We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service at this Knoxville gem”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service at this Knoxville gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We regularly stay at the Oliver when we visit our daughter and the service has been exceptional every time. From the front desk staff to the bartenders at the incredible Peter Kern Library bar, the entire Oliver team has bent over backwards to take great care of us. Rooms are lovely and comfortable, and the bathrooms can't be beat. Location is fantastic, too. I travel a lot and have been lucky enough to stay at places such as The Four Seasons, Sofitel, Berkshire, etc. - but the tiny Oliver more than matches the caliber of service delivered at these luxury/high-end properties. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    105
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
76
213
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I spent the night here on a drive from Georgia to Indianapolis and loved it. It was right by Market Square and lots of hip-looking boutiques and restaurants. We only wished we'd had more time to explore the area. We did get to try the Tupelo Honey Cafe (very good--husband went back for breakfast the next morning while I slept in because the bed was so comfortable) and the Library Bar, which has high end cocktails with fun literary names.

The staff was extremely attentive and on-top of things. My husband was on crutches at the time and they made him feel very taken care of.

The only thing that can be a bit confusing is the parking. The hotel has arrangements with a local parking garage about a block away for very affordable prices but being new to the area I did experience some anxiety trying to make sure that I was in the *right* garage--a challenge compounded by the fact that the garage is not staffed and does not distribute tickets after 6pm. Apparently it was just me being a Yankee though because the next morning I told the attendant what hotel I was with and that I hadn't received a ticket and it was no problem. I think it only cost about $6.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug71209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This a great small hotel, about 30 rooms located right in the market district of Knoxville. The staff here were fantastic and you felt like their number one concern. If you get the chance book one of the King Suites as its worth the few extra dollars. The Tupelo Honey Cafe is next door for the southern breakfast that you can experience

Room Tip: king suite is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just completed an overnight stay at the Oliver. It's a small hotel tucked into a side street, just a few steps from Market Square. The location is great for walking to downtown destinations - the Tennessee Theater, Mast General Store, free performances on the Square....it's located behind the Tupelo Honey Cafe. THC will provide room service at the usual mark up.

The convenient downtown location near a popular square means that it's not especially quiet. And the Oliver is in no way sound proofed. So we were awakened in the wee morning several times by drunken revellers walking along the street the hotel faces. Our request for a quiet room when making the reservation netted us a third floor room, but no promises of quiet. Sound is just a part of city life....

Our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the AC worked. We had night stands with matching lamps, despite the fact that one lamp can't be plugged in and therefore is just for appearances sake. The decor is simple and quite well suited to the ambience of the hotel.

The Library speakeasy bar is tiny - about the size of our room. It was filled to capacity for our Thursday night visit. (The bouncers were actually counting capacity before they'd let people in.) Hotel guests are, however, given access through a 'secret' door. The noise level was quite loud.

btw, we made use of the valet parking; it made thing so much easier.

I'm glad we tried the Oliver, but I do wish we'd been able to get a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artandmusictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed 1 night in the Oliver Hotel. Was assigned an inside room (Room 207) that overlooked the roof of the floor below. I believe all odd numbered rooms over look this roof! Placed on that roof were 3 exhaust fans for the business below (restaurant) and 21+ stand alone air conditioner condensers. Being a hot summer night you can imagine the noise from all these units...just outside our window. Slept with a pillow over my head and had a sleepless night A coating of dust blanketed the molding in the room (chair rails), on the night stand, night stand clock and fixtures in the room. On a positive side the bed linens were above average. Hotel is over rated and I am surprised that Southern Magazine includes this hotel in their collection of hotels. The even numbered rooms that are away from this inside roof most likely would be quiet rooms. Restaurant "Tupelo Honey" was great for dinner.

Room Tip: Do not accept an odd number room assignment as it overlooks a roof with exhaust fans and air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at The Oliver for business travel and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hotel is very well done and the staff was highly friendly. The room was very clean and the hotel was next to a great selection of restaurants. I counted off a star for a noisy AC unit, but given the age of the hotel I'm not sure that could be avoided. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the ally, it can get a little noisy with people passing through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not a chain hotel, so if looking for cookie cutter this is not it. Arrived and bell boy unloaded our car while we checked in at the front desk. Entrance is just off Market Square although a lot of the rooms face Market Square. Hotel is renovated old building of which they kept just enough of the early 1900's look with updated bathrooms, bedding, etc. Wifi is available. Our room was a King with separate stand up shower and tub, with separate sitting area and bedroom. Service was great and prompt, rooms were very clean and location can't be beat as there are breakfast, lunch and dinner locations in abundance near the hotel on Market Square. We very much enjoyed our stay and will return when we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumberking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 86 in Knoxville
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#15 of 86 in Knoxville
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing