We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oliver Hotel”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oliver Hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel, located in the ideal spot in downtown Knoxville is fantastic. I travel an immense amount for my work and have rarely come across a more generous and helpful staff and gorgeous rooms. Be on the lookout for AJ at the front desk as he is an angel although he hides his wings pretty well so it's hard to tell sometimes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_NYC_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    104
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
205
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is a lovely boutique feeling hotel. The lobby is not impressive but the hotel definitely is. The room was large, spacious, lots of amenities, great bathroom, closet and internet access, and quiet. Very conveniently located. The staff at the desk was gracious, helpful and fun. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First time stay at the O and it was very nice. Large room with a king bed. Mattress firm and comfy. Having Tupelo Honey next door is a plus.Don't forget to visit the library for a cocktail and the Casual Pint for a beer. No food at the CP, but you bring in food from the several restaurants on Market Square. Would consider going back at the right price.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of available upgrades. Rooms on the square avoid some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Like a small European hotel, in Knoxville! We seek out the unique historic hotels with special character. From the hidden speakeasy library to the convenience of a locally popular restaurant connected to the lobby, not to mention the comfy beds and nicely appointed rooms and bathroom we occupied, this one fits the bill as well as any we have found worldwide.

Room Tip: Our King Suite on the third floor was awesome and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Oliver this weekend while in town for a wedding, and were beyond impressed. The building and decor is fantastic, though we especially enjoyed the library bar area. Most of all, however, we enjoyed the fantastic and accommodating staff (ask for AJ)!!! We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else, and highly recommend checking it out if you're plans lead you to Knoxville.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The staff was great and the location super. Everything on Market Square and downtown is all right there. Tons of restaurants, bars, and shops at your disposal. We had a King Suite and it was good sized, the bed slept well, and it was clean. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcan, Panama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Nice refurbished old hotel in downtown Knoxville. The parking was around the block in a municipal lot not free but not NYC pricing.The room and bed were very comfortable with views onto the pedestrian mall. Some odd floor level alignment issues but it is an old hotel.
The bathroom was very tight and had a large exposed sliding door. The oddest thing I have ever seen was, given the very limited size of the bathroom, who in their designing right mind would put a full length mirror on the inside of the door so that it aligned perfectly with the toilet when the door was closed?? Get the picture?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing