We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated AND friendly”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sophisticated AND friendly”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a great hotel. The quality is far higher than your average 'boutique' hotel. Knoxville is lucky to have a hotel of this quality and charm in the centre of town. The staff on the front desk were absolutely wonderful and fun to talk to. The room was spacious and classily furnished and decorated and the shower was about the best we encountered on a two-week trip through Tennessee and Mississippi. I'm not sure I'll ever find myself in Knoxville again but if I did I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. The cocktail bar was a really quirky touch - and a lovely intimate setting for an aperitif or nightcap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    104
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
74
209
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting friends in Knoxville. The hotel was recently renovated and has a cool boutique vibe. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed. If you like midcentury style, you will like the decor.
The bar in the lobby is great - excellent craft cocktails. They don't make them cheaply or quickly, but it is not the kind of place you want to rush away from anyway.
We had brunch at Tupelo Honey (in the back of the hotel). The original Asheville location is better, but for Knoxville, this is a pretty nice spot. I recommend the sweet potato pancakes).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNPhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Everything was perfect. Front desk were very friendly and helpful. I loved the room and its convenient to be able to walk to so many fun places. Very cool bar area....nice place to hang out.
I have stayed here a few times and I will continue to stay here every chance I can

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with a perfect location. The decor is very charming, and the staff is warm and welcoming. Nothing was a bother. I stayed in a king suite and it was gigantic. The room is a little dark-- my windows did not provide much natural light. But overall it wasn't a huge deal since the overall room and hotel experience was so nice. Love the bathroom products, too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location, service, rooms, lobby...this is the place to stay in Knoxville! Came for the location (one block off Market square). Will be back for the service. Cool decor (check out the library/lounge), also, and good sized rooms. Didn't get to check out the restaurant, although I did look at the cookbook (award winning).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Oliver made my wedding weekend! It was a great way to show off Knoxville to out of town guests. It couldn't have been better!! Will definitely stay again!! Such a unique hotel and the atmosphere of Market Square is great. We were able to walk to local resturants and bars, and the hotel staff was extrememly accomodating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbyrd312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We felt like we were the priority guests in the entire hotel. VIP service all the way and the rooms were spot on. We were part of a wedding party, all from out of town and there was no better way for us to feel special then to get the first class service we did at the Oliver. If you want to show your out of town guest how much you appriciate them traveling all that way to see you, have them stay at the Oliver.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face Market Square IF you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 86 in Knoxville
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#20 of 86 in Knoxville
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing