We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel near fun, modern downtown Knoxville Market Square”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 2013. I spend most of my weekend visits marveling at the similarities between this terrific place and upscale boutique hotels in NYC and DC! Décor is elegant but extremely warm and comfortable--which is sometimes a difficult combination to achieve. Service from valet parking throughout check in and housekeeping is extremely professional AND sincerely considerate--another nice combo--and Market Square is a destination well worth the trip: great food, boutique shops and Mast General Store just steps from your peaceful, luxurious hotel room. What an oasis! Highly recommend! Plus Tupelo Honey Café room service! Yum!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diner256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a great hotel. The quality is far higher than your average 'boutique' hotel. Knoxville is lucky to have a hotel of this quality and charm in the centre of town. The staff on the front desk were absolutely wonderful and fun to talk to. The room was spacious and classily furnished and decorated and the shower was about the best we encountered on a two-week trip through Tennessee and Mississippi. I'm not sure I'll ever find myself in Knoxville again but if I did I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. The cocktail bar was a really quirky touch - and a lovely intimate setting for an aperitif or nightcap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting friends in Knoxville. The hotel was recently renovated and has a cool boutique vibe. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed. If you like midcentury style, you will like the decor.
The bar in the lobby is great - excellent craft cocktails. They don't make them cheaply or quickly, but it is not the kind of place you want to rush away from anyway.
We had brunch at Tupelo Honey (in the back of the hotel). The original Asheville location is better, but for Knoxville, this is a pretty nice spot. I recommend the sweet potato pancakes).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNPhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Everything was perfect. Front desk were very friendly and helpful. I loved the room and its convenient to be able to walk to so many fun places. Very cool bar area....nice place to hang out.
I have stayed here a few times and I will continue to stay here every chance I can

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopeS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with a perfect location. The decor is very charming, and the staff is warm and welcoming. Nothing was a bother. I stayed in a king suite and it was gigantic. The room is a little dark-- my windows did not provide much natural light. But overall it wasn't a huge deal since the overall room and hotel experience was so nice. Love the bathroom products, too.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location, service, rooms, lobby...this is the place to stay in Knoxville! Came for the location (one block off Market square). Will be back for the service. Cool decor (check out the library/lounge), also, and good sized rooms. Didn't get to check out the restaurant, although I did look at the cookbook (award winning).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Oliver made my wedding weekend! It was a great way to show off Knoxville to out of town guests. It couldn't have been better!! Will definitely stay again!! Such a unique hotel and the atmosphere of Market Square is great. We were able to walk to local resturants and bars, and the hotel staff was extrememly accomodating!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbyrd312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#19 of 87 in Knoxville
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#7 of 87 in Knoxville
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: £140 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing