We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park with some fun natural science in action”

Masaya Volcano National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Masaya Volcano from Managua
More Info
US$91.38*
and up
San Juan del Sur Shore Excursion: Private Masaya Volcano and Catarina Tour
More Info
US$84.99*
and up
Masaya Volcano and Handicraft Market Day Trip from Managua
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Masaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great park with some fun natural science in action”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an awesome place to see an active volcano up close and in person. You can smell the sulfur, look into the crater, and walk around a crater as well. The parking lot at the top is nice, but keep on hiking up to the left. You can walk all the way around the other higher crater. The park guides might try to pursuance you not to, but just tell them you know what you are doing. The trail takes about an hour or so and provides the best views in the park. On your way down stop at the visitor center to see some nice exhibits about the natural history of the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bartbrynestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    240
    54
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fingerlakes, NY
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Nica volcanoes!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our US family of four included 2 parents, 1 grandma and 1 three year old and we all visited with Nicaraguan friends. It was a very worthwhile trip with plenty of sulphurous gasses rising from the huge Santiago crater. A couple of us went by horseback on the trail at the left with magnificent vistas of the countryside and views of other craters and very friendly guides who answered all the questions my limited Spanish allowed and walked the horses as we went. The visitor's center had bathrooms and exhibits as well as souvenirs and rangers to answer questions. Did not take advantage of official tours as we had Nica friends who were familiar with the park. Enjoyed cold coconut water and papaya being sold near the crater after our hike. So glad we did not miss this adventure! Bring your camera and be prepared for walking! There were some lovely birds and butterflies and the vegetation was also interesting in the different areas of volcanic soil and altitudes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trudyfingerlakes_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I did the night tour with Favio xpress tours with Carlos and had a great experience. The volcano was beautiful, we hiked up a hill and had great views of another volcano and several craters, then we went through the bat cave which was super cool (bring a headlamp). We tried to see the lava at the end of the tour but the smoke was blowing towards us and blocked the view, but I highly recommend going here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best thing I did in Nicaragua”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The volcan masaya is amazing! The 360 views of the volcano, the city, the mountains ....it was awesome! We did the night tour with the bat cave and it was so good. I am a huge science nerd so naturally I loved it, but my boyfriend who doesn't usually care for science stuff gave Masaya 5 stars as well. Go see the volcano, you won't regret it! We used Favio xpress tours and went with Carlos, he speaks excellent English and gave a great private tour at a very good price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Volcan Masaya!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This experience was awesome because you get to explore a whole different new country in just minutes and no trouble. The volcano we went to see is huge and its still active til this day and they show you all the damage the volcano did the last time it erupted.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Masaya, Masaya Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing