We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Oliver Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Oliver Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

An awesome, cool place to stay within walking distance to nice shops and restaurants. A five star hotel..I stayed there to celebrate my anniversary and wanted somewhere unique and not the normal holiday inn and I found that at The Oliver. Great place and I cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
70
197
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our stay at The Oliver Hotel was pleasant in every way. The restored, historic building is beautiful. The staff was warm, welcoming and very helpful. The location is convenient and fun, directly on Market Square. We were upgraded to a lovely suite that made us feel like had stepped back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. Certainly The Oliver Hotel will be our first choice on all future visits to Knoxville.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room off of Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLove2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I used to stay at the Crowne Plaza when I traveled to Knoxville on business but a couple of years ago I discovered the Oliver and have been staying there ever since. It feels very much like NYC boutique style hotel with comfortable beds and nice amenities. It is right around the corner for the college and near a great diner (which the name escapes me). I would recommend this hotel in heartbeat. Great for travelers or if you are in town for a UT game.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikepoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wow! This place is amazing! There's so much I loved about it, I dont even know where to start!
Well the front desk people are wonderful, cheerful, & helpful. (example, we were headed out to dinner & they offered us an umbrella in case it rained,- who does that anymore??) Oh and this hotel has complimentary bikes to cruise around downtown knox on! Complimentary coffee is always ready downstairs with apples as well.
Now the room.....Amazing! ask for room 212 because it is Beautiful!
It has a cute, comfy living room & desk & wet bar area with windows overlooking market square.
The bedroom was wonderful! It has a Huge Chandelier, I swear its 6 foot by 6 foot! The windows must be 10 feet tall & there are 4 of them overlooking the Market square! There was a big king size, fluffy bed with a tufted headboard & 2 bedside tables with alarm clock/radio.
The view from bed is amazing! There is an amoire to hang all your clothes in that includes an iron, ironing board and suitcase stand.
The bathroom had Gilchrist & soames products in the shower and bath salt by the huge tub if you wanted a nice soak. I loved all the details, including the inlayed hotel Monogrammed tiles in the bathroom. The robes were a nice touch as well.
Housekeeping was friendly & helpful, she even refilled my ice bucket and offered to fold out the sofe bed, if needed.
This hotel has a swanky little bar that you would never know is there on the 1st floor, I thinks its called the Library and they have hand crafted drinks & a fireplace. Its Soooo relaxing & quiet.
Honestly, I didnt want to leave this hotel for anything. But just around the corner Market Square offers coffee shops, restaurants, shops & roof top bars!
Thanks Hotel Oliver, you gave me a perfect 2 night stay!
I couldnt have asked for more

Room Tip: pick 212! amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nallyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel emits rays of luxury. The rooms are clean and comfy. They are anything but cookie cutter and transmit feelings of pleasure. The big bed made things a little cramped and a noisy wedding party showed the age of the thinner walls. The hotel makes up for it Ina comfy bed that blocks out all the noise as you drift to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlsmathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Oliver has it right: comfort, more than ample room, quality amenities and especially service. Did I say it was in the center of Market Square so there's no parking problems for you, just call the valet service 10' before you want your car. Fine dining and multiple dining and theatre venues are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

What better location in Knoxville than to be right on Market Square!!!!! Loved the hotel. Clean, spacious, everyone very personable and the location was great! The best part was 'The Library'. Wow - what a fun place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armadill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#21 of 86 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#20 of 86 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp and Ebookers so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing