We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and historic hotel with comfortable rooms in the heart of downtown.”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I loved The Oliver. Beyond the historic building, it has a lively speakeasy bar, a delicious cafe, and modern rooms that are amazingly quiet considering its downtown location. The beds are comfortable; the staff helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at the Oliver while on business in May. I wish that I had stayed here during all of my trips to Knoxville. The staff are very helpful & friendly & the rooms are beautiful & spacious. I had a suite that could easily accommodate two adults/two children if needed. The bed was very comfortable & the room was clean. The room service is provided by Tupelo Honey Café which is fabulous! If you are going to Knoxville, book early as this is a smaller boutique hotel & so worth adding into your trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootlepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Knoxville was a halfway point for a weekend visit with an old friend so we booked The Oliver and hoped for the best. Wow! we were delighted, even more so because we were able to park our cars on Friday afternoon and leave them until Sunday. The room was great, the staff friendly and the location perfect! Friday night we enjoyed fun and music on Market Square and Saturday it was filled with a fabulous farmer's market until 2:00 PM. The square is ringed with small shops, restaurants and bars and one street away is a movie theater. The hotel staff gave us a great restaurant suggestion. We're planning to make this an annual event, thanks to the Oliver!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at the Oliver on two separate occasions as a solo traveler. It's located in a charming, old part of Knoxville with plenty of restaurants, shops and bars around. The decor is tasteful and both my rooms were spacious. Staff was attentive. I had trouble with the AC in my room during my second visit and someone came up right away to help. He quickly transferred me to another room when the problem couldn't be fixed. The hotel's bar is a trendy hangout with terrific cocktails. If you like boutique hotels this is the place to stay in Knoxville.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the neighboring roof. Ugly view and noisy, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! The location is very convenient to restaurants and shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite spacious. I love that the shutters open and close for more or less privacy and security.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the Oliver with my girlfriends for my 30 year high school reunion. We had an amazing time at the Oliver. Very comfortable and quiet rooms. The staff was a delight and the location was amazing right on Market square. The hotel has a speak easy and adjoins one of the best breakfast/lunch spots I have been to. Saturday morning was the Farmer's Market on the square which was wonderful. I have not had such an enjoyable stay at such a quaint hotel in years. You guys have gotten it right!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reunion83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I came here for our anniversary trip. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel lobby is steps away from several restaurants and shops on Market Square. The room was clean and much larger than we thought it would be because we got an upgrade. Bathrooms were updated and very nice. The view from our window was the air conditioning unit on the roof which was not great to look at but I can't really complain because it is a smaller hotel in the middle of a city. The "speakeasy" bar downstairs was very unique and fun too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#1 of 87 in Knoxville
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £140 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing