We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value All the Way Around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value All the Way Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Relocated recently for job and became stuck while looking to purchase a home. My wife, daughter and myself we're staying at another area hotel close to the Red Roof, trust me saving $17.00 a night isn't worth what you lose in an extended stay situation. I booked online directly with Red Roof, got a fantastic deal! We actually forfeited a paid week at the other Hotel to check in here once we saw the Superior King room. I don't normally do reviews, but all things considered here, Red Roof deserves this Kudo. Rooms appear to have been updated, nice new 40" plus flat screens, super bedding (mattresses and linens), clean carpets, spotless bathrooms with great water pressure, great breakfast including eggs, sausage and waffle maker along with the usual cereals and such. On a side note, we requested a bigger fridge since we were staying a little longer, David at front desk and general manager came through in 24 hours giving us bigger fridge to save on eating out! Jeff at front desk is awesome too. Even though still here, giving the review early to recommend to others. There are some renovations going on next door, but we haven't heard a thing while in room. Pleasant people, clean well appointed room with daily service and in the center of Knoxville, can't say more for under $50 bucks a night. Pleasant people and going out of your way for the customer seems like a lost cause these days, trust me it doesn't go unrecognized for people like me. Most enjoyable stay we have had in years.

Room Tip: Book at Red Roof site directly for best deal, sign up for Redi card and earn free nights from day on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    43
    45
    24
    28
See reviews for
66
55
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Red roof has an advance - no refund reservation plan that makes this location a very best value. Total charge was about $48 with all taxes. Room was well prepared and the king bed was a good sleep experience. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast from 6-10 was varied and well stocked. (I think other chains should get the same waffle machines) Access to the location from I-40 is well marked, quick and easy. A special kudo: I made a mistake when making the reservation online. An email to the hotel prompted a quick reply from the Red Roof area manager, Mr. Patel. He graciously corrected my error. Other chains have said "sorry" in the past.

Room Tip: We had a small pup. (the motel is animal friendly) A room on the first floor to the rear is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I drive a truck, and when we don't get antenna tv on football Sundays, we get a room. Preferably a large flat screen, which is what brought us to this motel. Got the November Vets 15percent discount, which made the price even cheaper. Comfortable bed, clean, convenient laundry, very quiet. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Room was nice - king bed was ok. Free breakfast and wifi. Breakfast choices were sausage, eggs, toast, waffles, bagels, cereal, coffee, juice. It wasn't bad. When we went to checkout, I had to wait a long time as the front desk person was also prepping and stocking breakfast so he was not at the desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madras80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the end of September to visit our son at UT. We were somewhat put off in arrival by the desolate and unfinished look of the side and front of the hotel. They have a ways to go on their renovations and landscaping! However check-in was fine, service good, friendly staff, comfortable room near elevator. We loved having a shuttle to the Vols football game on Saturday, that made life lot simpler. Bed comfy, nice pillows, good bathroom (with good water pressure), fridge and.microwave handy, nice TV. Only a couple complaints: 1) broken lightbulb next to bed, had to get replacement. 2)Use of Styrofoam for cups was not appealing nor environmentally friendly.
3)breakfast was just sad: white bread, concealed eggs, cheap muffins, cheap bagels, cheap pastries, so-so waffles, NO whole wheat bread, NO yogurt, NO fresh fruit!! come on, seriously? Y'all could do a lot better than that. An overall good value, but not competitive with holiday inn express, yet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiHomeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped here while driving through Tennessee. We were basically just looking for an affordable place to stay for the night that was decently clean. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in was a little bit disgusting. For starters, the door had apparently been off it's hinges recently and didn't open easily. Next, all the furniture and carpet had stains on it. I didn't feel comfortable taking my shoes off. The bathroom was a bit gross and obviously hadn't been cleaned well in a while. The countertops had junk on them that could easily have been removed by wiping them clean but alas this had not been done for some time. The beds were inspected ( just to be safe) and did seem to be clean but the rest of the room had clearly been neglected.
The staff was courteous when we checked in and out, no problem there at all. We bypassed the free breakfast in the morning since nothing really looked appealing.
I guess you get what you pay for but I expected this type of room to be better than that of a cheap motel. I would not ever stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloakofstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I travel all around the country and I have been to Knoxville a couple of times, but this time when I checked in the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. When I went into my room, on the third floor, it smelled like someone smoked some illegal stuff! I don't mind it but it was overwhelming. The AC was on and it made a god awful noise, I tried to see if it was just the cover. I took the cover off and there was soooooo much dust built up under the cover it was pathetic. Looked like it wasn't cleaned for months. When I took a shower later that evening, the water pressure at the faucet was great until I turned on the shower, it was like drip, drip. I am retired military and still used to taking quicker showers than normal people, takes me about 6 minutes to get clean, this shower took me a minimum of 15 minutes!!! When I finally opened the shower curtain I noticed behind the bathroom door there was black, greasy looking stuff running down the back of the door, looked really nasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Knoxville East
Days Inn Knoxville East
#42 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Knoxville West - Papermill Dr
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Knoxville West
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Address: 1315 Kirby Road, Knoxville, TN 37909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central @ Papermill)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, Red Roof Knoxville Central is convenient to so many Knoxville attractions, yet its quiet suburban location is restful and relaxing. If you’re here on business, downtown Knoxville and University of Tennessee are both just 5 minutes away. West Town Mall, Knoxville Convention Center, U of Tennessee Medical Center, Neyland Stadium, Lakeshore Park, and Knoxville Racquet Club are also nearby. The Army Reserve Base and Tennessee National Guard facilities are also close by. If you’re interested in visiting the Smoky Mountains, it’s a pleasant drive of less than an hour. Conveniently located near I40, exit 383, Red Roof Knoxville Central has great shopping just around the corner, and a number of great restaurants within a half mile.Red Roof Knoxville Central features a business center, interior corridors, free hot breakfast featuring eggs and sausage, flat screen TVS, a free fitness facility, a coin laundry, free high speed wireless internet, a sparkling seasonal pool (open May through September), and free on-site parking and motorcoach parking. Our guest rooms feature spacious sitting areas, custom furnishings, overstuffed chairs and sofas, and dedicated workspaces. You’ll also enjoy cable TV, data ports, hair dryers, in-room coffee makers, and irons and ironing boards in all rooms. Selected rooms also offer microfridges and microwaves. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse –style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service and free morning newspapers. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central Hotel Knoxville
Holiday Inn Central Papermill
Holiday Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing