experienced. Because all of our rooms open to the outside, we cannot guarantee that a bug or 2 will not fly in when the doors are opened. but i am sorry that it happened to you. We do have our pool professionally maintained twice a week and the covers on the filters are constantly checked. It is my understanding that the pool was very busy on the day in question and my maintenance staff had to repeatedly tell children not to tamper with the filter covers. We were checking often after it was brought to our attention that they were being taken off and not properly replaced by unauthorized guests. Please contact the hotel directly if there is anything we can do for you on a return trip to Knoxville.
Sincerely
Cameron Juroff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The staff was friendly and accommodating but the room was the tiniest I have ever seen and my 10 year noticed how dirty the bathroom was. There was toilet paper on the floor and bugs on the ceiling. The room reeked of cigarette smoke even though it was non-smoking and the pool was incredibly smoky as well. 3 of our kids got cut on a filter cover at the pool, which was in disrepair. Breakfast was also a disappointment. The price was great but I would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I always consider the condition of a hotel to be the condition of the hotel manager's own home. This manager must live in a clean, comfortable place.

Can't say anything but positive. Everything was clean. Everything worked. Granddaughter loved the pool. The food was great. The price was unbeatable. Everyone was pleasant if not generous.

This was our 4th trip to this Knoxville hotel and we will be back. Very easy to feel at home there.

Room Tip: Top floor is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgwaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

location is okay...near lots of resaturants...that's the only good thing i have to say though. rooms are VERY small and our room was smelly & had mold in bathroom near vent...also seemed that laundry room vented into bathroom. toilet busted (chain broke in tank) and was told to reach into the tank to flush by hand until maintenance could fix it the next day...then had to chase it down to make sure it was fixed 1st thing...elevator broke and all we were told was that service was called but they didn't know when they would come. neighbor lost a/c during a week when temps were over 100. we ended up checking out and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen_132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Maureen,
As i said when you were checking out i am very sorry that you experienced a few problems during your stay here at the Quality Inn. Because you had booked a smoking queen room (our smallest and most affordable room type) please understand that it is very hard to keep a smoking room completely odor free. The passive air vent in your bathroom only sucks air up to the rood to vent out but your room was close to our guest laundry facility so i am sorry if the smell wafted into your room. Your toilet was on the top of our maintenance departments list on that day so i again apologize if they did not get to it in a timely enough manner for you. As Murphy's law would have it, the elevator was operational a mere 40 minutes after your checkout, but we did give you a full refund for that day and a discount for the broken toilet. It is an unfortunate truth but when temperatures to go into the triple digits for the first time of the season, that is when we find out which air conditioners cant keep up, but rest assured, your neighbors had a new ACi nstalled before the end of that day as well. Thank you for your input and we hope you will return to give us a chance to make you happy. I will personally give you a larger room for the price you paid for our smoking queen room.
Sincerely
Cameron Juroff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#48 of 87 in Knoxville
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#31 of 87 in Knoxville
289 reviews
10.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Knoxville East
Days Inn Knoxville East
#42 of 87 in Knoxville
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Merchants Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Address: 117 Cedar Ln, Knoxville, TN 37912-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: £45 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Merchants Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Merchants Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merchants Drive Hotel Knoxville
Quality Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn
Merchants Drive Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing