We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back form a very relaxing break in County Cavan. Meabh made us very welcome despite the adversity she had found herself in. The hotel had been hit by a huge thunder storm.
Food is first class. The only "complaint" I have is they give you too much! The fillet steak on a stone is highly recomended. E20 is great value.

Room Tip: Use the main route to this hotel as the regional roads in County Cavan are not great. Request a lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat9361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location of this hotel doesn't get much better . Stunning views over the lake. The Bar is nice and the staff are all very friendly. We had lunch and it wasn't the may west. Who serves tinned mushy peas with turkey and ham? Shame because the turkey and ham was lovely but mushy peas!However the evening food is way better ,the gourmet burger is amazing. I think their heart is in the right place but just needs some major TLC. The coffee was just water !again not rocket science. I have to say the owner and staff were so nice you kind of cut them some slack but little things mean a lot . if they sorted out the small things tis place would be great. Oh and I love the music playing and no tvs on thats a major plus. I wish these Guys the best because they are so nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On arrival at the hotel, it actually looked ok!!! First impressions of the room were that it was clean, spacious and completely overloaden with furniture! Rather than a view of the lake, we had a view of the cows and sheep outside our bedroom window.
We frequented the bar on the first night. Despite the lack of atmosphere and people the actual bar itself looked alright and was set out well.
Our first major problem.....at 5.30 am we were awoken by guests screaming at each other outside our room! This went on for over an hour with no interruptions by hotel staff. We couldn't contact reception as there was no phone in the room!!!!!!!!!!
The staff at breakfast a few hours later were unkempt, unfriendly and so slow! There was very little variety at breakfast. Prunes and grapefruit was the 'selection of fruit' and there was 'no brown bread!'
What they did have wasn't very appetising either!
Later in the day, we mentioned to the manager about the noise the night before. He apologised for the inconvenience and offered us drinks as compensation.
We had dinner in the bar, foolishly, then when we asked for vinegar a bottle was slammed on the table by the, yet again, unfriendly staff. In the bottle of vinegar there was a dead fly!! This was the last straw.
The waitress didn't seem to care and just put the bottle back on the shelf!
The live music in the hotel consisted of a woman singer with essentially a karaoke machine/backing track. In fairness to her, she was a good singer.
The breakfast the following day went from bad to worse., We were seated at an unset table, a basket of white toast was placed in front of us before we even ordered....bearing in mind we didn't even have knives to butter it! It took 25 minutes from the time we got there to get our food, after asking could we order about 3 times.
I got porridge that looked and tasted like it had been stewed for an hour and we received the ends of bacon and microwaved mushrooms. At that stage all we could do was laugh. We asked for new, hot toast and were given back the exact same toast by the server who looked like he just rolled out of bed.
Never again!!!!!!!!!!!
The only redeeming features of this hotel were Eddie and Breda (2 staff members who at least seemed to have an idea of customer service) and to be honest, the drive out of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanceWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

A lot of money was put into this place......... Once upon a time 40 odd years ago. It is soooo dated. It would be an ideal candidate for a TV makeover show.
My room was a relic. Old dark mahogany furniture with drawers missing etc. the TV has two channels working. I opened the high wardrobe to get an extra pillow and it was covered in cobwebs; as was the vents.
I had food in the bar which was ok but you feel that everything is not clean. Creepy.
Actually, just writing this I have decided that I am going to stay elsewhere tonight.
If you are reading this and have the option; do the same.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank TheMongrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just arrived back today after a lovely weekend break at the lakeside manor hotel. Our family break booked through groupon was excellent value for money, in defence of the hotel it's very hard to comprehend how some people complain about the facilities. We had 2 rooms 224 and 226 with adjoining door perfect for our family, our boys loved having their own room and we enjoyed the security of having them close. The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds, we all slept well. The staff in the hotel are excellent and go out of their way to make you feel welcome, we had a great meal on our first night and service was excellent.
Breakfast was also good with brilliant staff on hand and lovely views to enjoy. There was music on both nights, we enjoyed a great sing a long on Friday night and on Saturday the hotel hosted an 80th birthday party in the bar, everyone had a lovely time.
I would recommend the hotel it's not a modern chain style hotel but a homely comfortable welcoming hotel, for us as a family that's much more important.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harbourlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked a Groupon deal at this hotel for our anniversary. Firstly, we could not get a weekend date that suited the hotel and then the Manageress eventually told us we could have a room on Saturday 17 May for an additional Euro 15. The Groupon deal was very reasonable so we agreed to the upgrade and booked the room. We drove for 4 hours and arrived at the hotel around 5.00pm only to find that they had no room for us!!! They had a contact number but did not let us know. While the Manageress booked us into a nearby B&B (St Kyrans) - which I have to say was excellent - this does not excuse the lack of courtesy and professionalism from the hotel management.

The Lakeside Manor is quite a small hotel and to be honest does not have the capacity for Groupon deals. The difficulty with these deals is that you can't book the hotel until you have bought the voucher and I think you will find, as we did, that availability at this hotel is very limited.

From what we saw of the hotel it was grubby and we actually got a much better deal at St Kyran's. However I would urge caution in booking this hotel with Groupon since you could be left with a voucher which is no good since the hotel has very limited weekend availability.

This experience has put us off going for Groupon deals - from now on we will be booking direct with the hotel and than at least we will know what is available and not be treated like a second class citizen when we arrive to the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel on Groupon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lorna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The first room we were given was awful .... would have to stand on a chair to look out .... good job I did'nt .. horrible view .... If you like dark brown wood , this room would be to your liking ..
Asked reception for another room ..... after much tapping on the computer , another room was eventually found costing 10 euro ... this room was slightly better , two single beds pushed together ....
Evening meal was lovely ...... breakfast was substantial ...
The location is lovely but the hotel could do with a lick of paint and upgrading ....
Would'nt be in any great hurry to return ....

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 810lor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,404 reviews
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
17.1 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
16 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range: £81 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing