We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau d'Urbilhac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau d'Urbilhac
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lamastre
Culemborg
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in Chateau D'Urbilac with 8 persons last September.
Nice Chateau, very nice swimming pool. Staff was a bit strange; the lady wants to sell the most expensive wines and diner was a bit disappointing.
Please have your diner in Lamastre, Hotel/restaurant L'Escapade! don't look at the restaurant but the chef will supprisse you with a "star diner"!!

Room Tip: See remarks about diner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    15
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a lovely chateau nestled in the steep hills near Lamastre. It is difficult to find. After passing through Lamastre coming from east (from Valence) driving west drive about 1km and the driveway will be on the left. There is a sign on the left for Chateau d’Urbilhac. It is a narrow and curvy road up the hill. A gate secures the chateau and you will need to ring the bell outside the gate, in order to drive into the entrance. The proprietors only speak French, and they are very friendly and welcoming. They gave us a brief history of the chateau when we arrived. The grounds and rooms are well kept. We stayed in the Master (maître) room. It had a balcony that overlooked the front door and courtyard. The room was very large; the toilet was on one side of the room and the shower and sink on the other. The bath towels were small and thin. Besides the village of Lamastre, there weren’t many other places to eat dinner in the area. We ate dinner at the chateau both nights we stayed there and the dinners were delicious, many of the ingredients came from their garden. The cost was 45 euros per person for three courses. The breakfast was mediocre compared to others we experienced. They served bread, pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Although the quality of the bread and pastries was good, there was not much variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Horo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were part of a wedding party held at the Chateau, which went marvellously, and afterwards the silence and peace permeated back into my being. I so enjoyed the pool, walks around the lush grounds, gardens and into the forest behind the Chateau. We had a room on the top floor, and from our two windows had the best view down the valley and over to the hillside farms. This lovely large period furnished room was ours for five nights. The proprietors were warmly attentive and good hosts. The excellent breakfast was the only meal we took because we were invited out, but we had to ask for any extras that we wanted, i.e., local cheeses and cereal, it was willingly provided and my only problem was that it could have been offered. I'm certain if omlettes were asked for they would have been prepared.
I loved the place and will recommend this chateau for a very special experience.

Room Tip: If you're fit take a room on the top (2nd) floor at the front, Louis Philippe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I spent a night here during our honeymoon on our way down from Paris to Provence. We were in France for two weeks, and we can honestly say that this was our favorite place. We only wish we could have spent more time here. The chateau is family run, and our hosts were the friendliest people on earth. We were greeted in person right when we parked our car and shown around this amazing place with gorgeous views. Delicious meals were home-made at the chateau, with ingredients picked right out of the garden. We stayed in the amoureux room, and it was absolutely delightful, everything you would expect a charming castle room to be. The bathroom had a luxuriously large bath tub with mirrors from ceiling to floor. French windows with cute shutters gave panoramic views of the mountains all around. There was a large pool with views overlooking the valley, tennis courts, lovely hiking trails, two large friendly dogs. It was the most charming place we stayed at, and if we could only choose one place to return to in France, this would be it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel in the early 1990s following a recommendation in Arthur Eperon's "French Selection" and found it to be classy, expensive and idyllic then. This time was a long overdue return visit. The hotel remains beautifully situated and the welcome was excellent by the proprietors. The service was extremely friendly but no longer classy. The piscine was in excellent order and a joy to swim in. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and well furnished much as it had been previously although some of the decoration looked a little tired now.
The disappointment came in the restaurant. On our previous visit the numerous chefs could be seen, from the dining room, in the kitchen preparing meals which we remember as being superb and of the highest quality from an excellent menu. On this occasion Madame cooked the meals single handedly and whilst the meals were good, there was no choice and I consider they were very overpriced . The breakfast lacked choice too.
When it came to payment and I offered a Mastercard, I was asked if I could pay in cash. I did not have sufficient ready cash but paid about half in cash the rest by card but Madame seemed to be disappointed with this even though acceptance of cards was advertised.
My overall view was that this was a beautiful B&B with an evening meal - I think it is wrongly classified as a hotel. One is paying a high price for the accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

Chateau d’Urbilhac is a big, imposing country house, built like a fake castle and situated in a woodland on a hill top, overlooking a lovely green valley. At a distance of 2 km from the village Lamastre, it is very quite and peaceful. In front of the hotel is a vast terrace with beautiful views over the valley and the country side. The hotel boasts a big outdoor swimming pool and a tennis court. Plenty place to park your car. Our room, the ‘chambre de maître’, was very spacious, decorated and furnished in the prevailing French style of a century ago. Separate toilet. Big (160cm) and good quality bed. Nice little balcony with a great view.
The reception by the hosts was friendly and helpful. Breakfast, served in an enclosed veranda overlooking the garden, was rather simple and lacked the choices you would expect in a place like this. Dinner, however, was delicious with excellent wines. Note, though, that dinner is fixed, so again there is no choice. Great relief: no music!!
The rooms don’t have a TV, which we didn’t miss a second. The towels in the bathroom were small, old and felt like sandpaper. A shame. Also, there are no bath robes. Hence, you have to walk in your bathing suit through the hotel to get to the swimming pool, since there are no facilities to change.
All in all, we spent two excellent days in this relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Advocate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Annecy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

We loved our stay at this beautiful hotel. A stunning area and fantastic hosts. Highly recommend it to all. We have already recommended it to friends!

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyLakeAnnecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamastre
13.4 mi away
Hotel de la Villeon
Hotel de la Villeon
#1 of 3 in Tournon-sur-Rhone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
21.1 mi away
Domaine de Saint-Clair
Domaine de Saint-Clair
#1 of 1 in Saint-Clair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#1 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Cardinale
22.5 mi away
Auberge du Lac
Auberge du Lac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel-les-Annonay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Helvie
Hotel Helvie
#1 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Urbilhac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urbilhac

Property: Chateau d'Urbilhac
Address: Rte. de Vernoux, Lamastre, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Lamastre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lamastre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau d'Urbilhac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing