We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Burnt Ends!”
Review of Dead End BBQ

Dead End BBQ
Ranked #39 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: You have arrived - the end of the road, and the end of your search for great barbeque in East Tennessee. Dead End Barbeque was born at the end of a dead-end street where neighbors gathered to barbeque. For more than a decade the Dead End Society honed their barbequing skills in the dead end, and in professional barbeque competitions where they achieved national recognition. The Dead End BBQ restaurant has been created to take you there. To the smells, the sounds, and the homemade tastes of an exceptional American neighborhood barbeque in East Tennessee.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the Burnt Ends!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Absolutely delicious...from the tea to the banana pudding...everything about this place was incredible. Highly recommend a visit while you are in Knoxville!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNNonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    83
    47
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's better barbecue in Knoxville”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our recent trip to Dead End turned up disappointment. While all of the necessary elements for a great meal were there, it really came up short. The resounding theme from all 4 of us was....dry. Wings, pulled pork, Mac and cheese....all dry. I loaded my pulled pork sandwich up with sauce that had a great flavor, but was far from 'hot', as it was labeled. That couldn't make up for the crouton that they called a bun which held my sauced up pork.

With so many great barbecue places around, good isn't good enough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ickycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really hits the spot”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice atmosphere, loved the decor. I got a pulled pork plate with fried okra and the Mac n cheese as my sides. I tried all the sauces, the hottest one was the best and it wasn't very hot at all. I wish they had a hotter sauce option. The food was out easily within 5 mins of ordering, pretty impressive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mundagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best is right here.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent! It just does not get any better than this. Delicious. Great cole slaw as well. The queasadia is the best item on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't let first impressions kill your mood”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Came from Chicago-stopped here had to try it out. Family of 5- First walking in the hostess had a sour puss on her face, and was rude - but we couldn't let that stick with us. Our waitress however was amazing. The food was great - have to get the wings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jen2697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dead End BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dead End BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing