We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn Cumberland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
“Hilton Garden Inn Cumberland”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is an excellent property and the staff is great. Recommend staying here for any occasion. Breakfast is excellent and the location is close to attractions. The property is new and fresh, making it more appealing than older properties.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Art R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    144
    49
    36
    26
See reviews for
297
96
39
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel overnight because of its close proximity to ETCH. Used the hotel shuttle service to take me back and forth from the hospital. This was very convenient. I do feel that it was a bit overpriced, but, so are most things these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

And the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. From parking attendants to cleaning staff to front desk, everyone had a genuine smile and would engage you with meaningful conversation. One of the managers was a little grouchy, knocking on my door (and interrupting my wife's catnap) trying to find out who stiffed them for a breakfast ticket. BTW- need a lot more staff at breakfast on game days!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UTVolvulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The service was good as far as checking in but as far as their restaurant , bar area there's a lot to be desired ! My wife and I stayed at numerous hilton garden inn locations and they all have the same problem , the food is mediocre at best . We had a fried chicken dish to take to our room that was inedible it was so tough you could not bite through it ! We went back down stairs after eating and the bartender that took our order ask how it was , we just looked at him and kept walking , you knew by looking at him that he knew exactly how it was with and oh well attitude . Kind of burnt me a little ! They have a list of specialty drinks that I thought I'd give a try , first thing is when your a bartender that supposedly designed some the drinks you should at least know how there made without having to look at the menu ! So in all my feelings about Hilton garden inns , not just this one , the food and bar areas in these hotels should be closed unless management wants to rethink their services . I'm saying this because we had stayed in four different hilton garden inns in ten days and all with the same issues , bartenders want to be some where else other then doing their job , food that is way over priced and poor quality ! Yes they are well maintained hotels , service is good but there are many things that make a decent hotel look bad .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotten162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn University. I want to personally apologize to you and to your wife for your experience, as we do not take these comments lightly.

Our team of hospitality professionals meets daily to discuss the valuable comments from our guests and we make adjustments in our levels of staffing to ensure excellent service. Additionally, your food and beverage comments have been reviewed with the team. We are currently assessing the quality of our chicken dish for flavor and quality, and we are taking the necessary steps to improve the quality of service in both room service and the restaurant experience for our valued travelers. I assure you that we look at each and every comment very seriously, with a goal of providing excellence in customer service and quality that will ensure a value that is synonymous at Hilton hotels every day in every way.

I truly hope that you and your wife will give us a second opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to the Knoxville area. And I invite you to call on me personally if there is anything at all I can do to ensure your stay is relaxing and memorable.

Thank you again for your time and for bringing this to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,


Tracy Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Indoor pool isn't even on site, at a YMCA 1-2 blocks away & has a fee $6, optional valet isn't optional, $10 one-time fee, and even the pastry, cereal, & fruit continental breakfast is $8 not free as in majority of hotels! $11.97 opt. of cold food bar & choice or eggs/omelet, 2 bacon/or sausage, and hash browns small amount isn't really a great value either.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to resond to our survey. The Hilton Garden Inn brand offers a variety of complimentary services, including internet, business services, printing, 24-hour fitness center and more. Breakfast, however, is never complimentary and is an additional fee throughout the entire brand. To my knowledge, it has never been complimentary. Our hotel, which opened 9/17/2013, has never had an indoor pool or any swimming facility on property. Our guests do enjoy complimentary access to the downtown YMCA with complimentary shuttle service to and from this restored historic facility. We have double-checked our website for accuracy and can't seem to find any information pertaining to complimentary breakfast and/or an indoor swimming pool. Perhaps we have been confused with one of our Sister Hilton hotels in the downtown market as you were searching hotels in the Knoxville area?

We realize that as a valued traveler you have many choices in lodging and we sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and if I can every be of assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to call on me directly.

Sincerely,

Tracy Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This staff is a model for customer service! I arrived under the misconception that this hotel had self-parking. The valet said they did not have that option, but he would find a place for me to self-park and was very courteous. The desk clerk welcomed me with two bottles of water, but also said they had no self-park. Even though I saw information on the website that indicated self-park to me, I was going to let the valet take the car. When I returned to my car, the valet pointed out a great spot for me to park! The bottom line is this... the staff immediately proceded to make me happy even when I was wrong. They did not argue or show displeasure, and instead were extremely impressive as they went beyond expectations to help me. When I wanted to visit the neighborhood, the restaurant manager recommended a nearby, local restaurant that was fantastic! He gave up revenue rather than try to talk me into eating in his venue. I rarely experience this level of service and it was consistent from the valet staff to the desk staff. This is a special group and I would be proud for them to work for me at FedEx.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I recently traveled to knoxville to visit with family in the hospital at fort sanders. I didn't have to use the car until I departed. The front desk employees were so friendly. They told me all the great places to eat with in walking distance. They even have a little shuttle to take you places.the room was very nice and the bed was huge. The front desk manager was great to help us find what room our brother was in and gave us a ride to the hospital.I will definitely tell all my friends were to stay when they go to the games here.Thank you Hilton for a great visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laserhlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 86 in Knoxville
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Address: 1706 Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37916-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the center of Knoxville's downtown on historic Cumberland Avenue near campus, is the newly opened Hilton Garden Inn University. Featuring 24-hour valet parking, complimentary business services and internet services, we offer travelers the convenience of a full-service restaurant and bar (including outdoor seating with firepit), indoor meeting space, conversatory off the main lobby and 24-hour Pavilion Pantry. Come and see for yourself what everyone in Knoxville is talking about! We are proud to be the 2014 winner of Excellence from TripAdvisor!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Campus Hotel Knoxville
Days Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing