We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a great stay at The Oliver Hotel. Located in the center of downtown within walking distance to everything and right on Market Square. The rooms were very comfortable with very nice linens and towels. Free wireless. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Room was extremely nice as was the bathroom and amenities. Location was perfectly set on the small downtown area. Air conditioning system is extremely noisy and woke us up a few times during the night. Also, there was an event going on downstairs and as we exited the staircase the door was open to the bar area where the event was so we peeked in and at that moment, the door was basically slammed in our face by at event staff person. Would I stay here again.....probably not. But its all about the customer service for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Got the room on a whim while passing through. Decided on the Oliver per tripadvisor reviews. GREAT location! While a bit expensive, it did feel boutique-y. The renovations seemed done on the inside of the hotel at least. Clean, updated, better than your avg chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank militrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I were guests of The Oliver Hotel on April 21, 2012. First of all, I would like to note the incredible location of this hotel... Right in the heart of Market Square! When we arrived we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and felt right at home!

We were in town for my sister's bridal shower which was held in the Speakeasy (Library) of the hotel. Alex Gunderson was extremely helpful throughout the planning process, offering anything and everything she could to make the process fun and easy! When we arrived, the room was clean, perfectly lit and decorated beautifully! Alex was also present the day of the shower and was eager to lend a hand with the party preparation! She was extremely welcoming to our family and all our guests, and everyone commented on how lovely she was to work with! The room also features a hidden door, which Alex let us utilize to hide the bride's sister who came into town unexpectedly to surprise the bride!

All in all, this was the most special private party I have ever thrown, and I absolutely owe the party's success to The Oliver Hotel and Alex. I will DEFINITELY be using The Oliver Hotel for all my special events in the future, and you should too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Overall the newly renovated hotel is nice, clean and the staff is eager to help. At first arrival we had a hard time finding the door to enter the hotel and walked past it twice because of all the construction occuring around and to the outside of the hotels building. In fact this construction started up and was loud in the room on Saturday morning around 930, but we were already up.

The lobby and bar slash library is very nice and up scale. The hotel only has 3 floors and the 100 year old elevator operates on 1800 times, not 2012 so be patient.

The room we stayed in was super small and we found ourselves bumping into each other often but the room was clean and nice with just a few issues as follows:

Safe didnt work and the staff could not get it to work even after a 10 minute attempt
Hotel offers shoe cleaning service for free but that never happened despite my request
Ironing board needs a new cover badly
Lighting in bathroom is not very bright
Ac unit is loud
No block out curtains, just wood shutters that let some light through in AM, not terrible
Ac heat required a room key to stay inserted to function (so request a key just for that)

Things I like

Room cleaing is done later in the afternoons. They also keep ice in your room
Nice big tv that I never turned on
Nice radio w iphone doc
Nice coffee maker
Nice mirror in bathroom. Swivels and magnifies
Nice bathroom ( clean w new tile and fixtures)
Bed was nice
Parking acrss street in garage was free over the weekend

Would I stay again? Probably so...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTopherTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Oliver Hotel is in the very best location in downtown Knoxville, right on Market Square and steps to Gay St.

The staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

The rooms were large and had fantastic furniture and accessories. Only thing we noticed was that there needed to be some fresh paint instead of minor touch ups, and some of the woodwork was dinged or chipped--in the rooms and throughout the halls.

There was construction going on outside the entrance, but it did not interfere with our sleep or time there. The hotel is not on a busy street, so it is easy to work around the construction. Also, there is no parking, but there are nearby lots and garages. Quite frankly, we never even used our car while there, because the hotel is within easy walking distance of all downtown Knoxville has to offer.

A great place to stay--we'll stay there again next time!

Room Tip: Some rooms face Market Square, so you get some noise from pedestrians at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpoll6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I ended up at The Oliver after not being able to find a hotel room along the interstate at 3am. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly. When we spoke on the phone, she gave us specific directions on where to park the car. Our room was very clean and modern. Even though it's a very old building with lots of history, they have done a fantastic job at renovating the rooms. Very eco-friendly as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirpeternincompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#1 of 87 in Knoxville
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Knoxville/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £139 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing