We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,”
Review of Maplehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoxville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maplehurst Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Knoxville B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location,”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

While moving across the country with our dog in tow, we stopped in Knoxville for the night. We were pleased with the Maplehurst Inn because of a few things: the staff was very welcoming, the place had fun furniture and decorations, and the location is great for walking around downtown. We walked to dinner- Todd had great recommendations (plus almost every downtown restaurant had dog-friendly outdoor patios). The shared living room space had great antique furniture and was a comfortable place to read or mingle. Our room had modern, comfy furniture and tasteful Japanese themed decor, but the mid-century bathroom could use some updating, although everything worked just fine. Big bed, small TV, and free Wi-fi. Breakfast was a little late and a little basic- fruit, scrambled eggs, cereal, and make-your-own toast, but since we were just in the mood for basic, we were happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    4
    13
    11
See reviews for
16
25
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I booked the Maplehurst Inn for a long weekend getaway. Our room was cozy and incredibly affordable compared to nearby hotels. The staff made a great effort to treat us like family. Todd and Robin (the managers) both made suggestions for local hotspots and spoke to us like friends, which made the experience very comfortable. I would highly recommend the Maplehurst Inn to anyone wishing to spend time in downtown Knoxville; the location is great, the price is right, and it feels like home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilton head
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Room we reserved was not available when we arrived. Put us into Penthouse that was a work in progress. A/C had a hard time keeping the temps comfortable. TV died..Tenant downstairs raided another room for replacement. Breakfast late..OK. Walking distance of Market Square in Downtown Knoxville. Has potential but needs some upgrades.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonHeadFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell Hall, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had made a reservation with Scott months in advance and were looking forward to the visit. Exhausted after a 12 hour drive, we pulled into the parking lot, went to the front door where was taped a big CLOSED sign. They had our contact information and never even had the courtesy to give us a call. Found a local place but since it was last minute, it cost us double.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennesseen, Owner at Maplehurst Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I am very sorry these folks missed out on a great experience at Maplehurst Inn B&B. We both lost out when they went to another hotel. I have a feeling that they went to the wrong place. We haven't ever put a closed sign in 18 years. It is my guess they went to Maplehurst Court Apts in the next block where they do put out a closed sigh when not in offfice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Maple Hurst Inn to support our daughter who was competing at Destination Imagination Global Finals. The location was perfect - a short two block walk to the convention center to catch buses where ever we needed to go. DI books all of the downtown hotels to house the 8000 students who come from all over the world, so this is about the closest you can stay if you aren't affiliated with a team. Last year I had to drive 20 minutes from my hotel to UT each day.

Sonny (owner), Todd, and Rhonda were all wonderful - friendly and helpful. The Inn is an old house with about 10 rooms. It felt like we were staying with relatives - they gave us the run of the common areas, left out snacks, had a refridgerator in the kitchen for guest use, and basically did everything they could to please us. (Better than relatives! ;-))

Our room was large and faced the river. We had our 9 yo son with us and although each of the rooms only has one bed, we asked ahead, brought a sleeping bag, and Todd provided a chair that folded flat into a sleeping cushion. It worked out perfectly for a young child, but I wouldn't plan on it for a teen or adult. Everything was very clean, if a bit worn due to the age of the building.

Breakfast was the same every morning - an egg casserole with tomato or sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, and toast/bagels. It would be nice to see the hot item change each morning. We were all hoping for pancakes or french tast by the third morning.

There was also some confusion over our reservation - we booked 5 weeks in advance with Sonny, and when we called Todd a few days before we arrived, Rhonda had the book and he could not confirm our reservation. We arrived with fingers crossed and it all worked out, but there should be a reservation system that can be seen by anyone answering the Inn phone numbers to give more confidence.

All in all, we were pleased. We have already made a reservation for next year in the hope that one or both of our kids will make DI Globals again. We felt the room price was very reasonable and Sonny could probably charge more with a few improvements to the building and a nicer breakfast. HINT - ask if a discount is available when paying with a check.

Room Tip: Room 9 is one of the larger rooms and has a river view. All rooms have private bath rooms. The Pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmTreePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithonia, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our first time ever staying at a Bed and Breakfast so we didn't know what to expect. It was our anniversary weekend, and I picked Knoxville and this location as a surprise for my husband and we were beyond pleased!!! From making the reservation through the entire stay it was pleasant. Todd was super helpful throughout our visit. We didn't get to experience breakfast because we chose to sleep in both mornings....the bed in the penthouse was just too comfy to get up. It was a very quiet, peaceful and personable experience. The Inn is close to downtown/market square so there was tons to do within walking instance. And we even got to experience the Biscuit Festival. Would definitely return and recommend to others!

Room Tip: Penthouse is a really good choice, you get your own private patio/deck!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelter Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Family and friends stayed at this cozy inn while in town for a weekend wedding. I think we took up the entire establishment and Robin and Todd made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were amazing, the location was walking distance from Market Square, the rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. What would really bring us back is Robin and Todd's courtesy and professionalism. They anticipated our needs, fulfilled every request and did everything with a great attitude. We loved every minute of our stay there and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letitia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 86 in Knoxville
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplehurst Inn

Property: Maplehurst Inn
Address: 800 W Hill Ave, Knoxville, TN 37902-3006
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Knoxville
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing