We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went Downhill Quick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Went Downhill Quick”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I almost hate to write this review. This place has been our standby for the last 10 yrs. if we didn't quite feel like driving all the way home when traveling to and from the beach. We won't stay here again. Good part: the price was reasonable for a simple place to stay and the front desk service was notable. Bad part: The first room assigned to us reeked of some type of animal urine and the carpet was filthy. The second room assigned to us smelled of heavy cigar smoke, almost nauseating (we don't smoke), they did try to cover it with some type of industrial odor control. The third room assigned to us was without urine, carpet was not dirty, but had some stains, and the room smelled clean. However, the bathroom light would not work and there was mildew in the corner of the tub. We were too tired to make another change. We settled for the room. On another note, this place should be called the Red "Pet" Inn. I can only speculate, but it seemed that over half the tenants had some form of animal. You could hardly walk to the ice machine or leave your room for that matter without a dog barking. It was actually somewhat comical, at one point the parking lot became the "pooping lot." I was not aware that all God's creatures expelled at the same time when staying at the Red Pet Inn. In my humble opinion this place has gone so far downhill over the last year that we have to take it off our list of places to stay on I-75. It has most literally gone to the dogs.

Room Tip: Apparently there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdgillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    68
    37
    33
    24
See reviews for
71
58
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel several times during a two month period for business purposes. While it is a simple place and not extravagant, my room was clean and fresh smelling every time. I was comfortable and without any worries. The price is very reasonable. I travel with my dogs and there was plenty of space to walk and play with them. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is kind and thoughtful. This is not a place for fancy hotel perks. But it had what I needed. WiFi, a nice T.V., a clean room and they allowed pets. The area is close to dining and shopping for all budgets. I rated excellent because this was my experience on-site.

Room Tip: I am a non-smoker, so I asked for this type of room on the top level. It only has 3 floors, so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2manytripsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
219 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Slower than molasses service - Dirty room (floor was never vacuumed and had HAIR all over the carpet - No business center

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washwestcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knoxville hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

It's very overrated based on these reviews. It's a no frills, no-tell motel, very average in the 1-2* range and nothing else. Maybe it's seen a coat of fresh paint and a better counter top in the bath area, but that's about it.. nothing to make it above average.

Location: It's not close as to the University or Downtown you might think; it's still a good 10+ miles to drive. Not bad at all, but you should just factor that in. Everything else: The WiFi (about the only service) stopped at one point, but they eventually got it fixed. There's no restaurant or services to rate.

Had I more time, I'd have kept trying to Priceline, or maybe spent a little more. Wasn't terrible - and of course, it was affordable - but it's nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Small but clean and odor free room, decent beds. We had a non-smoking room. Excellent no-frills place to stay for a night when travelling. Closest ice machine did not work but they have a second one by the office. My AARP card got me a ten dollar discount off of the already very reasonable price. I did not have a reservation. Compared to some places I've stayed (for a higher price), this hotel deserves high marks. Is it a luxury hotel -NO- but I didn't expect that it was. It did have a nice high def TV.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

After reading the previous reviews of this motel, we were very disappointed. The non-smoking room we were assigned wreaked of smoke - even the toilet paper and the plastic cups. The bath tub was not clean. The toilet did not flush properly.

The exterior of the building needs to be renovated. We stayed in the "superior" king room so not sure what the basic room was like.

Will not return.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bear047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed on 3/29/2011, our room was clean & comfortable, paid $39.95 plus tax using a coupon and it was well worth it. We told them we had a dog and they gave us a room on the ground floor near some grass that our dog found very convenient.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for a coupon as in the motel books at the welcome center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSBicknell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites West Knoxville
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Knoxville
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
9.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Knoxville - Cedar Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff
Address: 209 Advantage Pl, Knoxville, TN 37922-2336
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location for visiting Tennessee's attractions! 13 miles from the University of Tennessee, Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff is just 1/2 mile from Park West Medical Center and a 10 minute drive to the Convention and Exhibitors Center. Oak Ridge and Chilhowie Park and Knoxville Zoo are all within 20 minutes of this hotel, while the fun of Dollywood and the beauty of the Smoky Mountains are just 45 minutes away. Conveniently located off of I-40/I-75, this 3-story Red Roof is located near numerous restaurants, shopping centers and a cinema. This Red Roof is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. Selected rooms offer microwave/microfridge units and an elevator. All rooms have free WiFi, a flat screen TV and an in-room safe. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service. In addition, we also have a conference room. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville West - Cedar Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Knoxville West Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing