We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed before very clean.. The city was sold out so i paid more than i wanted

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
My name is Tim Lamb and I am the Guest Service Manager of the Red Roof Inn Knoxville North. I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Knoxville,Tn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels. I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerly,
Tim Lamb
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    14
    10
    28
See reviews for
39
33
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We ended up here after seeing a coupon in a travel coupon book we picked up at a tourist information center. It ended up saving us around $15, so I definitely recommend people try to pick one of these up. The price we ended up paying made it very good value. A downstairs room would have cost more.

The motel is a few miles out of town, but is close to a number of places to eat and buy supplies. If a morning walk or run is your thing, I recommend you go to the nearby Sterchi Hills Greenway.

The room was comfortable, with nice beds and cable tv. Unfortunately there was no fridge, which would have been disappointing if we'd been staying for more than a night.

Breakfast in the morning was very nice, with a waffle maker, juice, coffee and the like on offer. It was a much better breakfast than those offered at most other places we stayed at. When the allotted breakfast time was over though, the attendant did not waste any time at all in packing everything up, even though people were still in the dining area.

Overall I'd recommend a stay here if you can get hold of a voucher. Otherwise there may be better value places elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Knoxville North Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Tim Lamb
Guest Service Manager
Red Roof Inn - Knoxville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

After reading previous reviews we decided to try this hotel. We were very pleased with our stay! We were pleasantly greeted on arrival--our room was clean, non-smoking...we noted no dial tone on the phone (we had cell phones with us) and the sink drained slowly--BOTH ISSUES WERE CORRECTED by the time we returned on day 1. Breakfast bar was clean/tidy and items were FRESH!....coffee hot, juice cold, milk for cereal, bagels FRESH and toaster/waffle maker worked fine! Front desk personnel were exceptionally nice during our entire stay (Thur-Monday) Hotel was very convenient for our destination (Knoxville Expo Center.) We were in there for a TICA cat show and cleanliness of the room when traveling/exhibiting a groomed show cat is extremely important--we were very satisfied and if/when in Knoxville again, will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: ...always ask to view/inspect a room before accepting it--and be a bit accommodating yourself. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegoodkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our Hotel on tripadvisor, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took care of the problems you incurred so quickly. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit knoxville in the future.

Sincerely,
Tim Lamb, GSM
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here in September on the way home from Hilton Head. No problems with this hotel. Quiet area far enough away from the highway. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast room busy in the morning and could have had a few more items. No fruit and not much available really for the "deluxe" continental as the desk clerk called it. Room was clean however and comfortable bed. For the price and location we would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn Knoxville North, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took care of all your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit knoxville in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Reserved a week in advance ,by calling 800 Redroof, for the UT game. We had planned on checking in and going out to eat, but that was plan got ruined. I reserved two non-smoking rooms and was given two smoking rooms. It does not sound like a big deal, but the only way I can describe the smell is like smokey baby poo. To top of the smell the carpet was torn and dirty, the bathroom was stained and dirty, and the pilliow cases where stained. I talked to the guy at the desk, he told me that there was nothing he could do. According to him I had booked smoking rooms through a travel agency. I called the 800 number, they told me that I had reserved two non-smoking rooms and had no idea why I was being told that. I finally got them to call the front desk, but the only soultion was offering me a room at another Redroof for 169.00 a night or a refund but, all the other hotels in the area were booked due to the game. After about an hour, and talking to the 4 different people, two non-smoking rooms magically appeared. These rooms smelled better, but were just as nasty as the others. The mattress appeared to be the originals from when the place was bulit back in 1905. They had huge stains on them and sagged in the middle. The sheets and walls had matching stains. The back of the remote was missing and had only one battery in it. Even the ironing board was nasty! On the outside; the exit sign hung by tape and two wires. It is a shame that this place represents a normally good chain of hotels. It is in a very good location, close to UT and several good places to eat. This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huber Heights, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

no toiletries only two bars of soap, and one packet of shampooe/conditioner no coffe pot, no micro or fridge beds were over 20 years old as well as the pillows and sheets. breakfast was dry cereal and old bagels we were told flat screen tv's instead a box tv

Room Tip: check your room before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0692, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Knoxville North Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank You, Tim Lamb, GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Reserved on-line a week prior to my arrival, and was pleased to find absolutely no issues. The room was exactly as requested, and was spotless, properly prepared and quiet. The shower was hot, the bed comfortable, the amenities as advertised and the personnel friendly and professional. I've stayed here before, and I'll gladly do so again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#46 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Address: 5334 Central Avenue Pike, I-75 at Merchants Dr, Exit #108, Knoxville, TN 37912
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive offers pleasant accommodations with a variety of amenities at the right price. This hotel is situated on busy I-75, and is an ideal choice for those who want a quiet stay close to key destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing