We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great roadside experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great roadside experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We often travel without reservations (except at our final destination), and our recent trip to The Masters was no exception. As usual, we picked a 'motel coupon' magazine at an Interstate rest stop and picked out a likely option. We generally expect simply a bed and a bathroom, often at the most minimum. The Quality Inn exceeded all of our expectations! An extremely simple check-in, personable night clerk, easy access to room, extremely easy access to a restaurant for a late dinner. Clearly, our room had been recently updated, but it was very nice for an Interstate roadside unit. Included breakfast next morning was basic but warm and fresh. Lisa could not have been kinder or provider better service. We'll stay there again when the need arises!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much Hockster! We definitely try to exceed the expectations of our guests. Lisa is gem for sure! I'm glad she made your experience even better! We hope to see you back again soon!

Cameron Juroff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    71
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
63
62
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very worn and dated, bedspread had holes, other travelers belongings found in room by bed overall nasty, worn and would not recommend. The only good thing was there are plenty of restaurants around the area and easy on and off I 75.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondlvr7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
DiamondDvr
I'm very sorry that your stay here was not a great one. I am aware that our smoking rooms wear quicker than others and for that i apologize. Please give us another chance on a return visit and let us prove that your experience here was the exception, and not the rule.

Cameron Juroff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the moment we arrived until we checked our we were treated exceptionally well. Lisa can to our rescue and helped us at our room door and was there early in the morning with a very nice breakfast. The staff is great, the room was great and so is the price. Will stop again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosegarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for the positive feedback! Im very glad you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along your kind words to Lisa, She lives for this stuff!

Cameron Juroff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis and never had an issue until yesterday. The hotel decided to change their policy on early check in time. I was charged the daily rate and 1/2 day additional. I just literally needed to drop off my bags before attending a meeting. I've stayed at this particular hotel for over 3 years and this is the first i heard about it. The staff member who checked me in couldn't give me a reason to why the policy had just changed just that it did. It disappoints me to have to stay at another place but that's exactly what I plan to do.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambigirl1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, General Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Bambigirl,
I apologize for the misunderstanding. If you had simply stated that you just needed to drop your bags and go to a meeting, we would have been more than happy to hold them behind the front desk until check-in time. Our published check in time is 3 PM. Anyone showing up at 7:30 AM (before our published check out time of 11 AM) is to be charged a half day rate. Our policy has not changed in the 4 years i have been the general manager here. The problem, it seems, is in the lax enforcement of the policy. I apologize to you for the confusion caused by my staff and i. If you wish to return (and i sincerely hope you do) just let us hold your bags at the front desk and we will get you checked in upon your return from your business.

Cameron Juroff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here on the way through. The room was clean, staff friendly. Cant really ask for much more. Loved the comforters. Very homely. Breakfast hit the spot. And got is on our way. I was surprised how good my stay it was. Will see you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baymontinntupelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Im so glad you had a superb time here! Come see us again soon!

Cameron Juroff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Aux Pins, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Everything was great! Lovely, clean, and welcoming! We enjoyed our stay very much! We were surprised at how nice it actually was, since we hadn't planned ahead, just called at the last minute. Staff was helpful and polite, price was VERY reasonable, and overall it was a GREAT place to stay. If travelling that way again, we would definitely stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camjur, Manager at Quality Inn Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for staying! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were on our way home and needed a quick stop before we headed off early in the morning. It was very convenient on and right off the highway. The staff were pleasant and the room was clean and neat. It was fairly small but adequate. The breakfast was fair. Would have liked more fresh fruit selections (only had apples and oranges). But the best part was the price...reasonable. Would we stay there again? Probably would.

Room Tip: Ground floor and with outside exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Knoxville East
Days Inn Knoxville East
#44 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Merchants Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Merchants Drive

Property: Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Address: 117 Cedar Lane, Knoxville, TN 37912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Merchants Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Merchants Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Merchants Drive Hotel Knoxville
Quality Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn
Merchants Drive Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing