We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites Knoxville
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff was very friendly, but the hotel is showing it's age. The elevator got stuck and would not operate 2 different times and the AC unit was obnoxiously loud. Pillows seemed to be rationed and staff had to go to the "basement" to look for an additional pillow after we were told the hotel was out of extra pillows (but they found several for us?). We did not eat breakfast, so no comments to that.
I think this is the last time I will book a hotel in advance to save a few bucks. The pictures look decent on the site, but the feeling is different when you arrive. I should have paid the extra $20 to stay further down the road in Knoxville in a better hotel.
One last comment is to avoid the floor with the full kitchen if possible. We were "upgraded" to a room with a full kitchen (why, I don't know - we only stayed one night). Another family was cooking and while I am sure their meal was nice, the smell was not something that neither my wife or I wanted to experience. We ended up using a towel to help seal the bottom of the door to minimize the smell into our room.

Room Tip: Avoid floors with rooms that have full kitchens. Food smells from other people cooking in their roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately we were experiencing difficulties with our elevator but this has now been resolved. We did want to bring to your attention that here at Mainstay Suites all rooms do feature a fully equipped kitchen as we are an extended stay property.
Again we apologize and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    104
    37
    10
    14
See reviews for
116
65
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at Mainstay Suites Knoxville! The rooms were just like they look on the website, the breakfast was plentiful, and the staff was top notch! Miss Carol was so nice and took care of our every need! We even asked for a couple special things and the staff made them happen without a blink or hesitation! The rooms are larger than the usual hotel room and it made the room so comfortable. The full size fridge was AWESOME!! Price was incredible! The best hotel value we've had in years! When we return to Knoxville, we will stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyTriathlonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed the amazing space our rooms have to offer. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The rooms were great! Lovely, clean and modern. I was really impressed with everything in the room, especially for the price! TV, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, hotplates and a toaster! Great value, I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a great value.
We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff was great especially Jeannie and India. The breakfast was very good. Although I don't go to Knoxville often (I was there for college graduation), I would definitely stay at MainStay Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We thank you for your positive comments and so are pleased to hear you found your stay to be very enjoyable. Congratulations to your new graduate and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mactier, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our first time at a MainStay hotel. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The kitchen facilities a nice bonus. Location was perfect - right off the interstate (but quiet) - walk to restaurants. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Jeannie, India & the rest of the Mainstay Suites staff do a wonderful job of making their quests feel like family. This is my home away from home when I'm in Knoxville. I will keep coming back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scott p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you are continuing to enjoy your stays with us.
We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We needed a quick Saturday night stay and the MainStay Suites served us well. The rooms were quite large and clean, staff very hospitable, and breakfast was very good. it is an easy stop off the Interstate.

.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GrownKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainstaySuitesTN565, Manager at MainStay Suites Knoxville, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. We are also pleased you appreciated the size of your room. We find that many guests enjoy having that extra bit of space for a more "at home" feel.

We thank you again and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Comfort Suites Knoxville
#27 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#46 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Knoxville Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#41 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Knoxville

Property: MainStay Suites Knoxville
Address: 144 Merchant Dr, Knoxville, TN 37912-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MainStay Suites extended stay hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next visit to East Tennessee make us your home away from home. Our countless amenities and courteous staff are sure to please. All rooms feature Fully equipped kitchens and 32" LCD televisions. Our property features an onsite Laundry facility, 24 hour fitness center and business center. Free parking, Wi-Fi and hot breakfast provided each morning. We pride our self on providing a memorable stay in a favorable way at the Mainstay Suites Knoxville. Our 86 room extended stay hotel is conveniently located 4 miles north of downtown Knoxville, the Knoxville Convention center and the University of Tennessee, also located directly off Interstate 75. Many corporate offices are located within minutes of our property including Sysco, Regal entertainment group, Kimberly-Clark, Pilot flying J, TVA and Y-12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing