We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short stop over in Knoxville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“short stop over in Knoxville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My daughter and I were on college visits last week and had a brief stay at the Crowne Plaza. We had an effecient friendly check in by Zach at the front desk. He also was very knowledgable on where to eat close by within walking distance at the Market Square. This was a big plus after a long day of driving.
The rooms were very clean, and updated bathroom nice. The lobby is also very inviting and all of the staff was Southern friendly.
My daughter really like the night time lavender Spa therapy.

Room Tip: I think they have a quiet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza on your recent trip through Knoxville. I'm glad your daughter and you enjoyed your stay and your time together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    172
    62
    24
    29
See reviews for
104
114
29
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently because of its proximity to the University of Knoxville where I was attending my son's freshman orientation. Obviously I did not plan on spending a lot of time in the room due to the nature of my visit but I would not have minded doing so at all. The hotel was very clean, even the bathroom was acceptable, and the staff was pleasant. I really liked coming into the lobby of the hotel and seeing two small podium type desks instead of the huge expansive front desks you see in most hotels. It felt much more comfortable and more exclusive, personal if you will. The beds were comfy, loved all the pillows, and the room was plenty large enough for two. I did return to the hotel on the second night and decide to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant. I was tired and just wanted a sandwich/burger/something quick and easy. When I saw the dinner menu I thought "ugh, steaks and heavy foods that'll drag dinner out an hour!" But a gentleman from the restaurant came out and must have anticipated what I was thinking because he offered me (without my asking, mind you) the lunch menu that had what he called "lighter" items. It was perfect and exactly what I wanted (portabella mushroom burger was amazing). Service was good there too and the meal was excellent. Other than a small issue with not being able to get out of the parking lot because the desk forgot to give me a token when I checked out (resolved quickly) my stay was flawless. I will definitely return when visiting my son in Knoxville.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and grateful you chose the Crowne Plaza on your recent stay in Knoxville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenwald, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I liked the cozy lobby that people actually used. Found the staff to be very helpful. Nice clean room. Great location. Right by Market square so it was easy to take in a dinner and movie. Really nice Friday night seafood buffet! I will return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Norh side has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Our Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet is a local favorite. I'm glad you enjoyed it and your stay. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here on a whim and it turned out to be a fantastic location! The hotel itself was great, rooms were really nice and clean and the staff were friendly. The best part was that you could walk, literally across the street from the hotel and have a ton of great restaurants and bars to go to. It's right across the street from Market Square. Would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmc1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I appreciate the fact you chose us and am glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed here for the first time last night and was so pleasantly surprised. The location can't be beat, the price was about the same for other hotels in the vicinity and the service was excellent. Very clean, friendly staff and it is only across the street to The Market Square and one block to Gay Street. Highly recommend and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We saw this hotel on entering Knoxville and it looked very impressive. We were not disappointed when we checked in, fabulous lounge area, great location for the square and the oldtown, staff and room were lovely. Our room rate included breakfast which was waitress served orange and coffee, we could choose from the buffet or have a set breakfast, between us we had both, which was very good indeed. Don't be put off by the look of this hotel if on a budget, it is not cheap but also not extortionate, very good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzannejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Knoxville as well as it's location. Downtown Knoxville has undergone a real transformation and offers something for everyone. Yhank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I came here on a trip while my sister was doing her UT Knoxville stuff. I was surprise by how nice the place is. The room was clean. I like how the housekeeping manager knock on my room asking if the room is great. The staff was great. Frank was helpful and great to talk too. Katie was also helpful. My only real complaint was the TV. Maintenance guy came to my room to twist the wire in, but I had to twist it in every so often the whole night to get a signal. The next day, the other maintenance guy came and loosen the wire to fix it. Same problem occur the next day. Why couldn't they just replace the wire like I wanted. The problem still occur but I didn't mind since I wasn't there to watch TV all day. Overall the hotel was great and I will return. I wont be asking for the same room # again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlouang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but apologize for the TV cable problem. We are searching for a cable that will rotate with the TV to eliminate the problem.l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.6 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#36 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Property: Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Address: 401 W Summit Hill Dr, Knoxville, TN 37902-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#24 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing