We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everything looks brand new, which apparently it is. The lobby is modern and immaculate, as is the lounge and dining area. The rooms are to die for - very spacious and comfortable, with premium furniture. The grounds are nice, with a walking path and a little gazebo to enjoy. My dog says this is the best LQ he's ever stayed in. :)

There is no restaurant within walking distance, BUT just a short drive - 2 miles or less - is pretty much every type of food you could possibly want, including an Indian restaurant.

The price was surprisingly low for the high end accommodations and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DeeJayGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. It is nice to hear that our hard work is being recognized. We are happy that your dog noticed too! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was very clean and the staff was amazing! All made us feel very welcomed! The pool was sparkling and refreshing. The breakfast each morning was complimentary and very delicious. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for writing your review on our TripAdvisor page. I am incredibly happy that you have thought so highly of our hotel as to write the words. Our entire staff works diligently to ensure that all the features of our hotel are presented to our guests in the highest of standards. We are all glad that you took the time to let others know. We look forward to having you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a pleasant surprise this stay was. This hotel is brand new with a very nice pool area. The rooms are roomy, well furnished with really nice bathrooms. The lobby and breakfast area were roomy and nicely furnished. Best La Quinta I have ever stayed in. I will return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am very happy that you think so highly of our hotel. We all work very hard to ensure our guests get the same type of experience that you have mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has only been opened a couple months. In fact, they were still installing the speed bumps in the parking lot when we checked in on Friday afternoon. There is no signage on the road to say that the hotel is there, only the sign on the front of the hotel itself. The driveway signage is for the Red Roof Inn that takes up the front portion of the lot, so we were not sure that our GPS has brought us to the proper hotel. After we turned in to the parking lot, we saw the sign on the front of the building in the rear of the lot and were relieved to know that "Hun" had not delivered us to the wrong address.

Being a new hotel, there are a couple gremlins still on the loose in the building. Gremlin #1 had the luggage rack missing. We had to store our suitcase on the lone upholstered chair (since the desk chair would not be large enough to hold a suitcase) thereby taking up the only cushioned chair. I had no where to sit to crochet except on the bed, where the back support left a lot to be desired (in a sitting position). Although there was more than enough room for a luggage rack and loveseat, neither was available. If luggage racks are becoming obsolete, then there should be a strong chest or large cabinet for the storage of suitcases (note the plural since most people travel with one suitcase for each person in the party).
Gremlin #2 had our bathroom door sticking at the top so that it would not close easily. In fact, in order to close the door, we had to put our weight on the door handle to press the door down slightly, and had to do the same to open it up again. Each time the door pulled on the top of the door frame and will soon either de-laminate the door or break the frame. We reported this to the front desk on Saturday morning, but as of Monday checkout it had not been repaired.
Gremlin#3 is that there is no designated "dog walk" area with a trashcan for the poo bags (and no supply of poo bags). This is really unacceptable for a "pet friendly" hotel. There are several garden areas that people are using for their pets, so unless a specific area is designated for the pets, the beautiful roses and azaleas will not last long. There is an area between the two hotels that could easily be mulched and mowed. This weedy area would be perfect for the pet walk since it is not landscaped with plants and the pets would benefit from having their own "facilities".

Now that this is off my chest, the good things are more numerous. The rooms are spacious and the colors are soothing, The desk is large and the lamps are bright enough to really see what you are doing. I love the fact that the bathrooms are self contained since I loathe the ones where the sink is in the bedroom area or the hallway. We had a small fridge and microwave....loved that although I know we paid a couple dollars more for that privilege. The cupboard had an ironing board - something I never use unless I am sewing, but I know that some people appreciate having one in the room. The king bed was very comfortable. The sheets, comforter and numerous pillows made sleeping extremely easy.
The breakfast bar has a great assortment of foods. I am sure that there is probably something there for everyone. You can start you meal with scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, bacon and sausage, go to the waffles or the assortment of breads and danish. If you prefer cereal, there are several dry cereals (sugared and plain), along with packets of oatmeal and grits and fresh fruit. In the fridge you will find yogurt, milks and hard cooked eggs. Then you have your choice of juices and coffee (leaded or unleaded) and hot water for the tea lovers. If you can't find something to eat on this buffet, you need to widen your menu choices.

Since this location is right off Interstate 40/75 just west of Knoxville, it is in a superb location for business travelers as well as families who are needing a place to lay their heads. There is an outdoor pool and a fitness room available to the clients. Both seemed to be well kept and, although I did not use either, I did see people using both.

We have family in the area and are planning on using this hotel again when we visit them.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, this is a good choice. La Quinta does not charge extra for pets an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I am always excited to read reviews that give constructive advice. Such thoughts give us a chance to see how we can make our hotel more compatible with our guests' needs. I would like to let you know that our door situation is being resolved this week. Our other "gremlins" (to use your well put description) are being worked on as well. We look forward to another visit from you. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was clean and nice, the staff was terrific. The beds are really hard, if you like that, you'll love this hotel. They have direct TV, so if it rains, you may not have TV service. Breakfast was typical heart attack/diabetes faire, if you like healthy food or are a vegetarian, you won't be eating breakfast there. Not even fresh cut fruit for those who care about their health. I would rather be charged less and eat breakfast out than subsidize that horrid food and unhealthy people's poor habits.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for telling us your thoughts. Our staff works very hard to provide each of our guests a comfortable visit to our hotel. I would like to let you know that we have been looking into some additional, healthier options for our breakfast. It is good to know that the service you received was excellent during your stay. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very impressed with this hotel. It is brand new and you could definitely tell. The exterior is fairly plain, but the interior was very nice, spacious, well decorated lobby, and immaculately clean. Could not ask for better service. We were staying at this hotel due to a family member having surgery at the near by UT hospital, and because of that we were a little frazzled and more needy than normal. The front desk girl Michelle was so nice, she answered every question we had, was very helpful, she even got my husband a cup of coffee when they were out. Were there small things I could nit pick about yes, but at a time when for us could have been a very tense nervous night, this hotel and the wonderful staff made it to where we could relax and enjoy being there. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate when our guests notice the care we take to ensure that their stays are fantastic. Letting us know the issues you encounter helps us to make this place even better. Even if you would like to "nit pick", we greatly appreciate the feedback as what we do requires a great attention to detail. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent choice if staying at this hotel! They allow dogs, their is a paved walking path right outside through the gazebo! Outdoor pool, excellent breakfast, fitness center and beautiful rooms. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank WENDY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse P, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for spending the time filling out your review. We take great pride in making your accommodations as comfortable as we are capable. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Knoxville at Cedar Bluff
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Knoxville/Cedar Bluff
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
5 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill

Address: 1317 Kirby Rd, Knoxville, TN 37909-2850
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: £58 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best-in-class facilities in our hotel offer you the best of services and amenities. Whether it is the free Bright Side Breakfast with a menu that is not limited to muffins, juices, cakes, and cereals or the rooms with an oversized work desk, free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access, a coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave, a Plug-and-Play flat-panel Samsung TV with 30 cable channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, iron with ironing board, and free local calls, La Quinta offers the best as it always has. Adults can lounge inside the pool while kids frolic around the hot tub. Retire to a comfy guestroom that features a stylish, modern decor as well as free Wi-Fi and a 39” flat-screen TV. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel with an expanded hot breakfast and lobby sundry shop, and we are convenient to restaurants and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing