We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Virginia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

A great place. so clean. friendly. Breakfast was so so tasty. if you get the chance.....stay!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m6rz8bg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
97
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

stayed here for pumpkin festival.only 25mins from home but its gorgeous,rooms very high standard and fab breakfast with plenty of choices and beautiful view.We didnt eat here but its highly recommended.The owners are lovely couple with time to chat,best of luck to you both.

Room Tip: ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fusspot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have travelled extensively and stayed in many hotels both for pleasure and on business but St Kyrans was outstanding. We stayed one night for a special family occasion and could not have asked for more. The journey was only 45 minutes from Dublin Airport with a bus service direct. There was a very warm Irish welcome and the location was absolutely amazing. Our bedroom overlooked the lake where we took lots of family photos the next day. The rooms were comtemporary with high quality finishes.The evening meal was a taster menu, with local produce and some of the family commented it was the best they ever had. Helena and Patrick could not have done enough for us and made the stay a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Of all the places we have stayed in Ireland St Kyrans was "simply the best"
The Room, Food and service was excellent beyond words.

Room Tip: ask for a lakeside view. but all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaglennonbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I came for just one night on a heritage trip to Co. Cavan. It was probably the best place we stayed on our entire trip to Ireland and I wish we had time to stay longer. Five stars!

PROPRIETORS: Patrick was lovely and extremely helpful in pointing out the local activities and sights, and was a pleasure to speak with. We never met Helena, I don't think, but the entire stay was lovely and quiet, a nice break from busy Galway and Dublin. There is some construction going on to add rooms at the moment which they apologized for a few times, but there was no need, we didn't even notice. The B&B's atmosphere was impeccable but also managed to feel relaxed and welcoming.

LOCATION: The area is beautiful and quiet, sitting right on a lake with lovely gardens, just around the corner from Virginia's "downtown," a small strip of buildings with some restaurants and shops. Within twenty minutes' drive are a sights which Patrick was kind to point out to us, since we wouldn't have known about them otherwise. Guidebooks barely even mention Cavan at all, so it was good to have a local resource. It's not too far from Dublin, just a bit under an hour's drive and makes for a great getaway and contrast to the busy city. Everyone we met out in Cavan was exceedingly friendly and helpful.

FOOD: I highly recommend making a reservation at the restaurant inside the B&B at least once. It was the best meal we ate in Ireland for our whole vacation, and the service was excellent. I wish we had more intimate, quality restaurants like this at home. Excellent wine and the duck that I had was fabulous, my husband loved the steak. The ingredients were traditional and new at the same time. Get the fried goat's cheese! I've never had cabbage or duck the way I had it at St. Kyran's, I wish I had the recipes. They also had a wonderful wine menu. Breakfast was just as good with a large spread of fruits and grains followed by a menu for hot foods, with plenty of variety, and in both cases we ate right near the great picture windows in the dining room that over look the lake to watch the sun rise or set. Lovely!

ROOMS: The rooms are well-appointed, spotlessly clean, and stylish. There is a large collection of DVDs to watch (on the rooms' flat-screen television) if you need to unwind at the end of the day. Rooms really look just like the pictures online. The bathrooms were just as nice, with lovely new tile, and in our room a rain shower as well. There was also tea and coffee available inside the room. Our room (#2) faced the lake and we were blessed with two large picture windows that overlooked the gardens and the lake. The bed was comfortable and warm, and the rooms have individual heat to adjust the temperature. I think you could also heat the bed, but we didn't use it. There is also free access to fast wireless, which was the first time we had internet access at all.

PRICE: Amazingly affordable for everything that you get. Comparable quality places elsewhere would be nearly twice as much.


On our next trip to Ireland we will definitely be back to St. Kyran's, next time for longer. It's a gem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have eaten in St. Kyrans twice now and was pleasantly surprised on both occasions. The food is probably the best I have ever eaten in Ireland outside of Dublin. The menu is based on seasonal local ingredients cooked with style and finesse. The service is impeccable, friendly and relaxed. I love how you are invited to sit in a really nice area with big comfortable couches and offered an aperatif and left to peruse the menu. The dining room has a fantastic view over the lake. The whole experience is really pleasant, the price reasonable considering the high standard and the wine list is extensive and even at the cheaper end impressive. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant - it is a very welcome addition to an area very poorly served by places of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madbadfoodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

had booked for 2 nights, but stayed 3 as we just loved the place.
the rooms are spotlessly clean, cozy, COMFY (the bed uhmmmmm!), light and with all you need- cooker for tea/coffee, hangers, nice bathroom, tv/dvd, good wireless etc etc....
we stayed in a lake view room and it was so relaxing just sitting in the bed reading a good book and looking out.
the restaurant serves really good food as well. after being in ireland on and of a lot this summer and eating at some of the 'best' places in Dublin i did not have high expectations, but i surely was happily surprised! tasty food with good balance og ingredients and tastes, great service and nice setting (book a table on weekends, and remember pre-theather menu mon-friday). breakfast was yummy too- fresh fruits- blueberries and strawberries- which was such a splurge. musli, cornflakes, eggs, bacon, good strong coffee - everything you might like for a good start of the day.
one of the days we rented a little boat from a really nice man who is a 3 minute drive away and went for a little trip on the lake... so peaceful! there are some amazing walks/ hikes in the area- we didn't do them as we were too lazy and it was a bit rainy, but next time ill bring my hiking boots.
The owners Helena and Patrick were some of the best hosts i have ever met on a commercial property. kind, funny, WELCOMING AND HELPFUL and- i dont have words enough to say that they are great people and work so hard for their guests to have a nice time.
i highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jozobami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
9.3 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
10.6 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant

Property: St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Kyrans Country House and Restaurant is located in Virginia, Co Cavan, Ireland. Situated on the shore of Lough Ramor, at St Kyrans country house you can relax and enjoy your time with panoramic lakeside and woodland views. Lough Ramor in Virginia is one of Cavans most picturesque locations. Our luxury rooms are available for your business trip, weekend getaway or vacation. Only a short drive on the new M3 Cavan Motorway from Dublin City and Dublin International Airport, at St Kyrans you can immerse yourself in less than an hour in the heart of the charming Irish countryside, with rambling hills and lakeside views.Dine in wide screen at St Kyrans Restaurant, where we offer the finest food, hand crafted with love, in a warm atmosphere with cinematic lakeside views of Lough Ramor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing