We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a truly pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My friend and I were in Knoxville and were spending one night in a hotel. We decided on the Crowne Plaza hotel. When reading other reviews of the hotel, I was a little skeptical. However, the stay was fantastic! Everyone who worked there was so nice and accomodating! The entire place was extremely clean. The room was nice and very clean. The location is great. It is right by the Market Square, which has a lot of really nice places to eat and shop. Not only that, the hotel itself has a very nice restaurant and a huge exercise facility (and not the mention Starbucks!) If I am ever planning to stay in Knoxville again, I will definitely be choosing the Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieCottonballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2009

I just wanted to let everyone know that the Crown Plaza hotel in downtown Knoxville, (Summitt Hill) is a great place to stay. After reading some of the reviews I wondered. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and quiet. We ordered room service and it was good and not to expensive. The homeless shelter that several people mentioned has since moved and no more panhandling around the area. My son lives 3 blocks from the hotel so we were all over at different hours and were not afraid to walk around downtown and Old City. I just wanted to set the record straight because this hotel does not deserve any bad publicity. Kaye L from Denver

1  Thank katiedid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We got an excellent rate on priceline for this hotel and stayed for one night, arriving late and leaving early. We thought the room was luxurious and had a nice view. It was a little small, but not unreasonably so for a downtown hotel. The TV is huge. The lobby and other common areas are well-appointed and the fitness center is HUGE. One thing I found annoying was that they would not let us use a luggage cart, stating that a bellman must accompany the cart and essentially forcing a tip. I've never heard of that before.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I was booked into this hotel by an event organizer, but they couldn't have made a better choice. Even with several large events (conference, weddings, family reunions) going on, the desk, wait, and bell staffs did all they could to help me solve logistical problems. They even gave me a roll of packaging tape, slipped FedEx forms under my door, advised on how much to pay for a cab, recommended great restaurants...and so on. Everyone was unfailingly pleasant, even when I yelped at the price of a glass of so-so Chardonnay! I was able to walk everywhere I needed to go, but there were free shuttles right at the front door.

My room was large and comfortable. It faced a noisy (near the fire station) street, but they provided a "sleep kit" with ear plugs, sleep mask and lavender spray. The only thing missing was a mini-fridge.

I'd definitely stay there again should I get the opportunity to return to Knoxville.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Knoxville Crowne Plaza downtown. While the lobby and restaurant areas were clean, the rooms and hallways were not. We also killed a roach in the bathroom. We stayed at a Holiday Inn in Asheville that was 100 times better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Room was lovely, surroundings pleasant and front desk staff really nice and helpful. Only negatives were the breakfast waitresses who were a bit gruff and didn't seem able to smile, and the hotel location. "Downtown" sounds appealing but in reality it's rather run down and a bit deserted. Next time I'll stay out of town but not because the hotel was bad.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We'd never stayed at a Crowne Plaza anywhere before, so we didn't know what to expect. The accommodations were pleasant enough, although the entire hotel was a bit dated. What made up for it was the price, for one, and the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysterPlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#19 of 87 in Knoxville
1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.6 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#46 of 87 in Knoxville
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 W Summit Hill Dr, Knoxville, TN 37902-1416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#24 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £93 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing