We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
ch
1 review
“too noisy!”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I was hearing traffic and sirens all the night during the week..
Then over the weekend a kind of event nearby waking me up at 7:00...
Other day there was a wedding and drunk people doing noise at 4:00, shouting in the middle of the corridor and banging doors.

The hotel should change all the windows and air conditioning systems... I wouldn't try it again in its current state.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    238
    74
    23
    18
See reviews for
219
142
28
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My family and I were looking forward to a restful night's sleep after driving for almost 8 hours. Upon check in it was apparent the renovations were not yet complete which was fine. There was a gathering of folks in the lobby area who were rather loud.
We found our room and unpacked our things. It was around 11:00 pm.
When we were ready to retire about 11:40pm, I remarked to my husband that the other quests were rather loud. I called the front desk. I spoke with a member of the front desk staff. I do not recall his name. I was told there were several wedding parties at the hotel. When I inquired about changing rooms, i was told because the wedding parties had rooms in various places in the hotel, he could not ensure the other floors would be quiet. I was told, he would call the police and have the officer speak with the guests in the next room and remind them of the quiet policy as it was late in the evening. I did hear the Police knock on the door . However, the newly found quiet was short lived. The other quests were noisy in their rooms and in the hallway. My husband slept perhaps an hour or two the entire night. In addition to the rude guests, I felt as if I was back in New York City. The level of street noise was very loud. I myself, woke up several times due to the combination of hotel noise and street noise. The beds themselves were very hard and uncomfortable, Also, the remote to the TV did not work.
When I mentioned this to Lauren at the front desk the next morning. Lauren apologied for the noise. She stated she was not sure why our request to change rooms was denied. She was aware of the name of the young man with whom I spoke with the prior eveniing. She was very nice, but made no attempt to make amends or offer to get the manager. As a result, we decided to check out of the rooms early. Upon leaving, we were encouraged by Lauren to come back and try this hotel again..
When I arrived home, i contacted Holday Inn via the website. I received a standard email reply, stating appreciation for my input. I was told my complaint had been forwarded to the manager at the hotel in Knoxville. It has been a close to two weeks since I contacted Holiday Inn. Thus far, no one from the Holiday Inn Knoxville World's Fair has contacted us regarding our less than ideal stay. Very disappointing. We ended up staying at another location in town, which was cheaper and slightly more comfortable. Still looking for a good quality, reasonably priced hotel in Knoxville.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn World's Fair during a conference I attended on the UT campus. The hotel is very conveniently located and I especially appreciated the free shuttle service they offer to nearby attractions. I stayed in a newly remodeled room and it was very nice. I was a little disappointed that they had a lovely flat screen HD television, but apparently only a very poor quality analog signal. It was helpful in encouraging me to read rather than watch tv though, so perhaps not a bad thing.

The staff was very courteous and helpful. While I did not eat at a hotel restaurant, the catered food that was offered at a reception sponsored by the conference I was attending was very good. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for three nights while in town for the UF/UT football game. The second night there our car got broken into and a few items were stolen. To make matters worse, the hotel never informed me about a parking charge so upon checkout I noticed a $30 charge. I asked the service manager if he could waive the fee since our car did get broken into and he wouldn't. All he gave of was 4 free drijk tickets. What kind of hotel offers free drinks tickets as compensation for your car getting broken into? There are plenty of other hotels nearby to stay at where I'm sure there is better customer service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferHFL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I just attended the 2010 Indiegrrl International Music Conference & Festival at the Holiday Inn World’s Fair and can't compliment the staff enough. These people don't know what the word "no" or "can't" is. They are the most helpful and friendly staff that I've ever encountered in any hotel. The people in Knoxville are friendly, but this hotel must go far and wide to employ only the best of the best.

Although I didn't stay in one of the newly remodeled rooms, my room was very clean and comfortable. Will definitely be back next year for the conference and will certainly recommend this hotel for any of my friends who are going to Knoxville! I can't wait to see the renovations!

All I'll say until the renovations are complete is this - If you're more interested in decor than service, stay someplace else but if you want a clean, comfortable room where the service is First Class, stay at the Holiday Inn World's Fair Park - you won't be disappointed.

Oh, and if you're contemplating setting up a conference in Knoxville, you NEED to contact this hotel - the GM, Michael Parisi and his staff will make sure that they do everything they can to make it a success.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lat_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This a great location - short walk to the UT campus, or Market Square in downtown Knoxville. The convention center is attached to the hotel, and there is a nice park next to the hotel. The hotel is currently renovating all the rooms, so check first to see if you can stay in one of the newly renovated rooms. The laundry room is currently on a floor that is being renovated, so it is not accessible. Nice pool area, and excellent complimentary wi-fi. They charge for breakfast, and parking is $7 a day in addition to the room rate. No mini-fridge in room. There are several other hotels within walking distance that look nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaFisk01, Manager at Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your visit here at the Holiday Inn World's Fair Park! We thank you for the nice compliments and information you provided about our hotel. For future reference, we can provide Micro-Fridges for a small fee of $7.00. For the $7.00 parking charge, we are the least expensive in downtown Knoxville.
If you reserve a room on our new Executive Level, breakfast is included. Also, when available, we offer upgrades to our Executive Level to Priority Club members. Our new guest laundry will be reopened on September 1, along with 2 more newly renovated floors. We are almost halfway through our renovation that is due to be completed in August of 2011. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Knoxville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My daughter and I were greeted by soft chocolate chip cookies and lemonade when we came into the lobby. I found the rooms to be clean, although I did not have one of the remodeled rooms they are in the process of updating all of them. I did get an excellent price through Priceline .
What I did find exceptional was the genuine kindness of every employee I met, The employees at this hotel go above an beyond the call of duty, That makes you feel safe and secure when your traveling alone with your 4 year old daughter.
A special thank you to Arlieta and Sarah that work behind the desk.
I know others complained about noise in other posts but I didn't find that to be an issue at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaFisk01, Manager at Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
On behalf of all the staff here at the Holiday Inn World's Fair Park, thank you! We are working hard and diligently to improve this property and look forward to seeing you in the future. Our main focus here is guest services and responsiveness to needs for all of our guests. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
0.8 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#39 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville

Property: Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Address: 525 Henley St, Knoxville, TN 37902-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#7 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn World's Fair Park is located in the heart of Downtown Knoxville, Tennessee. We are currently updating our spacious facility with the latest technology and a trendy atmosphere. Whether you are traveling solo or in a large group, our hospitality is like no other, However, don't take our word for it, experience this for yourself. Can't wait to see you here and have a safe trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn World`s Fair Park Hotel Knoxville
Holiday Inn Select Knoxville
Holiday Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing