We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Few Cleanliness Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Kincardine, Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Few Cleanliness Issues”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were in the Mainstay Suites Knoxville Mar 3 2014. The room came with a lot of features like a kitchenette, including a dishwasher, full fridge, big microwave, and 2 element stovetop. It would be great for a long stay but we are only here for 1 night. It had a king bed which was very comfortable. The Internet connection was good once I plugged in the LAN cable, slow on wireless.
The most glaring problem was the laminate flooring in the kitchenette which was sticky to walk on and we could see obvious footprints from prior users. The bathtub had hair in it and the other floors were dirty. Also the heater fan and bathroom fan were noisy.

The LCD TV worked fine.

The breakfast was below average. The eggs were very rubbery, no waffle maker, no jam for toast. The fruit was fresh at least.

Overall this was an Ok place but doesn't live up to its cummulative review.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heritagehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to the areas in which you expressed concern.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    103
    37
    10
    14
See reviews for
116
64
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our way back from Florida. It was reasonably priced and very easy to access from the I75. Our room was a good size and, although we didn't need it, there was a full kitchen. I only had two (minor) complaints: the bathroom fan was noisy and the coffee at breakfast was horrible. Neither of these issues would stop me from staying here again. Check in/out was easy and quick.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relffets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do however apologize for the issues you experienced with the bathroom fan and coffee. Both of these issues will be looked into immediately.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through the Knoxville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

On our return trip we decided to stay at the MainStay Suites in Knoxville but while the room at first glance looked wonderful the hotel was not actually very clean, the lobby floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days...the elevator looked like it hadn't been cleaned for weeks [if ever] and the room itself well....the furniture was dusty [especially the nightside table], the night side table which was a good 4 or 5" away from the wall showed that it hadn't been moved to vacuum behind it ever....there was just 1 small shampoo and 2 soaps that's it...and room 405 the room we were put in did not have the balcony, nor could we get the room to temperature that suited either too warm or too cool....As for the breakfast, I've had much better in cheaper hotels.... The overall rating people were giving this hotel was 4.5 stars.....I would give it a 2 or 3 star rating at best...having said all of this, if you are planning to stay for several days then it does have the plus of a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and 2 burner stove top.....but for a single overnight stay you might as well save some dough and go elsewhere.... We won't be staying again.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony then be sure to ask for a room with one, otherwise you might not get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. I will investigate the cleanliness/ room temperature issues you mentioned and bring them to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance staff immediately.
Our breakfast bar does include many items such as sausage, gravy, biscuits, boiled eggs, toast, cereals and much more. As Saturday mornings are usually very busy in this area it is possible you visited our bar in the midst of it all. I will bring this issue to the attention of those who attend to our breakfast to ensure it stays well stocked at all times.

Again I apologize you stay was not all you had hoped it would be and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great staff, accommodations were very reasonable. Travel to this location on a weekly basis for business, and really appreciate the friendly staff. Pricing has been reasonable with clean rooms, etc. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer Mi.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our return trip to Michigan. The hotel was very clean. Even though we did not use them, we had everything we would need for an extended stay. We loved that Cracker Barrel was within walking distance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NancyRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here on Christmas night on our way back to Atlanta. The hotel gave us a corner suite that was excellent. The breakfast wes good and the overall experience was very nice.I would not hesitate to tell anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0mmanderray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We are very pleased that you choose our property and more importantly that you enjoyed your time here.
We hope you will continue to choose Mainstay Suites when visiting Knoxville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hotel employees were all nice and friendly. They made us feel at home. The room was clean and comfortable. The mini kitchen came in very handy also. The Crackerbarrel next door is a plus that's hard to beat! It's within walking distance!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker47523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here and the convenience of having a fully equipped kitchen in your room. We find many guest enjoy that added amenity just as much as having a Cracker Barrel right next door.
We thank you again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#46 of 87 in Knoxville
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Property: MainStay Suites Knoxville
Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing