We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel - Knoxville, TN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Knoxville
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice hotel - Knoxville, TN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Had a very good stay at this hotel. room was clean and quiet. I was going to venture out to local establishments, but none were within walking distance. I ate / drank at the hotel & was pleasantly surprised by the offering. I had the balsamic ribs at the bar - 1/2 price happy hour appetizer & they were magnificent & a good portion. Will definitely stay here again when passing through Knoxville.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your travel needs in Knoxville. I am also grateful that you took the time to tell others of your positive experience. Our Executive Chef (The Official Top Chef in Knoxville) takes great pride in his food and will be pleased to see your feedback. Please come back soon and thank you again for your business.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    340
    187
    79
    51
See reviews for
299
208
61
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nice hotel. I reserved through PriceLine and received a decent price. Be aware that there is a charge for parking (which is mentioned on their website - $12 for self parking and $15 for valet parking). When using valet parking, do not be in a hurry. One glitch for us is that because we went through Priceline, I failed to call the hotel and request a non-smoking room and we were placed on a smoking floor. I told the desk clerk that I needed a non-smoking area due to our daughter having asthma. She accommodated us the best that she could and we were placed at the far opposite end of the smoking hall and didn't smell smoke not once. Food in the Marketplace was good.

Room Tip: If you require anything special and you use an alternate method of reserving your room, BE SURE to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KINJAMYHAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team I just want to say thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and thank you for telling others of your experience. I am sorry that we were limited in what we could do to get you the room type that you desired. We strive every day to be a leader in our service that we deliver to our guests. It simply is not possible without guests being willing to share their experiences with us. We are grateful for your business and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I booked two rooms at the Hilton Knoxville and you can't beat the convenience of having your hotel any closer to the UT campus.

My biggest complaints deal with parking, the room's floorplan, and the AC in the room.
First, the Hilton Knoxville offers valet parking and self parking. Both options are in the adjacent parking deck, so traffic into the parking lot is backed up with valet cars. Therefore, self parkers are asked to drive around the block to another entrance. I was not aware of this until my first time returning to the hotel room. Also, the hotel and parking deck are connected with a controlled access walkway so you will need to walk up hill from the parking deck back into the hotel.
Next, the hotel room was for my entire family. My wife and two small children shared a double. The first thing I noticed when I walked in was that there was not a chair to sit in. We had the desk and the desk chair, but no easy chair. The room I booked for my in-laws had an easy chair and an additional table where the ice bucket sat, but our room had a empty space that where these items would have fit. I did not think it would be a problem until I turned to sit our room-service tray down and saw only the floor.
Last, the air conditioner would reach the extremes in cooling and it was very loud when it did so. With the AC blowing, the TV would need to be turned up to 40 just to hear the dialogue. I set the thermostat to 74. Instead of keeping the temperature at or below 74, the AC would begin to blow warm air to reach 74. So in the middle of the night, my daughter's nose was bleeding. (It does that when it gets too hot while she's sleeping.)

Bottomline, I will try other hotels in the area and gauge if they're all old structures with updated features or if the Hilton just missed the mark.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the disappointments that you and your family encountered. Although we are taking dramatic steps to improve our property I do understand that we are not completed as of yet. You will be encouraged to know that guest room seating will be upgraded in the very near future. I also understand your frustrations with parking. I will research the confusion since both entrances to the parking garage should be available to all of our guests. I really do understand that these types of incidents affect the quality of your stay and we are committed to improving in all areas. We certainly want our guests to return to the hotel on their next trip to Knoxville. Thank you again for your business and we certainly hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed on the 8th floor facing Church Street. It was a quiet room but wish we were up higher for a view. Clean and comfortable. Nice bath products. Safe in room. USA delivered to door. Self parking in garage next door or valet - your choice. Front desk was helpful with directions around town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinchantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking time tell us about your experience at our hotel. We love to hear from our guests and share your thoughts with our team members. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed on the Executive Level. Very quiet. Nice appetizers in the evening. Excellent breakfast in the morning. Perfect location for sports events, near the Thompson-Bolling Arena, Neyland Stadium. Be aware that parking is valet. There is a parking garage, but it is not attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us we are grateful that you selected our hotel for your stay. We will review your comments for any improvements we can make. Although we do offer valet parking we also offer self-parking for our guests as well. We will ensure that we communicate this effectively to all of our guests. I trust that we will see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed here on business in July of 2012.

Pros: Location, location, location. Free wi-fi. Friendly staff.

Cons: Air conditioner was deafening. Very thin walls. Not a good night's sleep.


We've stayed here a few times in the past. I guess the higher floors have thinner walls. We were able to hear our neighbor's TV, every toilet flush, and every cough. We were able to hear conversations in the hallway, several rooms down. On top of that, when the air conditioner turns on, you have to double the volume on the TV just to hear it. I understand these are not easy fixes for the hotel, but they are things to consider for future guests.

Outside of those two issues, this is a good place to stay. Parking is expensive, but you are in downtown Knoxville. It would be nice is parking was included for Hilton Honors members, or returning guests.

The coupons for returning guests were a nice touch, but 20% off a coffee isn't the biggest incentive in the world.

Overall, for the price, it's not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aww3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experiences at the hotel. I am also grateful that you have chosen to return to our hotel. I apologize for the frustrations that you encountered. Although some of the items are larger projects or long term solutions there are definitely steps we can take to minimize the effect these issues have on our guests. We are working as a hotel to constantly improve for our guests and I trust that is evident in our recently completed renovations. Thank you for your feedback it does make a difference. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for a wedding. The lobby and bar were both very nice. Reception was friendly despite our late arrival after the rehearsal dinner. A major concern I would have if I were to reserve here again is that the young lady at reception asked if we were set on a non-smoking room, which we had specifically requested. We were then told that she was trying to get rid of the smoking rooms as she only had a couple non-smoking rooms left. I would sooner sleep in a car than in a smoking room-- if we had gone out after dinner instead of checking in, would we have not gotten a non-smoking room?

Moving on, our room was on the executive floor. The bathroom was very nice and the room was spacious, with a nice desk (though the chair is uncomfortable for anyone with a behind!) Maid service was wonderful too and cleaned the room in the hour we were gone for breakfast on Saturday. Speaking of breakfast, the complimentary continental breakfast for executive-level rooms was VERY crowded and was very minimal with only boiled eggs for protein. I think it would have been lovely if the hotel were less full. Plenty of nice breakfast places only a short drive away, so it wasn't a huge problem.

The main problem I had was that I had an allergic reaction to something in the room. I've never had an allergic reaction to ANYTHING before, but when I woke up Saturday I was mildly itchy. I shrugged it off and enjoyed the day, but Sunday morning I had rashes and awful itching all over. I ended up in a benadryl-induced nap for the entire ride home that day, and we had to skip brunch with the newlyweds. I didn't eat any new foods or use the hotel's toiletry products, so I am thinking it must have been the sheets or towels, which points to detergent. Just a heads up for anyone who tends to be sensitive to those things as it took me nearly a week to get back to normal!

Room Tip: Executive level upgrades upon check-in are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjordan2024, General Manager at Hilton Knoxville, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the details of your stay and your experience at our hotel. I am pleased that there were some high points but was truly concerned over some of the items you mentioned. I first apologize for any problem and especially for the apparent reaction you had while in the hotel. I do trust that the issue was short lived and your good health returned. I noticed your comments on the availability of the lack thereof of some good protein items for breakfast in the concierge lounge. I am certain that is something we could address in a positive manner. Lastly, I will review our procedures with our team members to ensure that we are putting our guests in the most comfortable position possible with our hospitable manner and communications. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oliver Hotel
The Oliver Hotel
#6 of 87 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Knoxville

Property: Hilton Knoxville
Address: 501 W Church Ave, Knoxville, TN 37902-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Knoxville
#18 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#28 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Knoxville hotel is located in the heart of downtown Knoxville, within walking distance of University of Tennessee and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Hilton Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing