We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well kept and respectful cemetery”

Knox County Old Gray Cemetery
Ranked #37 of 194 things to do in Knoxville
Attraction details
Madisonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very well kept and respectful cemetery”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

It was mentioned in one of Jefferson Bass's books and I thought I would visit it just for the kool factor in that. I learned some history in the process. It is one of Knoxville's oldest cemeteries and has some of Knoxville's most prominent people in it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank barblford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Knoxville history literally at your feet. I suggest going in the daytime, except for the Halloween tours!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a drive-through”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

For the monument architecture and the unique landscape. Nothing there to help you understand what you're looking at, so look it up on Wikipedia on your smartphone when you're there. Lots of famous Knoxvillians rest here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Walk Thru History”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The history of the region is reflected in this cemetery. Many former politicans, settlers and leaders of industry and education are laid to rest in this place. The area is relatively flat and easy to navigate. There is a guide to the burial locations. Very interesting place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockyKnoxville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“How Persons of Note Are Remembered”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My first visit was about a year ago as I was researching the first captain of the steamboat Knoxville, M. D. Bearden, who was buried here. Found his obelisk after some search.

I have found other steamboat captains buried here. Seems all accrued some money for fine markers. One was even a two-time mayor of Knoxville, Joseph Jacques!

Knoxville's past prominence has been forgotten by many. Here is a place to see the names of those who made Knoxville a most prominent city above early Atlanta, Nashville and Chattanooga.

Old Gray is on the National Register of Historic Places and has the website: http://www.oldgraycemetery.org

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Silentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knox County Old Gray Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Knox County Old Gray Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing