We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location but needs updating”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a nice downtown hotel close to some terrific restaurants, but it could use some updating. My room had a king size bed that was comfortable but the pillows were tiny and there must have been half a dozen of them. The bathroom had been redone, but was small and had only a shower, no tub. There was a large flat screen HDTV in the room, but only standard definition channels were available and the picture was so bad I gave up trying to watch it. I'll never understand why hotels spend the money for high def televisions but provide only a standard def signal. The wifi hotel internet service was OK but was not password protected, which always makes me nervous. The hotel staff, however, was excellent - knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    184
    62
    24
    30
See reviews for
110
122
30
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and the hotel is in a perfect downtown location. Overall the hotel was nice and clean, and the service was great. Breakfast was great as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or collegues and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkansas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Courtney greets you with a friendly smile and Southern charm when you enter the Crowne Plaza in downtown Knoxville, she's one of Knoxville's hidden gems! Whether you want to get out on the town, or backpack some of the most inspiring hikes in the smokin smokie, she has the inside scoop!

Room Tip: The front desk staff are very attentive to the needs of the weary traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

You might be surprised to hear my 5-star review starts with a complaint, but please hang on. We had a long stay at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville for a soccer tournament, and while the service was exemplary and friendly, we had a few issues with internet, a frig, and the Mahogany's restaurant. After a couple of nights, I glanced through the hotel notebook and found the GM's email on the first page, so I fired off a grumpy email to him.

Now here's the amazing part. His and his staff's response was overwhelming. They replaced equipment, cancelled some charges, and did things for us we've never seen any hotel do. And if you look at my past reviews, you'll see we stay at top hotels. Crowne Plaza went out of its way to make sure we were satisfied. So my advice to you, is that if you have an issue, let them know when it happens, and don't wait until you get home to write your review. :-) They are so gracious about it too. I only see responsiveness like this in companies where customer satisfaction is the #1 priority.

Some tips on our stay: I was on the 12th floor. 2 bathrobes and the AC worked well. Free wifi was 3Mbps. They have a huge fitness room, with about 5 treadmills and 3 exercise bikes upstairs overlooking the pool. Most equipment is Precor. The strength equipment is targeted at heavy lifters. It would be nice if there were more stuff for women, such as a stretching area with yoga mats, pilates balls, and more light weights.

Due to the early tournament games, we only ate breakfast (room service) one morning, where we found the fruit platter and oatmeal to be large servings and good values. In fact, the oatmeal was unusually good, something between steel cut and Quaker oats, and only ~$4.50! The restaurant serves Starbucks coffee.

The location can't be beat, as you can walk to Gay Street for movie, theater, eats, and a busy night life. There's also a Weigel's convenience store about 0.5 mi away. We were really glad we stayed here versus the other tournament hotels in the Cedar Bluff area.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms will give you twinkling lights at night. The odd numbered rooms face the TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had a friend flying in to the Knoxville airport and we decided to get a hotel for the night and we were very pleased. The staff was wonderful, they arranged our taxi and everything for us. The location of the hotel was great and close to nightlife. The room was immaculate. The only thing I can complain about is how expensive the breakfast was... It was nothing special, just a little buffet with the usual and it was $26 for two people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caylajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is very modern, very clean, very well maintained and most very well staffed. The restaurant is also a pleasant surprise. I say "pleasant surprise" because most hotel restaurants are at best average. These guys put out great food with great service at fair prices.

Room Tip: Ask for the North side of the building as the view is better and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael37931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great location, clean, friendly . Close to market - food and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiledawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.3 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#16 of 86 in Knoxville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Property: Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Address: 401 W Summit Hill Dr, Knoxville, TN 37902-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#24 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing