We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much to see”

East Tennessee History Center
Ranked #6 of 194 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“much to see”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent an hour in this beautiful museum on Sunday morning. It is located in the former TVA headquarters. There is a fine array of displays on all aspects on East Tennessee, history, culture, society, music,. Everything is well illuminated, and the space is very generous in a very attractive building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank pschoenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    52
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely gem on Gay Street!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The museum has an award-winning permanent exhibition that is well worth visiting for an enriched view of East Tennessee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TennesseeDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great History Info”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Free on Sundays. Minor fee other times.
Well layed out, giving insight into Knoxville area history. They even have an old Knoxville trolley you can step into. A few exhibits change.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TenneesseeJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected for free museum”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've walked by this place for years but never gone in. I had some family in town recently and decided to check it out as it is free on Sundays and we were looking for something to do on a rainy Sunday afternoon. I'm glad we went. You can tell a lot of work and effort has gone into the exhibits. They are very well done and quite nice. We wandered around for about 45 minutes, but I would like to go back when I have more time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank gldeagle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Received an education in less than 2 hours”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great interactive displays. Focus on Civil War fascinating.
Excellent collection on the "hillbilly" music and learned about
The TVA and its history. Great location downtown

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank emangramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Tennessee History Center also viewed

 

Been to East Tennessee History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing