We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Highland Park, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Once again, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This Red Roof Inn property was sparkling clean and comfortable. The beds were great, the water pressure and ability to adjust the water temperature easily made the shower deliciously wonderful, and -- as always -- the price was so affordable. This was the first time I stayed at a Red Roof Inn that had three stories, so there was an elevator, which helped my friend a lot because she has back problems and cannot carry heavy bags up the stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Stanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the property and your room very clean. We take great pride in providing every guest with a clean, comfortable room at a great price. I will pass you kind review on to my staff and would like to sincerely thank you for staying with us. If you happen to be back in town we would love the opportunity to host your next visit. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    67
    36
    29
    22
See reviews for
67
55
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I had never stayed at a Red Roof Inn before, so I pulled into the parking lot at this motel, pulled out my phone, and made a reservation through Hotels.com at a rate that was 24% less than the offered rate on the lighted sign outside! The room was relatively clean, the bed comfortable, free wife, and there was a combination fridge/microwave. A variety of restaurants and a Kroger are not far, either. The only downside was the limited cable selection (about 20 channels). The room was quiet and I have no complaints. I would absolutely stay here again...just need to check their pet policy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you during your brief visit to Knoxville. Like you mentioned in your post we offer free WiFi in all rooms and irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and in-room coffee in our Superior King rooms. We do not charge for pets as we consider them part of the family. I will pass you kind comments on to the staff and would like to welcome you back if you find yourself in our area again. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I've stayed in worse. The room was actually not too bad. It was small but reasonably clean. The bad think was the outside. Steps were dirty and stained and there was one drink machine and ice maker for the entire facility. This would not have been too bad, but the drink machine was out of order. Not a bad place to stay if you are working and need cheap place to stay. I wouldn't recommend it for a family, however.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. While I am delighted to hear that your room was clean and that your accommodation was reasonable, I am disappointed to hear that the exterior needed to be touched up. I will work with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure that all exterior facilities are as clean as the rooms themselves. I have already been in contact with our vending provider and am happy to report that the vending machines are back in working order. Thank you once again for your feedback and I would like to welcome you back if you find yourself in the Knoxville area. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A clean room, plenty of hot water, very comfortable king size bed, and convenient location. The hotel is right off the interstate. Check in was quick and the room easy to find which was helpful after a very late arrival time. There are a number of restaurants, both fast food and casual dining very close by. Our rate was super affordable (non-game weekend) and easy to book online. The ladies who checked us out (Kathy and Kimberly, I think) the next morning were very friendly and helpful with my questions. We were able to get a head start to our weekend in Gatlinburg thanks to staying at this Red Roof Inn. My only cons: it was a bit noisy when people walked by outside and pulling their suitcases down the stairwell right next to our room. There isn't a hairdryer in the room (fyi ladies, bring your own) but this did not bother me. I would stay here again because it was clean, convenient, comfortable and friendly staff.

Room Tip: First floor room next to stairwell was noisy. Maybe a second floor room would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myp785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and I am delighted that Kathy and Timberly took such good care of you. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff and we would love the opportunity to accommodate you if you find yourself back in our area again. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We needed a pet friendly place to stop on our trip from CT to TX. It was reasonable, no charge for pets, and right off the highway.They have 24 hr coffee and tea in the lobby. Check-in was friendly and easy, wi-if was free and pets stayed free, no hassle. Ate at Dave's BarBQ which was in the same parking lot - decent food and didn't have to drive any farther. No hair dryer or breakfast but there's a Waffle House about a mile down the road to the left. All in all what we expected. Rooms and especially bathrooms are small, I'd probably upgrade to a super king next time, but beds were comfy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy that we had the opportunity to host you during your trip from CT to TX. As you mentioned in your review, we never charge for pets as we believe that pets are part of the family. While the standard rooms do not offer a hair dryer in the room we do have some available on request in the lobby which we will be happy to deliver to the room. Our Superior King rooms do, however, offer in-room hair dryers, irons and coffee makers. Thank you once again for your review and we would love the opportunity to host you next time you are in town. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Priced right, clean room, plenty of hot water. Best thing about this hotel is the staff! I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this staff is some of the best.

Also, they are pet friendly and do not charge extra for my four legged friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redamus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our pet policy. We never charge pet fees as we consider pets part of the family. I am also happy to hear that our staff provided you with great service. I will pass your kind comments on to them and from all of us at the Red Roof Inn a sincere thank you for staying with us. Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Nothing special about this place as it's a typical cheap room. Staff was very friendly but no hot water from sink and sink stopper was broken and laying on vanity counter. Lots of better choices right next door.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank garyDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoof168, Manager at Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about your stay. We pride ourselves in providing each guest with superior service and a comfortable clean room at a great price. I have reached our to our maintenance team and we have since corrected the issue with the sink stopper and hot water. If you find yourself back in our area we would love the opportunity to serve you better. Sincerely, Mitch Feghaly- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites West Knoxville
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Knoxville
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Knoxville/Cedar Bluff
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#45 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Knoxville - Cedar Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Address: 209 Advantage Pl, Knoxville, TN 37922-2336
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location for visiting Tennessee's attractions! 13 miles from the University of Tennessee, Red Roof Inn Knoxville University of Tennessee is just 1/2 mile from Park West Medical Center and a 10 minute drive to the Convention and Exhibitors Center. Oak Ridge and Chilhowie Park and Knoxville Zoo are all within 20 minutes of this hotel, while the fun of Dollywood and the beauty of the Smoky Mountains are just 45 minutes away. Conveniently located off of I-40/I-75, this 3-story Red Roof is located near numerous restaurants, shopping centers and a cinema. This Red Roof is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. Selected rooms offer microwave/microfridge units and an elevator. All rooms have free WiFi, a flat screen TV and an in-room safe. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service. In addition, we also have a conference room. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Knoxville West Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing