We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stopped at the Baymont after a long day of driving. We did not have a reservation. Upon entering the lobby to reserve a room I could smell that the had smoking rooms. The person behind the counter was very friendly and booked us a room on the 3rd floor, as far away from the smoking rooms as possible. Our room was great. No hint of smoke. The AC was fine. It kept the room cold and did not smell musty. The room was clean and the beds were soft. One strange thing about the room was that the "heavy" curtains were not made to shut. Only the "light" curtains could shut. This let a lot of light into the room at night (from a street light) and in the morning. My wife said it was to get us out of the room early...could be. We didn't have any problem falling asleep, though. The breakfast the next morning was ok. The bread and bagels seemed a bit stale. The waffles were great. They had the usual fare. I did not see the pool so I can't comment on that. All in all, this was a great place to stay for the night.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DayAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    62
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
53
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

This hotel is close to the exit. The room/suite was huge and inexpensive. Everything in the room seemed newer and exceptionally clean. Convenient ice machine. Friendly check in. Good water pressure. Immaculate bathroom. Super comfy bed. Nice looking pool - although we didn't swim. Room wasn't musty and the AC worked well. Fridge and microwave in room. I can't stress enough how spacious the room was. Breakfast was a minimal carb-fest - bagels, toast, cereal, make-your-own-waffle - but the staff seemed annoyed when asked to refill breakfast items. Overall excellent room experience - just plan to eat breakfast elsewhere. I would stay again.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2008

While the staff was friendly and tried to minimize the discomfort, the room was positively terrible. We arrived late at night expecting the requested room, a nonsmoker complete with a king-size and sofa bed. Unfortunately we were given a smoking room with only one bed and no sofa, merely a small chair. Furthermore, the sink was completely stopped up and the plug had actually broken. Toilet paper on the floor of the elevator completed the night.

Given the lateness of the hour and lack of other available rooms, we reluctantly decided to catch a few hours of uncomfortable sleep. I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels I have ever encountered. One out of five stars is too generous.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank moodyblueteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

We stayed at this Baymont back in the summer of 2007, and absolutely fell in love with it! The rooms are so nice, clean, and full of amenities! The beds were so plush, the towels were so fluffy, this Baymont has it going on! The breakfast was something that you would see served at a buffet. Sausage gravy, biscuits, waffles, french toast, eggs, the whole works! The staff was very friendly and efficient during our 5 night stay. The internet signal was awesome...it never went weak! The location was awesome, convenient to everything and right off of the interstate. If we ever go back to that area, or are ever passing through, we will DEFINATELY stay at this property again! Thanks to Mr. Dennis and his staff at Baymont Inn & Suites in Knoxville!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8 a.m.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cis4cookiecmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

Trip Advisor and the reviews rating the place as #2 out of 83 places in Knoxville sure did not fit our experience. Wouldn't stay there again or recommend it as such. We stayed two nights. The hotel is about 15 miles from downtown K'ville and certainly not worth going that far out for this hotel, if your focus of the visit is in K'ville as was ours--- to go to a UT football goame and vist our son and his girl friend who live and work in K'ville.

The corridors were noisy with teenagers and younger playing up and down the halls and in the elevators. We had to use the steps from tjhe 3rd floor, although we could hear kids laughing and playing in the elevator--the one elevator in the hotel.

When we checked in, we found the room itself was okay but it was not well serviced e.g. no soap or shampooo, the coffee maker leaked when you filled it and the toilet ran constantly with every other flush. When we rasied these issues, they were promptly addressed. You just expect a place rated #2 of 83 not to have those kind of problems and charge almost $100/night plus taxes.

The breakfast, rated so highly in another review , was "average" at best . We have stayed at many similar places where the breakfasts were much better.

Just to put this in perspective, we are very exeperiened travelers and stayed at similar place as well as top of the line places. This hotel is not a 2 of 83. It is typical 2.5 star with clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ11235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

We have just stayed here two nights on our way to Memphis. Booked our room directly through the Baymont Inn website and got a fabulous rate. David on reception was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. The lobby was very nice, clean and welcoming. We had a 2 queen size bed room that was huge and perfect for us & our 2 kids. Beds were very comfortable, sheets clean & bed coverings very modern and the room was spotless. Cream coloured towels in excellent condition and working air-conditioner.
The free breakfast was excellent, muffins, cereal, donuts, porridge, yoghurt, toast, waffles, Danish pastries, fruit, hot & cold beverages and the lady who runs it was very friendly.
Lovely clean pool area, husband and kids went for swim. Pool is open until 11:00pm.
Free complimentary USAToday newspaper.
Location was perfect, just off the interstate and close to the Turkey Creek shopping centre which has Wal-mart, Target and many eateries.
There is an awesome family restaurant next door called Wild Wings Cafe.
We were very impressed with this hotel and would highly recommend to all travellers visiting the Knoxville area. Well done Baymont Inn & Suites keep up the great work.

  • Liked — Huge room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting Knoxville. The hotel is on the western edge of Knoxville.

The room and hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly. The location was good, being close to the interstate and not too far from a nice shopping/restaurant/movie theater area. I have no complaints, though there was not anything particularly outstanding, either (we didn't try the breakfast). I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoxville
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville West
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Turkey Creek / Farragut
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
Candlewood Suites Knoxville
#32 of 87 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Knoxville-West
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville West-Farragut
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Knoxville West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites
Address: 11341 Campbell Lakes Dr, Knoxville, TN 37934-1655 (Formerly Baymont Inn And Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Baymont Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing