We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised and happy I decided to break from my usual chain hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised and happy I decided to break from my usual chain hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great boutique hotel, awesome caring staff in the perfect location. The staff remembered my name the entire stay and always asked if I needed anything. They made me feel like I was a regular when it was my first stay there! As a business traveler, it actually means a lot to stay somewhere that isn't cookie cutter. It's an old boutique hotel with its quirks but that's what makes it unique. There is also a cool speakeasy behind a sliding door in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
202
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having lived in Knoxville my entire life I've had little reason to pay much attention to the Oliver. I had always glanced through the immense glass door to the hotel and wondered what the inside was like. Being someone who loves historical buildings and needing a romantic getaway, I booked a room and I am so happy I did. Everything about the place is just charming. The room was very quaint, cozy and clean. I found the bathroom to be both beautiful and functional and the hotel bar, The Peter Kern Library, may just one of Knoxville's best kept little secrets. Being on Market Square the hotel is convenient to entertainment and dining and is absolutely perfect for couples and friends needing a fun change of place. Overall, what a wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Oliver is a charming boutique hotel with an amazing staff who does all they can to make your stay special. It is a great location for walking on Market Square and visiting the restaurants,museums and other Knoxville sights. Our double room was large and nicely furnished, though the furniture is starting to wear a bit. After we unpacked we realized that we had a shower for the disabled with a shower head that was difficult to adjust; we didn't ask for a change because we had already settled in. The Kern library/bar has comfy sofas; drink lists are bound in old copies of the World Book encyclopedia. Our room was supposed to be quiet but it was right on Market Square, which often has outdoor music at night; we heard other music but couldn't figure out where it came from. . Every room probably hears the noise. All in all I would recommend the Oliver as a charming boutique hotel, as long as you don't mind being "entertained" by the music.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from Market Square as possible (not sure it will make a difference, though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at the Oliver in May 2014. This is a quite stylish hotel with some unique, if not quirky, features. The location is excellent, being in a nice part of downtown Knoxville. However, our room was not large, and had no place to open a suitcase, except by lying it on the King bed or across the only chair in the room--not good. A lamp on the desk was not plugged in as its cord could not reach any functioning outlet. Bathroom was small but well appointed. Bar in the hotel was pretty unique and the cocktail menu was fun. Overall, 3.5 stars--just make sure you get a decent sized room or otherwise be unable to move about your room.

Room Tip: Make sure room is large enough to open your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairBalanced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

After checking into another hotel in Knoxville where my stay was less than desirable, I called the Oliver to see if they could accommodate my daughter and me. They were so helpful and said they could have my room ready as soon as I was ready. Since we were already for bed in the other hotel, I told them we would be there the following morning. At 8:00 a.m. they had our room ready!

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and beautiful. The Tupelo Honey Cafe was delicious! And be sure to check out the Oliver's cool bar. Gorgeous!

I love a boutique hotel and can't wait to bring my husband for a quick weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

AJ and Kevin were great hosts. The service and hotel were way above our expectations. The Oliver has been updated in all the right areas while leaving in tact the charm of an old hotel. conveniently located right down town within walking distance of amazing clubs and restaurants. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrown45690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent hotel at a great value. The entire downtown experience was great. We had an amazing dinner, caught a show and woke up the next morning to take in the farmer's market. For anyone who hasn't been to downtown Knoxville, I suggest you give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennischad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing