We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel deterred by horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Knoxville
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We drove from Detroit, MI to Cocoa Beach, FL - stopping in Knoxville overnight. We arrived at 1:30am - noting previously that I had checked with the hotel to confirm someone would be at the front desk. When we arrived, no one was there. Another guest let us into the lobby, but still no clerk. We called the front desk phone, rang the doorbell, etc - nothing for 20 minutes (and were extremely tired). Then, she shows up but complains that the computer's not working. Says she doesn't know what rooms are available. Gives us a key, tells us to "try" a certain room - of course, that room was occupied (very VERY embarrassing!) We go down, get another room key, finally settle in to sleep. After that, the room was really nice - very clean, modern, etc. I would have loved the hotel but losing 45 minutes of sleep to a bad front desk clerk is unacceptable when we were on such a tight schedule to start with. I won't name names, but hers starts with M and rhymes with "elissa"...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed here for a few nights during a 7-State road trip. The rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed with fridge and microwave. The pillows were awful, old and lumpy which caused back and neck pain, the hotel needs to renew its pillows and matresses! The hotel was some distance from downtown, a car is vital. There was a heated indoor pool and usual standard of American continental breakfast - you know the deal: bagels, waffles, cereal, toast, muffins, etc. Knoxville was a very pleasant surprise, good downtown with decent Farmer's Market and some good restaurants. The parks created for the World Fair are excellent and river area makes it a very pleasant city, streets ahead of Lexington KY or Charleston WV.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed there on our way home for two nights. The first impression was the guy who checked us in was OK but not the friendly nice and cheerful people type who I associate Tennessee with. The girl we had on our last day was fantastic and made up the cheerfullness.The suites were very nice but for a new motel the couch had two rips in it, the bathroom door would not stay shut and you had to make sure the room door shut all the way when you left. The room key had to be reprogrammed. The pool was ok and the hot tub was tiny and could fit maybe 3 people in it comfortably. It was great for location to I75 and to stores. The breakfast was average and crowded but the crowded part could just be the time of morning that we were there. More preventive maintenance is needed on the rooms but nothing really major.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Problems with electronic door lock (sometimes door remained unlocked, hotel staff fixed it but it continued to be a problem throughout the stay ---- be extremely careful when leaving hotel to make sure door is locked). King room is small (to much packed into the space). Exercise room was extremely hot and staff indicated there was nothing they could do (central A/C problem). Pool area was also warm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraggDLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed overnight at this hotel with our three kids (ages 15,13,and 7) on our way from Chicago to South Carolina. We were very pleased with this hotel. It was very new and clean. The room was very comfortable and modern. Breakfast the next morning was rather good and offered a good number of selections. The beds were great. If we passed through Knoxville again in the future we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed 3 nites. The location if right off I75 just north of the "beltway." Very convenient. All rooms non smoking. Very clean. We had 2 doubles and a small couch that opened up into a bed (we didn't use that). The couch is separated from the rest of the room by a partial wall, convenient for a late-nite read. Breakfast was the usual cold fare plus make your own waffles AND a hot item each day--scrambled eggs with veggies, make your own egg/ham sandwiches, etc. Roomy clean dining area. Rate was very reasonable (more that $20 below the nearby HI Express, which probably has a bit better breakfast, but not worth that much difference!). Free WIFI (took a bit of trick to get on, however). 2 computers in the lobby for guest use. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank MichiganSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete P, General Manager at Comfort Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have started looking to Comfor Suites when I need a room for a night or two, whether it be for business or pleasure. So far I haven't been disappointed. Maybe, it's due to so many new comfort suites being opened. Regardless, I find a clean, quite, pleasent place to stay. When I first arrived at this location, I was worried to see it was right next door to the Fire Station. My room was on the back side, and the only noise I heard was some from the Interstate (trucks) but not a problem, not sure if the they had any alarms that evening. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was the usual, lots of "bread" products, but also an egg and sausage mix. Nearby is a Starbucks if you need something with a little more kick as well as several nice resturants. Bedding very good, room size also good, but they should just get rid of the partial wall and open up the room. Small frig, micro wave and nice size bath. Public areas are well kept. Pool is small, but also nice area. Much better price then other places in the same area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete P, General Manager at Comfort Suites Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Knoxville Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
13.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Knoxville West-Farragut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
Sleep Inn North Knoxville
#47 of 87 in Knoxville
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#28 of 87 in Knoxville
385 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Knoxville

Address: 5466 Central Avenue Pike, Knoxville, TN 37912-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#25 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#25 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Knoxville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knoxville Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing