We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for great food!”

Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's
Ranked #237 of 1,187 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for great food!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We travelled up and down Kingston Rd. Trying to decide where to eat for lunch, so glad that we decided on Soccer Taco!! We don't know the area at all, but needed a good family friendly place to eat before getting back on the highway. The name of this place made us wonder how questionable this place might really be.....Glad we took a chance! Look past the name, you won't be sorry. We all enjoyed the yummy food, the dining room was very comfortable, and the prices were great! We fed our family of 4 for only$27 and we also got to catch some of the olympics on their many tv's.
We give this place 2thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fireflymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our weekend escape!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We love soccer taco. After working all week, there is nothing better than Soccer Taco! Usually, this is our "date night" out away from the kids. Order a monster frozen margarita! They're delicious! Try the queso fundido with tortillas for an appetizer...it is fabulous! After we've indulged ourselves in both of these plus chips, we end up splitting an entree! We are not afraid to tell people this is our weekly hangout!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkn4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for viewing soccer or other sports”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The food is decent, but certainly not wonderful. It's a good place to sit down, have an afternoon drink (with the free salsa and chips), and watch whatever is on one of the many TVs if you have some time to kill.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great food and so much soccer”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Being from California, we found the food here very much to our liking. Kind of a light Mexican style prepared with little fat or salt, so it felt very healthy. We tried to go back a second night, but it was too crowded! My only complaint is that they didn't show MLS games.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA-Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our "new" favorite place”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Before lamenting about the inauthenticity of the food at Soccer Taco, please try the specialty "Huaraches" with one of the multitude of toppings available--then make your decision. My husband and I had the pleasure of going to Oaxaca a year and a half ago and the huaraches taste like they just came off a comal at a taqueria in Oaxaca. It's a handmade corn tortilla, topped with a mild cheese sauce then they put whatever topping you choose on that (my husband likes the chorizo--delicious and better than any chorizo I've ever had before, the chipotle steak is also good, I usually get the pork carnitas). The pork carnitas melts in your mouth. They then top that with fresh avocado and bring out diced onions and limes and a habanero sauce to accompany the dish. The margaritas are delicious and fresh--the top shelf are outstanding. We used to be die hard Chez Guevarra fans (knowing that it's not authentic but a great atmosphere and good food), but this is our new favorite place to eat. And you can't beat the prices--$6.50 for a platter of delicious food. Since going there for the first time a month ago, we've been back 3 times. We hesitated to go there at first because of the name--it's so silly, how could they have good food? Trust me--they really do. And the service has been excellent every time. It's a great place for families--it's kind of loud because of the cramped quarters, but we love it anyway and plan to go back...frequently. Also, for those who complain that it's not authentic at all or "Ameri-Mexican", I've never seen beef tongue/tripe, cow's cheek or pork stomach on a menu at Casa Don Gallo--have you? If you want authentic, order the "real" Mexican dishes on the menu, not a quesadilla/chimichanga. I think having those items on the menu alone is pretty awesome for a small 'ville like Knoxville.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krankenschwester600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's also viewed

 

Been to Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing