We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historical hotel with a friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Beautiful historical hotel with a friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! The location is very convenient to restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite spacious. I love that the shutters open and close for more or less privacy and security.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
204
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the Oliver with my girlfriends for my 30 year high school reunion. We had an amazing time at the Oliver. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. The staff was a delight and the location was amazing right on Market square. The hotel has a speak easy and adjoins one of the best breakfast/lunch spots I have been to. Saturday morning was the Farmer's Market on the square which was wonderful. I have not had such an enjoyable stay at such a quaint hotel in years. You guys have gotten it right!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reunion83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I came here for our anniversary trip. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel lobby is steps away from several restaurants and shops on Market Square. The room was clean and much larger than we thought it would be because we got an upgrade. Bathrooms were updated and very nice. The view from our window was the air conditioning unit on the roof which was not great to look at but I can't really complain because it is a smaller hotel in the middle of a city. The "speakeasy" bar downstairs was very unique and fun too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
749 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have stayed in Knoxville several times over the years, but clearly missed everything the downtown offers. Great location on Market Square - I walked to dinner, shopping, got a run in the morning and stopped for fresh muffin and chai tea on my way out.

Hotel was stylish, clean and room was well appointed. Rooms were smaller, but updated modern, bathrooms made it well worth it. The views are depressing since you are downtown, primarily roof tops and ac units. Hotel was close to campus, on a nice day I'm sure you could walk to games, etc. Great access also to theatre.

Beds were VERY FIRM, not what I am typically used to, but was able to cool the room off enough to get some decent sleep. I did have a fridge and safe in my room.

PARKING TIP: Valet was $15/night, but I chose to self park in garage on same block and it was $4 for overnight parking. (Hotel told me $7) You can unload in front of hotel if you can find a spot then move your car. Street parking is free after 6pm during the week downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Drove into the city for an unplanned stop and was so glad we did the search for highly rated hotels. What this place has going for it is location. That and a clean, nicely appointed room and friendly staff. Is right off a city center courtyard plaza area complete with pop fountains for kids, restaurants for everyone (with outdoor seating), trees, and benches.

And for the record I am not an employee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMR-Pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Hills, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Overall, my wife and I loved the Oliver experience.

My only complaint is the choice of music, selected by the young lady tending the bar in the Library. It was blaring in the Library. It was a very poor selection for the guests that were trying to enjoy the atmosphere. It was loud and obscene with a large dose of profanities. That certainly destroyed the dignity that the Library deserves. I realize that Knoxville is a college town and that the music listened to today is preferred by the younger generation, but there is a time and place to respect the environment that is being shared with others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engineer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a find--this is one of the nicest hotels anywhere, not just in TN. The rooms are beautiful, we walked in and there was ice in the ice bucket and music playing on the in-room stereo. Do not miss the Library, a great spot for a drink. Jessica's cocktails are amazing! It is close to some great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: no breakfast, but there are a few small coffee/breakfast places within one block, and Tupelo Honey h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim and Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing