We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed downtown for meetings and found the location perfect! I also enjoyed the location, so close to the Knoxville Square!

Staff is very nice and take great care of you, I really liked the professionalism of the bellman too!

The rooms could be updated, but clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: I liked the views facing the back side of the hotel, I am sure square views are also very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to give this hotel a bad review, but I had a great night sleep and the toiletries were surprisingly good, so it's just not fair to them.

My biggest complaint is that it felt like I stepped back into the 80's when I walked into the lobby. Hunter green and burgundy decor with dark and dreary lighting. The elevators sound like they are on their last leg. When more than 5 people are in them, you're just praying that the cables hold out. The corridors on the different floors remind me of a college dormitory. Needless to say, we spent as little amount of time possible at the hotel. It's just depressing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuktuktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, whether positive or negative so that we may continue to improve upon our facilities and services. We plan on continuing with our hotel updates and renovations and will hopefully meet your approval on your next visit. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Knoxville, but I would definitely go back to this hotel if I return. I booked a group trip, and the sales agent I dealt with, Jeff Shrewsbury, was extremely attentive throughout the whole process, and even called my office after our stay to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. It was! The hotel is located just a few steps from all of the little downtown areas- Gay st, Market Square, and Old town. Hotel garage parking was inexpensive and easy. My international group was thrilled to discover the almost unheard of policy of free long-distance calls from the room. Also, it was a pleasure seeing the well-behaved dogs walking through the lobby, as the hotel is dog friendly. Finally, the gym is top notch for a hotel. 2 floors, a full nautilus-like weight machine setup, at least 3 of several different cardio machines (stairmaster, elliptical, treadmill, etc...) and a lap pool, and lots of TVs above the cardio equipment so you can watch whatever you want, and the person next to you can watch their show on their tv. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and patient, which is always a bonus with an international group where not everyone speaks English. The hotel itself is showing a bit of age, with some worn carpet and patchwork on the wallpaper, and the breakfast buffet was not as elaborate as what is shown on the posters in the elevator (I tried it once and then opted for breakfast in market square the rest of the trip). The rest of the amenities and the staff more than made up for such small issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Curlytb,

We couldn't be more pleased to hear about your wonderful stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Crowne Plaza and hope to welcome you and your group back again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here last week and was very pleased. I had made reservations weeks ago for a room with one queen bed and needed to change to a room with 2 beds. Even though the hotel was completely booked, the front desk staff was willing to get me the room that we needed.
The Crowne Plaza is well located in downtown Knoxville and just a short walk up an down some steps to Market Square where there are lots of restaurants and shops.
There was a $10 daily parking charge to park in the hotel garage.
The only negative of our room was there was not a refrigerator in the room and the ice machines are only on odd numbered floors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our personalized service, clean rooms, and location. We know how important these are when traveling away from home. We appreciate your comments and will use them when reviewing our hotel. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 5 nights on the 5th floor. The hotel is in downtown Knoxville, very close to the Market square/pedestrian mall. We were able to walk to breakfast spots, and visit the craft beer place in less than 5 minutes.
The hotel staff always greeted us with a smile. We were able to eat together for brunch, and that was a challenge because there were 15 of us. Basic brunch food selection, with friendly service.
Our hotel room had a desk and plug ins for our phones/notebook. TV was large and easy to use. Beds were very comfortable. Sleep was good except for one night, with a wedding party talking loudly outside in the hall. Most hotel doors do not keep out the noise. They quieted down after we asked them to move along.
The room's a/c was the one thing that kept me from giving 5 stars. Either we were freezing with all the covers on, when it was running; or sweating when it was off. We tried moving the temp around to see if we could hit a happy medium, but we never figured it out. Room a/c - it is what it is; they are not central heat/air.
The gym is amazing. 2 floors of equipment and a pool. Clean and not crowded. Parking was easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebirdofparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear whitebirdofparadise,
Thank you for your feedback on your hotel experience. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your room temperature, however are pleased to hear that you still had a wonderful stay with us. We greatly appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Outstanding property and staff, good rooms, great proximity to Old Town and Market Square.
Better parking arrangement than most downtown properties with direct access to lobby and check-in. Room service delivered exactly when requested. Everything as promised and represented. Particular treat was the Easter Sunday Brunch which was over the top- as good if not better than those I've had in more "metropolitan" areas. It was well managed and had excellent selections. Special hats off to Ana who was the epitome of a cheerful, unflappable hospitality employee. With thirty years in travel related industries, I have not met anyone with a better attitude.

Room Tip: Top floor is a little more but more amenities and less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and staff. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our Easter Buffet and our staff addressed your needs immediately and to your satisfaction. We'll be sure to pass along your praises to Ana. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First, I wish I had (or remembered) everyone's name. We had such a great time. We got in after midnight and the check in was very friendly and helpful. Within 5 minutes of getting there we had our extra bedding for the pull out.... Housekeeping took very good care of us in 920. It was always wonderful to come back to a put together room that smelled wonderful. There were three of us women staying! The Seafood buffet was fantastic, everything tasted wonderful, was warm, or cold as should be and cleaned/cleared up. Check out, Concierge, our Room, Library Bar (very polite and helpful bartender), Room Service (they even called later to see if we needed anything else!).... everything was great. It's is a perfect location if you want to spend your time walking around the area!

Room Tip: Our room was fine, we heard to get a view of the Square, but we overlooked the mountains, so that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your hotel experience. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the service and convenience of the hotel location. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#19 of 87 in Knoxville
1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.6 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#46 of 87 in Knoxville
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 W Summit Hill Dr, Knoxville, TN 37902-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#24 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £93 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing