We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Ranked #60 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I am from Birmingham, Al and my wife had just been buried on June 16th and my son's had me to take a trip. So I came to red roof inn on June 18th our 29th wedding anniversary red roof inn was the place we spent our honey moon. I stayed two nights

The staff was great the room was clean and the lady don't know her name, but she was so sweet, she was an older woman. I WILL COME BACK THANKS FOR THE LOVE.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    68
    36
    30
    23
See reviews for
67
56
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

There's just something so comforting about the southern hospitality Lorraine (front desk) exudes that kind of makes you feel like you're checking in with family instead of a Hotel chain. There should be more people in the "hospitality" business that actually get what the term means! Little things like being respectful and caring go a LONG way in todays world. Next time we're in the Knoxville area, we'll go back to your hotel.

Room Tip: the further you get from the highway, the better (of course) although we didn't have any problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauligoetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Where should I begin....

Reserved through Hotels.com. 1 room, 1 night, 2 double beds, non-smoking.

Got to the room and it smelled like an ashtray. Smokers on either side of me all night.

Had some lady trying to get in my room around 2AM, drunk, lost.

This hotel is in desperate need of remodel, fumigation, something.

My recommendation, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

The trip to the room was a little scary for two women at night. With the outside doors to the rooms and lack of lighting. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was updated and very clean, and we felt safe!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesecup20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I am writing this review for this hotel based on the service I received upon my arrival from an employee name Lorraine. Coming from out of state and being completely exhausted from my travels, late into the night she took the time to hear exactly what I was looking for and did the best she could to accommodate me and the room given to me was excellent by the way. I really do appreciate Red Roof Inn hiring employees who show the kindness like that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Red Roof Inn in Knoxville was the very best hotel we stayed in during our trip cross country. The service was superb, the room, though small was lovely and modern. Lorraine simply gave the most caring, thoughtful and attentive service we could ever hope for. She and Red Roof Inn set the bar very high and we never had a room as nice nor service as good our entire trip. I would recommend it highly and look forward to being able to return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I almost hate to write this review. This place has been our standby for the last 10 yrs. if we didn't quite feel like driving all the way home when traveling to and from the beach. We won't stay here again. Good part: the price was reasonable for a simple place to stay and the front desk service was notable. Bad part: The first room assigned to us reeked of some type of animal urine and the carpet was filthy. The second room assigned to us smelled of heavy cigar smoke, almost nauseating (we don't smoke), they did try to cover it with some type of industrial odor control. The third room assigned to us was without urine, carpet was not dirty, but had some stains, and the room smelled clean. However, the bathroom light would not work and there was mildew in the corner of the tub. We were too tired to make another change. We settled for the room. On another note, this place should be called the Red "Pet" Inn. I can only speculate, but it seemed that over half the tenants had some form of animal. You could hardly walk to the ice machine or leave your room for that matter without a dog barking. It was actually somewhat comical, at one point the parking lot became the "pooping lot." I was not aware that all God's creatures expelled at the same time when staying at the Red Pet Inn. In my humble opinion this place has gone so far downhill over the last year that we have to take it off our list of places to stay on I-75. It has most literally gone to the dogs.

Room Tip: Apparently there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdgillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites West Knoxville
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Knoxville
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Knoxville/Cedar Bluff
18.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Knoxville - Cedar Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Address: 209 Advantage Pl, Knoxville, TN 37922-2336
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location for visiting Tennessee's attractions! 13 miles from the University of Tennessee, Red Roof Inn Knoxville University of Tennessee is just 1/2 mile from Park West Medical Center and a 10 minute drive to the Convention and Exhibitors Center. Oak Ridge and Chilhowie Park and Knoxville Zoo are all within 20 minutes of this hotel, while the fun of Dollywood and the beauty of the Smoky Mountains are just 45 minutes away. Conveniently located off of I-40/I-75, this 3-story Red Roof is located near numerous restaurants, shopping centers and a cinema. This Red Roof is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. Selected rooms offer microwave/microfridge units and an elevator. All rooms have free WiFi, a flat screen TV and an in-room safe. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service. In addition, we also have a conference room. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Knoxville West Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing