We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Property”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a brand new property in Knoxville. It is as close to the UT Campus as you can get. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. I Love how many outlets there were near the bed. Made charging my devices very simple. I also liked the reading light that is attached to the bedside table light. If you are coming to Knoxville to visit campus or attend a Football game, I would definitely recommend staying at this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are very appreciative of your amazing review of our hotel rooms! We agree that our rooms are designed with the convenience of our guests in mind. From the extra bedside lighting to the ample outlets throughout for your electronics, to the large flatscreen smart TV's and Direct TV 156 channels, we love making our guests happy and comfortable. We are so glad that you enjoyed those features as well.

The next time you are with us, come on down to the Garden Grill and Bar. We provide full complimentary internet access free of charge, as well as outlets under your seating in both the restaurant and at the lounge - you will love that too!

We look forward to having you again very soon.

Tracy Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    135
    45
    32
    25
See reviews for
264
90
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My son and I stayed at the HGI for college orientation. It was a wonderful experience and the staff were so customer service oriented. I couldn't have been happier with our hotel stay. From check in to check out, our valet parking, the water and snacks, the cleanliness of the rooms, the comfort of the bed, plenty of hot water, the wonderful lobby, and did I mention the staff? I highly recommend the HGI for your next visit to Knoxville, especially if you need to be near the UT campus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
You have helped to make our day! Our proudest moments are when our guests take notice of the amazing staff at the hotel. From front to back, they are dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest feels welcome and valued - and we truly appreciate you bringing this to the attention of everyone on Trip Advisor!

As you know this building was old and tired and set idle for a few years until our company saw the 'diamond in the rough' that she is today! While we have only been open for a few short months, we are blown away by the many comments from UT Parents who have shared positive comments about the end result - a great place to stay that is reasonably priced and well staffed and close to UT Campus.

We look forward to having you back time and again - and GO VOLS!!

Tracy Hicks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I like the hotel and almost every aspect! Location behind the two fast food restaraunts is not ideal, but the hotel is impeccable!

Rooms are modern and very clean! the linens are crisp and comfy, as well as the bed! I extended my stay twice since it was so delightful! great walk to allot to do as well! Fed Ex across the street, Walgrens as well!

Cooper in the bar area is outstanding!

Room Tip: I stayed closest to fast food joints and there was no noise from the street! So I imagine all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to give us such a great review on Trip Advisor. We’re glad you decided to give us a try, and that you enjoyed your experience so much that you extended your stay!

I am also glad that you found Cooper, our head bartender, to be a great asset. Our entire staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased that you received that attention while enjoying our full-service restaurant. Next time (if the weather cooperates) be sure to enjoy our outdoor diningon the patio adjacent to "Cooper's Bar" - he can even turn the firepit on for you!

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in Knoxville – we look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!

Safe travels,

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a college visit with my son. Picked the place for its proximity to the University of Tennessee. Place was clean, rooms were small but comfortable. The AC unit kept me up all night clicking on and off. The staff was friendly but a bit to corporate.

The reason I will never come back or recommend this place is because the required valet parking is not included in the advertised price. This place looked competitively priced online but in the end was not. That's bait and switch in my book. Tired parking in one of the "free hotel parking spaces" but was told by a hotel staff I had to use the valet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear James:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. While we realize that many price-conscious travelers aren't accustomed to paying for parking, it is fairly normal in downtown university areas where parking is a premium. Since opening, we have ensured that each and every discount channel where our hotel booking is available - including our own in-house reservations and on-line with Hilton - all fully disclose the fact that parking is an additional $10 per vehicle per night.

We are sorry that you were confused about the few outdoor parking spaces adjacent to our hotel. Those, however, have never been 'free parking' - nor are they marked that way. Those spots are reserved for our guests with disabilities and for guests with over-sized SUVs and trucks that won't fit in our garage.

We feel confident that we go to great lengths to fully disclose the fact that a parking fee is added to the folio. Some of our hotel guests who are budget-conscious decide to located off-property parking on the street and we are happy to make suggestions if that is the case. Perhaps if you stay with us again this might be something we can assist you with as well.

We are scratching our heads about your service experience.....but we dropped the ball in making you feel valued. For that, we are so disappointed in ourselves.

Please give us another chance to share the guest experience that has won us the 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and Hilton Awards for service time and again. We stand ready to assist you and your son in any way possible.

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel for a visit to the U.T. campus. This hotel is very convenient to the University of TN. That is probably the only good thing I can say about it. The rooms are very small, and they are packed with furniture that isn't really even needed. I can't tell you how many times my family and I bumped out knees on the bed. We are used to the complimentary breakfast, which is just about standard these days. Breakfast is not included here, but there is a restaurant downstairs if you want to pay $12+ a person for breakfast.
The only parking option is valet parking at the cost of $10 a day. There is no pool either. There are restaurants within in walking distance, plus a Walgreens. Although the hotel wasn't awful, I don't think I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry we did not exceed your expectations.

Your comments regarding the size of our guest rooms is relevant. We take pride in the fact that our quirky-ness is due to the painstaking restoration of this hotel building that original opened to the public in 1969. Perhaps if you choose to stay with us again, you will allow us the privilege of upgrading you to a larger room and/or two-room suite. I apologize that wasn't available to you during your most recent stay. However, as you stated, we were full-to-capacity with families just like yours who were up for a Tour of the University.

Your comments pertaining to a complimentary breakfast are also noted. The entire Garden Inn brand, as mandated by Hilton Hotels Worldwide, offer a full cook-to-order breakfast for our guests,but we are required to charge a nominal fee. We believe our $9.95 breakfast is a good value and is fairly priced in comparison to other full-service hotels in our market. I am so sorry that you were not happy with that.

Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At Hilton Garden Inn, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed. Please call on me personally if I can ever be of assistance to you in any way. We do hope to see you or hear from you again in the future. Your business is of great value to us in Knoxville and to Hilton Hotels.

Sincerely,

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great customer service from this hotel! Big thanks to Shawn (valet manager) for his help with accommodating our extended vehicle. The front desk (Jason) is very customer centric too. Refreshing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalgal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to Knoxville. We’re glad you decided to give us a try, and that your experience was 'four star' while you were here!

Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased that you received that attention at the front desk, the restaurant and the valet department!

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in Knoxville!

Safe travels,

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently stayed here for business and was very satisfied. I was greeted immediately upon arrival and had a very easy check-in process. After I unloaded, I walked next door to Gus' Good Times Deli (an old college haunt) and brought the sandwich back to the lobby dining area and enjoy it. The bartender was very helpful and actually gave me a free coke to enjoy with my sandwich. I will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank VOLSatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I know many people read reviews and take a cue from guests like you.

I am also glad you had an overall 'four star' experience at our hotel. We think we’re in a great location – and our guests love our proximity to the University and all the great restaurants located right around the corner (Like Gus' Good Time Deli).

But more than anything, we are thrilled that you got to experiencethe amazing staff that sets usapart from our competitionin downtown Knoxville. The only thing we love more than our staff are the terrific guests we have the opportunityto serve.

We hope to see y'all again real soon in Knoxville!

Safe travels,

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
1.4 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#39 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Address: 1706 Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37916-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the center of Knoxville's downtown on historic Cumberland Avenue near campus, is the newly opened Hilton Garden Inn University. Featuring 24-hour valet parking, complimentary business services and internet services, we offer travelers the convenience of a full-service restaurant and bar (including outdoor seating with firepit), indoor meeting space, conversatory off the main lobby and 24-hour Pavilion Pantry. Come and see for yourself what everyone in Knoxville is talking about! We are proud to be the 2014 winner of Excellence from TripAdvisor!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Campus Hotel Knoxville
Days Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing