We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Nice semi-suite with fridge and microwave near I-40 in a modern suburban area with lots of restaurants to choose from. Tesla checked me in and went out of her way to make sure I had the best of everything they had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

Our hopes were high that we would have a great experience at a diamond rated, expensive, and seeminly nice hotel. We could have gone to a super 8, spent half of the money and still had a MUCH better experience. The rooms were very outdated. Very few channels on the tv. The internet acess was worse than dial up. I was thirsty and went to the vending machines but they were basically empty. There were crumbs in our bed under the sheets. I say sheets because there were no real blankets on the bed. Even after all of this here was the worst part. I woke up startled because I thought that there were people in our room! After a trip to the bathroom to check things out I realized that the vent in the bathroom was apparently connected directly to someones mouth. All in all a horrible experience. I will NOT be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smbj121280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

These people know the meaning of southern hospitality! We were warmly welcomed upon arrival and treated like family throughout our stay. While the hotel is not new it does have good clean rooms, updated bedding and bath amenities, and a great location off the interstate convenient to downtown and UT. I stayed with my boyfriend on a busy football weekend. Despite the crowd, we were greeted by every staff member we encountered and truly felt at home during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkellenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

The location just off the interstate and front desk staff were excellent. The breakfast was complimentary for Priority Club members. The towels and bed linens were fluffy and new, but the overall condition of the interior was old and needed updating. Peeling wallpaper, low bathroom ceiling, worn out bed and no extra blankets in the room were big downfalls. The staff did deliver three blankets in the middle of the night, and the check in process was a snap, but overall it was was a poor quality hotel.
If you are looking for a cheap place to stay just off the interstate, it would be fine, but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Holiday Inn seems to have gone downhill in recent years and this particular location screams "tear down". The minute you walk in the door of the hotel you smell mold, and cleaning chemicals designed to cover up the smell. The rooms themselves have undergone something of a rehab--the mattress was new. But still, the bathroom tub enclosure was cheap old fiberglass with nasty caulk. The bathroom sink was dirty, the TV an old outdated one. Bottom line, this hotel is outdated, moldy and just plain not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDerrick, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2009

Grover1959,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel and your stay with us. We greatly value all of our guest responses and opinions as they help us better our property daily. We are currently undertaking several major steps at our hotel to address the issues you expressed concern with during your stay. We hope that in the future you would allow us to offer you a better experience when you next travel to Knoxville.

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to further discuss your stay with us and how we can best accommodate you during future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We were able to make our reservations through Priceline for this hotel for $40/night. We stayed three nights. Check in was friendly and quick, we had breakfast at the hotel everyday but did not use the restaurant or bar any other time. The breakfast attendant was extremely friendly and sweet. There are plenty of good restaurants within driving distance, but not close enough to walk. We found the hotel to be very quiet, exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We booked this one on Priceline for $40 per night (Friday and Saturday night). Great deal. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. They were spotless! The AC was fantastic, I love my room freezing cold and was sooooo happy! The bed was super-comfy with enough pillows of different density to make anyone happy. The desk staff was so friendly, no matter what the shift. Free (and incredibly easy to access) wi-fi made it even better.
Location is wonderful. Immediately off the Papermill exit (I-40), just down from a Krispy Kreme (take North Shore) and its beautiful "hot doughnuts now" sign. A quick hop to the West Town Mall and a ton of other shopping on Kingston Pike. PF Changs is nearby, as is a wonderful Indian Restaurant, Sitar (go down Northshore and hang a left onto Kingston, it's on the right).
The only odd thing was that the bathtub squished. Apparently, rather than a new bathtub, they'd done one of those "skins" that you glue down over the bathtub. Apparently, didn't get it glued down great and when we'd shower, water would get between the skin and the old tub. When you moved back and forth on it, it would make sloshy/squishy noises. Did it bother us? Nope. It was actually pretty funny. My husband could play a decent little tune on it by the end of our stay.
In short, nice, clean hotel with great beds, great AC, great staff. Is it a resort? Nope. It's a Holiday Inn and it's a darn good one. Would definitely stay again. Especially for $40!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emalemaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
4.8 mi away
MainStay Suites Knoxville
MainStay Suites Knoxville
#30 of 87 in Knoxville
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Knoxville - West Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
13.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central

Address: 1315 Kirby Rd, Knoxville, TN 37909-2850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central @ Papermill)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range: £45 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, Red Roof Knoxville Central is convenient to so many Knoxville attractions, yet its quiet suburban location is restful and relaxing. If you’re here on business, downtown Knoxville and University of Tennessee are both just 5 minutes away. West Town Mall, Knoxville Convention Center, U of Tennessee Medical Center, Neyland Stadium, Lakeshore Park, and Knoxville Racquet Club are also nearby. The Army Reserve Base and Tennessee National Guard facilities are also close by. If you’re interested in visiting the Smoky Mountains, it’s a pleasant drive of less than an hour. Conveniently located near I40, exit 383, Red Roof Knoxville Central has great shopping just around the corner, and a number of great restaurants within a half mile.Red Roof Knoxville Central features a business center, interior corridors, free hot breakfast featuring eggs and sausage, flat screen TVS, a free fitness facility, a coin laundry, free high speed wireless internet, a sparkling seasonal pool (open May through September), and free on-site parking and motorcoach parking. Our guest rooms feature spacious sitting areas, custom furnishings, overstuffed chairs and sofas, and dedicated workspaces. You’ll also enjoy cable TV, data ports, hair dryers, in-room coffee makers, and irons and ironing boards in all rooms. Selected rooms also offer microfridges and microwaves. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse –style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service and free morning newspapers. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central Hotel Knoxville
Holiday Inn Central Papermill
Holiday Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing