We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lakeside gem in county Cavan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Virginia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I could not praise this establishment enough. Beautiful decor, warm and welcoming staff and amazing food and wine. I attended a small family wedding here and stayed over night. The accommodation was perfect and fairly priced. The setting is stunning, as is the standard of service. From arrival to departure all staff were kind, warm and extremely helpful and accommodating! particularly Simone!!! The owner even came out to defrost the windscreen when we were leaving!
Many thanks for a lovely weekend in the wonderful St Kyrans!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here a few months back. This is more of a boutique hotel than a B&B. The rooms were excellent, ours had a view over the lake. Extremely relaxed atmosphere.
What really took our breath away was the evening meal. This was by far the best of our trip (after disappointing stays at Ice House and Wineport Lodge). From the gourmet breads baked on site through to the faultless deserts and excellent wines, not one foot was put wrong. I would place the meal we had that evening alongside places such as Chapter One or l'Ecrivain.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Ate sunday lunch here recently and the food was wonderful, the staff and service were excellent. Plenty of food brought in a timely manor. If I had one criticism it would be the car park out side, it was not to far removed from being a dirty field some tarmac would go along way. Small point but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I had most wonderful meal at this amazing place. I have never had such a beautiful and well persented dinner. I had a mushroom volente (sorry about the spelling) for my starter and i have never tasted any thing as nice before. The size for each serving are not very big but after eating with my eyes and my belly i was quite full and will go again and again. The staff were very attentive and checked weit us many times to makevsure we were ok. Booking is required i believe...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank kcimtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were working at the theatre in Virginia and booked into St Kyrans.Stunning views over a lake, this B + B it the tops. Large clean rooms excellent breakfast. Lunch was superb and the staff were very helpful and friendly Nothing else to say but excellent! Thank You.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just back from a night in St Kyrans, It is absolutely gorgeous. Room was very spacious for our family 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 & 9. The bathroom was lovely, and the view onto the lough was beautiful. We couldn't fault this place at all everyone was so polite and helpful. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Cavan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie635686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Gorgeous setting, great breakfast and dinner in the evening is five star. We stayed for two nights right after arriving in Ireland before heading to Dublin and beyond. It was so nice to get our bearings in this lovely lakeside retreat. Patrick and Helena are incredible and charming hosts.

Room Tip: Our room had a fabulous view of the lake!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christineb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
573 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.5 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,346 reviews
15.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
791 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oldcastle House Hotel
Oldcastle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oldcastle
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant

Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia
Price Range: £95 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Kyrans Country House and Restaurant is located in Virginia, Co Cavan, Ireland. Situated on the shore of Lough Ramor, at St Kyrans country house you can relax and enjoy your time with panoramic lakeside and woodland views. Lough Ramor in Virginia is one of Cavans most picturesque locations. Our luxury rooms are available for your business trip, weekend getaway or vacation. Only a short drive on the new M3 Cavan Motorway from Dublin City and Dublin International Airport, at St Kyrans you can immerse yourself in less than an hour in the heart of the charming Irish countryside, with rambling hills and lakeside views.Dine in wide screen at St Kyrans Restaurant, where we offer the finest food, hand crafted with love, in a warm atmosphere with cinematic lakeside views of Lough Ramor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing