We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Kyrans Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Virginia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife, Anna, stayed at St Kyrans two years ago and was very keen for us to use it this time. We stayed for 7 nights and I can certainly see why she liked it so much. The whole experience was excellent and Patrick and Helena certainly live up to the highly positive image presented by so many other reviewers. Our room was top class and the view wonderful. We had 4 dinners during our stay and a good chance to try out a wide range of the chef's creations - all excellent, especially the duck ! The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Value for money outstanding too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We got to stay by accident - our other hotel messed up our first night in Ireland , but so glad they did , this is a truly wonderful place to stay , fabulous surroundings , gorgeous rooms - luxury all round but comfy and homely too . They have a brilliant chef - the food was out of this world and the staff look after you so well - absolutely fantastic - would love to go back when I'm next in Ireland ! Can't say enough good things about the hotel - cant fault it ! Loved it !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely b&b the month I stayed was a couple of months before this one but this was the oldest I could choose! It Was an enjoyable stay but they never had dinners served the day I stayed but not to fear a family member owns the hotel along the road and they drove me out for dinner and collected me brilliant!

The breakfast was lovely and had a great sleep.

Only marked service as 3 due to no dinner on premises!

I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejaypeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed just one night at this lovely place overlooking Lough Ramor. Having flown into Dublin early that morning we were pleased to just check in and relax. We had booked a table for the restaurant ahead of time (advisable) and the food that evening was wonderful, as was breakfast the next morning. The highlight has to be the view over the Lough from our bed. Idyllic and so peaceful. Certainly if visiting the area again I would love to go back and spend longer there.

Room Tip: The room near the restaurant with the Lough view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Food was exquisite! Luxurious room and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Thanks to Patrick and his staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely make a return trip. Michael & Roisín Kielty

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieltys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked at St Kyrans for four nights at the beginning of our holiday in Ireland and we liked it so much we returned for an extra "bonus" night right before leaving. After traveling around Ireland and staying in seven different B and Bs, I must say that Patrick and Helena have got the balance just right. Some of the places where we stayed were clean and nice, but too impersonal. St Kyrans is like a 5-star inn in terms of quality of the room, food, service and location, but with very hospitable hosts and staff. I had worried that it is a little ways out of town and I thought we would miss being able to walk to the pubs. But St Kyrans pulled a very good pint of Guinness after a day of touring about the countryside. And they have a fantastic restaurant too. Really we can't recommend it highly enough! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at this guest house with my husband and three children earlier this month, the owners certainly got all the important stuff right, the bed was so comfortable, the room spotless, and the bathroom had everything in perfect working order. There was a separate shower that looked brand new, fantastic pressure and most importantly really clean. The view on the lake is spectacular, coffee and tea in the bedroom and you can borrow DVD's from a wide selection to watch in the room. Our kids thought this was the highlight of the day, tea and a movie in bed, bliss for them!! Wonderful breakfast which was made to order, nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly hosts, we will return if we are in the area for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kehlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
584 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,412 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
844 reviews
18.5 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
15.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Kyrans Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Kyrans Country House

Address: Dublin Road, Virginia A82 X8P6, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Kyrans Country House and Restaurant is located in Virginia, Co Cavan, Ireland. Situated on the shore of Lough Ramor, at St Kyrans country house you can relax and enjoy your time with panoramic lakeside and woodland views. Lough Ramor in Virginia is one of Cavans most picturesque locations. Our luxury rooms are available for your business trip, weekend getaway or vacation. Only a short drive on the new M3 Cavan Motorway from Dublin City and Dublin International Airport, at St Kyrans you can immerse yourself in less than an hour in the heart of the charming Irish countryside, with rambling hills and lakeside views.Dine in wide screen at St Kyrans Restaurant, where we offer the finest food, hand crafted with love, in a warm atmosphere with cinematic lakeside views of Lough Ramor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St Kyrans Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing