We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Regis
Nearby Hotels
US$60
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madera's Inn(Masaya)
US$8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$245
US$240
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Conquistador(Managua)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
9
17
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
17
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basicbasic placesingle roomper nightroom was cleanthe ownerwifihosteltidysleepnicanaturespanish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Regis is a wondeful place to stay in Masaya. The owners are very friendly, helpful and definitely put a lot of attention on cleanliness. I stayed in Regis for 6 night and my bedsheets and towel were changed every day. The room is very simple and has everything you need - bed, table, chair and fan. There is three shared bathrooms (very clean as well). Location is great - 5 min walk to central park. There is not a kitchen however the owners were very kind and allowed me to keep my fruits in their fridge and provided me with plates and glasses. There is plenty of places where you can get very cheap food in Masaya so it was not a big deal not to have a kitchen.
If you are traveling on a budget and love peaceful places I definitely recommend to spend more time in Masaya. There are two huge markets and Fortress to visit, easy access to Volcan Masaya National Park and Lago de Apoyo, just half hour drive to Catarina village. It is not so busy city so perfect to relax, see more about local culture and also to explore the area around.
And Regis offers a great deal - just 5 USD for a private room in a lovely city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a nice and quit place, luxurious for a budget hotel.
He host was really nice, and gave us a lot of advice.
I had my own room, towel, soap, a fan and wifi for 5 dollars.
It is close to the central park, artesanian market and in walking distance from the pan american high way.

I strongly recommend this hotel/ inn!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria1990219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in Masaya.

The hotel is very very basic. Rooms are essentially two beds and a fan. There is no hot water and the bathrooms/showers are shared.

The walls are thin and in those on the left hand side there is a small gap between the walls and roof.

The hotel itself is next to one with a larger frontage advertising itself as the Central Backpackers. We looked at it and it was a dive.

I suspect a number of people looking from Lonely Planet end up there as the Regis only has a small sign.

The hotel was very clean. In fact the owner seemed to be obsessed with cleanliness. I probably saw him wash his hands about fifteen times per day.

The owner speaks zero English but was helpful nonetheless. When we entered we got a lecture on not leaving lights and fans on when not in the room due to his electricity bill.

The room was just 130C per person (a tad over 5 US dollars) so a good deal.

Worth staying as long as you know what you are expecting (its no Hilton).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It's a small, friendly hostel not so far from the center of Masaya. Rooms are simple and bathrooms are super simple, but everything is very clean. There's no kitchen or laundry service, but friendly owner will answer all your questions, show you everything on a map and will speak very slowly, so you will know your way around Masaya even if your Spanish is not that good.

Whole place is non-smoking (very unsual for Nicaragua) and smoking on the street is very inconvenient. They have 10pm-closing-the-door-and-not-opening policy. Wi-Fi is only ok. I can easily recommend it for anybody who just want to crash for a night after exhaustive shopping on Masaya's markets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I reallly did not want to go to Masaya, because I adore Granada, but in the end coming to this place became a trip that meant deep inmersion in Nicaragua,,,, it feel very Nicaragua in the town of Masaya.
This hotel is quaint, simple , but clean top notch!!!
On our trip that lasted for almost a month in Nicaragua we kept rembering Don Carlos , the owner of the hotel, with laughter and fondness,,,,
we could hear him from the room going over and over, with the prescision of a University teacher the how to get there , what to do, what you shouldnt do, never seem to get tired and so gentlemanly.
Traveling is like being a little blind, so when you encounter people like Don Carlos who obviously has no interest in milking you out so he can make a , commission, it feel like light in your eyes to see the road clealy.

Room Tip: This is a real brilliant hotel if you are on a budget, and you want to be off the mainstream!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews