We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel stay was exactly what we were looking for - from check-in to check-out, it could not have been better. There was even a bowl of apples in the hallway to our room if a guest needs a quick snack. And do not miss the Tupelop Honey Cafe for a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco082307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
204
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in the market suite for a birthday celebration night. What an awesome experience! The room is enormous. Bathroom awesome and plenty of room for group of girls to get ready for a concert and birthday party. The rooms are gorgeous. Beautiful furniture. Great view of market square. Great location for all of your downtown fun. It was awesome

Room Tip: Go with a suite overlooking market square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nestingdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I didn't stay here but I went to this little hidden bar inside the Oliver. This place makes the best drinks! Has that speak-easy feel to it, and the drink menus are hidden inside encyclopedias as to preserve that prohibition feel to the place. Great music too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob91465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 2013. I spend most of my weekend visits marveling at the similarities between this terrific place and upscale boutique hotels in NYC and DC! Décor is elegant but extremely warm and comfortable--which is sometimes a difficult combination to achieve. Service from valet parking throughout check in and housekeeping is extremely professional AND sincerely considerate--another nice combo--and Market Square is a destination well worth the trip: great food, boutique shops and Mast General Store just steps from your peaceful, luxurious hotel room. What an oasis! Highly recommend! Plus Tupelo Honey Café room service! Yum!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diner256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a great hotel. The quality is far higher than your average 'boutique' hotel. Knoxville is lucky to have a hotel of this quality and charm in the centre of town. The staff on the front desk were absolutely wonderful and fun to talk to. The room was spacious and classily furnished and decorated and the shower was about the best we encountered on a two-week trip through Tennessee and Mississippi. I'm not sure I'll ever find myself in Knoxville again but if I did I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else. The cocktail bar was a really quirky touch - and a lovely intimate setting for an aperitif or nightcap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting friends in Knoxville. The hotel was recently renovated and has a cool boutique vibe. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed. If you like midcentury style, you will like the decor.
The bar in the lobby is great - excellent craft cocktails. They don't make them cheaply or quickly, but it is not the kind of place you want to rush away from anyway.
We had brunch at Tupelo Honey (in the back of the hotel). The original Asheville location is better, but for Knoxville, this is a pretty nice spot. I recommend the sweet potato pancakes).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNPhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Everything was perfect. Front desk were very friendly and helpful. I loved the room and its convenient to be able to walk to so many fun places. Very cool bar area....nice place to hang out.
I have stayed here a few times and I will continue to stay here every chance I can

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing