We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable, room very clean and has lots of outlets for charging phone/tablet/laptop. Didn't need the kitchen, but was nice to have if my stay was longer. Hotel has a good location with several eatery choices near by. Breakfast was in a nice room, and offered continental breakfast. Good choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    101
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
113
62
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We got the same deal as the first show which was great.Front desk girls are nice and friendly. The rooms are clean and freshened every day.The breakfast bar is clean and maintained with fresh products.Parking lot kept clean. Hooters next door,OCharleys ,Waffle House and others in walking distance. Will return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank one2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, but for the price, it is very reasonable. You are a quick 10 minutes from DT Knoxville. We used this as our base for US Rowing Youth Nationals at Melton Lake Park in Oak Ridge. The staff was great and very accommodating, and very friendly. The rooms were a bit "worn," but were clean and comfortable. I would have no trouble staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here on the way home back to Texas from NYC. I found it to be a nice, clean hotel. Especially for the price. It was $80-90 less than other hotels I had priced in the area. The room was large and spacious and clean. Had a full kitchen. We only used the fridge and coffee maker. It was nice to have a large room to spread out in after being in a car for 12 hours.
They do allow pets. In the hallway, you could hear dogs barking, but not in the room. The room was very quiet.
The breakfast was nothing spectacular, but adequete. It had your basic bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, frozen waffles and some eggs and sausage. It satisfied my needs, but my husband found it less than adequate.
Overall, it was a good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Googa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for the valued and appreciated review you have posted. We will be making some exciting changes to our breakfast in the coming weeks. With that said, we hope that you will choose to stay with us during your next trip through Knoxville and try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've never written reviews on a hotel before, because I've never felt strongly enough about a place to take the time to do so. This particular hotel, however, generated such a negative response that I feel the need to share, especially since the TripAdvisor rating is so misleading.

We chose to stay at this property due to its high rating on TripAdvisor, the convenient location, and the low price. Unfortunately, I suppose you get what you pay for. The room was large and had a functional small kitchen. However, it had a very strong musty odor that was either due to covering up a former occupant's smoking or something else (mold, I wonder, given the condition of the rest of the room). We were checking in late and my kids were exhausted, so we didn't take the time to ask for another room. The bed was terribly uncomfortable- the worst night's sleep I've had in a long time. I woke up every hour from 2 am until morning with a sore back. The bedspread and blanket were old and thin. The paint was peeling from the walls in several places in the bathroom. There was mildew in lots of places in the shower. The towels were very small and almost threadbare- like the ones that many hotels use at their pools. By the morning my nose was completely stopped up and I had a sore throat, I guess due to the strong odor that I never really got used to. We couldn't get out of there fast enough, and I'll never consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your informative review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to correct any issues you experienced with us. We will take immediate action is making any necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We selected this property because of its easy proximity to Downtown Knoxville and an on-line special. Check-in was quick and easy thanks to India at the front desk. We were upgraded to a king room that had everything we needed for a comfortable three night stay. A large refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, utensils and pots and pans! A small table and chairs were in the room as well as a large over stuffed chair. Everything was clean and in good working order.
The breakfast area is very small and was very crowded our first two mornings. The breakfast was adequate having the usual fare of cereals, bagels and muffins, fruit, waffles, yogurts but also eggs and sausages.

The hotel has WiFi which needed no special password. Downstairs there was a computer and printer for the guests to use.

We would certainly consider staying here again if back in the Knoxville area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We would like to thank you for the valued and appreciated review you posted. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights for my daughter's graduation from UT. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable and Sara at the front desk was personable and professional. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pamo917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#38 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#45 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Property: MainStay Suites Knoxville
Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing