We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines at St Kyrans Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Virginia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Valentines at St Kyrans Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Had a gorgeous dinner here for Valentines. Food was amazing and service was so professional and staff very friendly (though by the end of the meal the place was so busy it took a while to get our servers attention but that's forgiveable). The restaurant is beautiful and very cosy. I'd say there's an amazing view of the lake in summer and can't wait to go back then.

My only complaint would be that there was only a set menu available on the evening we were there as it was Valentines and at €55 per person I thought it was a bit expensive. That's before you pay for wine. You got a lot of good for that I suppose though, it included an amuse bouch, starter, main, pre dessert and an sharing plate of desserts, tea & coffee and petit fours which was more than enough food! it was the best meal I've eaten in all of Meath or Cavan. Totally recommend it. I received a rose when we were leaving too which I thought was a nice touch!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
101
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for one night.

On arrival we were treated to one of the most beautiful panoramic views of Lough Ramor framed by a sumptuously furnished and decorated restaurant.

The owners were on hand to personally welcome us and treated us like old friends they were delighted to see.

We were shown to our ample and luxurious bedroom and asked if it was okay. We could have stayed here happily enjoying the peaceful view till we fell asleep.

Instead we enjoyed the finest meal I have ever eaten in the fabulous restaurant. The breakfast in the morning was equally delicious.

We can't wait to go back. Must even bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here with a group and everything about this hotel is excellent. The rooms are amazingly luxurious and the staff could not be more helpful. The food was superb - really look forward to getting back some time soon!

Room Tip: As we were a group we saw most rooms each one nicer than the next but if looking for a beautiful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked B&B plus dinner. We arrived slightly early and the staff had just arrived back from Christmas holidays. The owner, Patrick apologised and asked us to come back, which we did as we wanted to see the area while the light was still out. The room we got was fabulous. it had an amazing view of the lake and very spacious (1 king + 2 single beds). The only complaint about the room was the thermostat didnt work and the heat stayed on. We had to switch off the radiators. The meal was incredible and the waitresses couldnt be more helpful or attentive. My wife has some problems with food preparation due to allergies and the waiting staff & chef listened and created custom dishes for her that were top class. The next day after a very nice fresh breakfast, Patrick apologised for the state of the hotel and said they were going to re-paint and clean the carpets. I honestly couldnt see what he was talking about, but was very pleased that he and his wife care so much about the guest's experience. He even defrosted our car windscreen before we left! I have stayed in the Ritz in London and not got the same level of service. We cant recommend this place enough. It is definitely our special retreat away from home now.

Room Tip: Room number 5 has an incredible view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I could not praise this establishment enough. Beautiful decor, warm and welcoming staff and amazing food and wine. I attended a small family wedding here and stayed over night. The accommodation was perfect and fairly priced. The setting is stunning, as is the standard of service. From arrival to departure all staff were kind, warm and extremely helpful and accommodating! particularly Simone!!! The owner even came out to defrost the windscreen when we were leaving!
Many thanks for a lovely weekend in the wonderful St Kyrans!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here a few months back. This is more of a boutique hotel than a B&B. The rooms were excellent, ours had a view over the lake. Extremely relaxed atmosphere.
What really took our breath away was the evening meal. This was by far the best of our trip (after disappointing stays at Ice House and Wineport Lodge). From the gourmet breads baked on site through to the faultless deserts and excellent wines, not one foot was put wrong. I would place the meal we had that evening alongside places such as Chapter One or l'Ecrivain.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Ate sunday lunch here recently and the food was wonderful, the staff and service were excellent. Plenty of food brought in a timely manor. If I had one criticism it would be the car park out side, it was not to far removed from being a dirty field some tarmac would go along way. Small point but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
551 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
18.5 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,280 reviews
15.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
10.2 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant

Property: St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Kyrans Country House and Restaurant is located in Virginia, Co Cavan, Ireland. Situated on the shore of Lough Ramor, at St Kyrans country house you can relax and enjoy your time with panoramic lakeside and woodland views. Lough Ramor in Virginia is one of Cavans most picturesque locations. Our luxury rooms are available for your business trip, weekend getaway or vacation. Only a short drive on the new M3 Cavan Motorway from Dublin City and Dublin International Airport, at St Kyrans you can immerse yourself in less than an hour in the heart of the charming Irish countryside, with rambling hills and lakeside views.Dine in wide screen at St Kyrans Restaurant, where we offer the finest food, hand crafted with love, in a warm atmosphere with cinematic lakeside views of Lough Ramor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Kyrans Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing