We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome little secret!! Only four star in Knox!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome little secret!! Only four star in Knox!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am so selective and extremely particular about hotels! I travel a great deal!

Knoxville has nothing that is not chain, tired or little over average at best! Or so I thought!

The OLIVER under Michael, the young man running this wonderful hotel has shown me, there is a classy boutique hotel in Knox, that reminds me of a some great Kimpton properties! Unique in its own right and Michael, the hotel manager shared the history with me. How many managers care to Share so much history with their guests?

He gets it, the ownership must get it and the staff follow with charm and exceptional service!

I love David, Yaz, Dino and AJ, yes, you get to know the exceptional staff immediately , you have no choice! They greet you when you arrive and leave and ask if your needs are met in a round about perfect way!

They take such expert care of you and ask you if there is anything you might need or desire while you stay here! Housekeepers jump to attend to you, everything is pretty seamless!


The rooms are so well appointed, great sheets and amenities!

Michael is a real asset! Great hotel manager that gets the special touches. The bourbon bar, the great coffee , the real glasses, I am all about green and this hotel exceeded my expectations, no plastic ok, D all the above

Thank you for the wonderful stay! Great business, great pleasure hotel! Great experience!
Thank you all!

PE I love the ice cubes and art!

You do it all up right! Give Michael a raise, he deserves it!

Room Tip: They seem to know where to place you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnynlajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
205
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is beautifully decorated, clean and quiet. Is very quaint, comfortable and has excellent staff. It was so convenient staying there for shopping and eating in Market Square, and all of the downtown area. Will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: We had a king suite that was very roomy for different family members visiting while we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Quirky, stylish, located next to Market Square where music and voices last until 11:00pm or later, and trash trucks start beeping and banging at 4:00 am. Don't stay here if sleep is a priority. Thinning washcloths feel like paper towells. Speaking of towells, the raggedy edges should have consigned these to the rag bag. You think the refillable shower gel, shampoo and conditioner mounted in the wall are a good idea until you get in, get wet, and realize they are empty so you have to get out and get the little sample bottles off the vanity. Remote control needs a new battery so it will actually work from the couch. Coffee is good.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from Market Square as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 310CAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our one night stay here. Small boutique hotel in a great location. Our room was on the small side, but nicely appointed. Just steps to the square, shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Knoxville.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel has everything going for it!
It's in a Great Location right off of Market Square: with it's cute shops and trendy restaurants, a picturesque park just a few steps away, a large bookstore, a pet boutique, coffee house, etc. The rooms are lovely: beautifully decorated and very comfy beds. The speakeasy bar serves great drinks in a fun atmosphere: try the Moscow Mule in the trademark copper mug. They even have bowls of fruit on each floor, and complimentary morning coffee in the lobby. The restaurant, Tupelo Honey, is just off the lobby. I tried them for breakfast-- delish!
But, if I were to say one thing about this hotel-- the thing that truly sets them apart from any other great hotel -- it's their service. Everyone associated with the hotel was friendly, courteous, and happy to help. Two people truly stood out and I want to mention them: A.J. at the front desk was so friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, and met every request. We were quite tired from a long drive and Deano was there to help us with our bags and get us settled in our room.
Thank you to everyone at The Oliver-- we'll be back!

Room Tip: This hotel is in a popular city area. So, you may hear some noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexslz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What an awesome place! I was steered toward The Oliver by a local when I was in at UT-Knoxville for an executive course last fall. I was not disappointed! From the moment I arrived, it exceeded expectations. Clean, trendy, well-decorated, character, well-appointed rooms, perfect location, even the morning coffee in the lobby was outstanding (I may have had sugarcubes for breakfast one day... don't judge). The rates weren't prohibitlvely expenisive for a trendy boutique hotel. I wasn't able to take advantage of the bikes available for guest use, but I thought this was a nice touch.

I was assisted in the reservation process by AJ, who just knocked it out of the park. Despite a busy weekend for "Biscuitfest", he was able to accomodate my reservation. AJ was also the staff member I was in contact with most througout my stay. He was a wealth of knowledge on local eateries (Knox Mason, Cru, Jig and Reel - awesome), attractions, live music (Preservation Pub), and watering holes (my favorite was the Peter Kerns Library - a 'speakeasy' co-located with the hotel... get a Moscow Mule!).

If I had to sum up the staff, I'd say they were professional, ultra-friendly, and genuine. I didn't get a sense of the fake hospitality one gets from national brand hotels. I am a frequent visitor to Tennessee and will make The Oliver my "home away from home" if my itinerary permits.

Only negative... the HVAC unit made some loud sounds (a loose grate or something). I was able to MacGyver it to stop making the noise. Not a big deal.

Of note, I used Knoxville as a staging location for some Appalachian Trail climbing/hiking... about an hour drive to/from my trailhead. Totally worth it. I drove through Gatlinburg and would gladly endure the hour drive to stay in Knoxville anyday.

This place is definitely worth a visit! I will be back (hopefully many times)!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I found this boutique hotel to be extremely convenient for a recent overnight stay. Located on Market Square, it was pleasant to enjoy a stroll before dinner. The Tupelo Honey cafe is actually located in the same historic building and was a great choice for dinner. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The king suite was large for an older hotel and has been nicely updated. The bathroom was very clean with double sinks. One note--watch your fingers on the pocket door to the bathroom, ouch! Our room was on the second floor on the street, two doors down from a pub with a loud clientele. If you are a light sleeper, you should ask for an interior room.

Room Tip: Street side room on second floor was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing