We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!!”

Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kodak
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I got this room via hotwire (HOTWIRE REFUNDED MY MONEY) and it was listed in the same group as Holiday Inn Express and Country Inn Suites. When I pulled up to the place I was extremely worried because of the POOR lighting and the overall shady look of the place. I decided to go check out the room since I had gotten the room via hotwire and I assumed that it was non-refundable.

When I walked into the room my first thought was "wonder how many times this room has been used for a meth lab?". There is no way that the room had been updated in over 25yrs. The walls had faux wood paneling (circa 1960's-70's). The mirror had some hardened gray subtance splattered all over it, and the 2 chairs looked as if they were pre-1980 as well. The fridgerator was fairly new since it had a stainless steel look.

I immediately went to the front desk (which is in the Quality Inn located in front of the Bear Extended stay) and informed them that I had been mislead by the star-rating on hotwire.com (2.5 stars). I had my family with me and I wouldn't feel safe staying there. The front desk disagreed with my assesment of the situation and informed me to contact hotwire if I wanted a refund. So I took my family and we drove home (2hr drive) and drove back the next day to continue our vacation.

WARNING- The pic on this site of the kitchen is not the kitchen in this motel.

I am very suspicious of the positive reviews, I would assume that they are associated with the motel.

Also, I have used hotwire.com's bidding process many times and their star-ratings have always been very accurate. Hotwire refunded my money after me explaining the situation and verifying with the hotel my check-in/check-out times. So Hotwire is still awesome in my book, I just wish I had called them right then instead of waiting until I drove home (I had 2 sleeping kids and was frustrated).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3rdDiazBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kodakbear, General Manager at Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will use them to improve our accommodations so that all of our guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Big Bear is behind a Quality Inn with same management and you check in with Quality Inn personnel. We were given keys and upon driving back commented it looked as if the Big Bear was closed. There were two cars in the parking lot. The windows in most of the rooms were dirty and looked as if the unit was closed. We opened our room door to find the room was musty, stuffy and the air conditioning was not on. My wife did not feel comfortable and pulled the blanket and sheet back to expose silverfish. We called the clerk at the Quality Inn and he offered to give us another room. We called our booking agent and left immediately.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and I visit the East Tennessee area several times a year and have found the main parkway area just to congested anymore. The location of Big Bear is easy to get to and out of the congestion. We found the close proximity to I-40 to be an advantage as we did travel into Knoxville and the Tri-Cities area. Plus, the location is still very near all the Smoky Mountain area has to offer without feeling your staying in gridlock. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and you will be amazed at the weekly rate. We will be staying again in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livelaughlovegive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Great place to stay! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The highlight of the day is going down for breakfast. Loved the waffles, and all of the wonderful choices we had for breakfast. The free internet made it easy to keep up with my e-mail. The room was nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing weekend. It was like being at home. Will be visiting again when it gets warmer.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuggyGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We have stayed at Big Bear several times and the service has been outstanding from checkin to checkout.. Ask any of the housekeepers for something and you will have it within minutes. Helpful Breakfast Room staff even started my waffles one stay. Always helpful with directions and always very polite and respectful. Everyone has made us feel very much at home like we are one of them instead of tourists. The rooms have always been very clean and have a hairdryer, iron, microwave, and refrigerator. Also, if you forget, shampoo and rinse is provided also. You can also ask the front desk if you forget your toothbrush and one will be provided. The location is fantastic--close to Interstate 40 to go to Knoxville or to Biltmore in NC and Highway 66 to head into Sevierville, Pigeon Forge, or Gatlinburg. The thing I liked the least was that we have never had the time to relax in the "rockers" outside in the circle to watch the beautiful scenery. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we have. Chuck & Karen Youngman from Indiana

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodak hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Kodak
Comfort Suites Kodak
#6 of 10 in Kodak
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Interstate
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kodak East-Sevierville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Kodak - Sevierville Interstate Smokey Mountains
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sevierville/Kodak Inn
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sevierville Kodak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites

Property: Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites
Address: 155-B Dumplin Valley Rd, Kodak, TN 37764
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Kodak
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kodak
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bear Extended Stay & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Suites is located right off the interstate to the entrance of the Smoky Mountains. A very Quiet Location for a good get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bear Extended Stay Hotel Kodak
Big Bear Extended Stay And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing